Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 23, 2016 - 11:10 p.m.
"helicopter lunatic" or "thermostat woes"

Hey Journal!

This morning when it wa time to get up for work I was SO EXHAUSTED that I could not get out of bed. I had to hit the snooze on my alarm and I NEVER DO THAT. It's really extremely rare for me to hit snooze, mostly because I find it annoying because JUST as I'm getting back to sleep the alarm goes off again.

But this time, I couldn't help it.

I finally got myself up, got ready, and headed off to work. I had a lot of things to this morning and I tried to be very productive. I paid a lot of bills and tried to get a handle on the things that have been piling up at work.

We had a little technical issue in the morning when our website, and all of our internal membership software went down. I checked the status on the hosting company's website and it said they were experiencing a "major outage." I was hoping it would be fixed quickly but it took about 2 hours!

I had to call the lawyer this morning to ask some advice about the woman who had fallen on Wednesday and, after speaking to him and getting his take, I called our insurance company to get their take.

I worked on some other random stuff throughout the day and then around 1:30 we had to meet with the lady who flew a helicopter over the golf course and took photos. It was absolutely absurd and a real shit show but Dan's dad was obsessed with the woman and I just sat there in awe of everything that was going on.

First off, she called and said she had taken photos of our course from above and wanted to meet to show them. I probably would have said no at that point, but here she was so I couldn't resist being in on it.

She came with a dog, which would have been my second red flag saying this woman is crazy and we should run for the hills. What serious business woman brings a dog to a meeting? Fucking nutcase.

Then, she sits there talking all about how her husband is the commander of the navy seals. Of course, she insinuates that he got Bin Laden. I'm sure he was.

Anyway, she showed us her goods and it's a totally ridiculous proposition. She wants us to buy the pictures and then try to resell them to our members. Dan's dad was totally hooked, though -- so we're going to give it a shot. We bought 40 pictures and I am going to try my hardest to sell them on our website, but even if we sell them all we'll only made about $4,000 profit. It's going to be a real waste of time and energy for such a small return.

My fear is that we are going to be stuck with a bunch of pictures that nobody wants. Though I am going to make every effort to make sure that's not the case.

I left work at 4:30 and headed to the Post Office and then to FedEx. Finally, before getting home, I had to stop at the bank to make a deposit for Steve and then I was ready to relax.

I got home and Dan arrived a little later than usual. He got ready and headed off to the gym and I did some things around the house and showered up before he got back.

We watched World News and then had turkey burgers on the grill for dinner. We ate and watched some Match Game and when we were done it was almost time for bed.

Dan wanted to book our flights for our trip to Arizona. We decided to go there instead of Seattle because the weather will be too cool at that time of year in the northwest.

We had a little hiccup in the process because Dan's credit wasn't working on their website. He had gotten an $800 voucher for switching flights last year and we needed to use it before it expired. The website was applying the credit to his ticket but not to mine, although it said that it was good for anyone booked on the same reservation.

Dan called and booked over the phone and the lady was able to sort it out. She said there's a problem with their website.

She also spelled my name wrong on my ticket which we noticed when we checked the reservation online after she was done. We tried to call back but the hold time was 45 minutes and we needed to get to sleep!

After that, I noticed that the Nest had disconnected from the internet again. This is now the third time in a week and it's really irritating me. I was hoping it was a one-time thing, but obviously not. The guy I spoke to was very nice and helpful and we ran a series of tests that involved me turning the power on and off a bunch of times and reading him the power values in the technical info.

The end result is that I am supposed to keep testing it out for a full day and record the values and then call back to see what that tells us. I can't do it tonight because first I need to charge the unit and while that's happening the system would be turned off. We need the A/C to be on tonight, of course, so I'll do it tomorrow after work!

Now it's time for bed! I'm exhausted!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"slowest election ever" - June 28, 2016
"election tomorrow" - June 27, 2016
"a true seedless watermelon" - June 26, 2016
"pool day" - June 26, 2016
"brexit" - June 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com