Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 25, 2016 - 12:51 a.m.
"brexit"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at the usual time and the big news of the day was that the United Kingdom had voted to LEAVE the European Union! I knew the value of the Pound was going to slip today and I thought it might have been a good time to invest in it!

Work today was not a bad day. I got a lot done in the morning and kept the momentum going!

I kept checking the stock market all day it was way down in the morning, only moderately down in the afternoon, and then plummeted again before closing!

I jus my don't understand it- Yes, Britain is leaving the EU but they are going to set their own trade rules and, in many cases - especially at first- those rules will be very similar to the current agreements the EU has with other countries. Of course England will do business with the US and the US will do business with England. And the EU! I don't understand why it's that much of a shockwave. Yes, there's procedural uncertainty but I don't see it being a negative for the economy. I'm sure that's what history will prove but - what do I know. I'm not an economist!

I left work at 5 and when I got home I watched the Match Game. Dan went to the gym and I got ready to go out for the night. I also had to recharge our Nest Thermostat so I could get the voltage up. After an hour of charging, I put it back on the base and recorded the voltage. Now I just have to take readings a few more times over the next 24 hours so they can diagnose my problem.

When Dan got home he got showered up and we headed out to Linda's house!

We arrived around 8:30 and everyone was outside playing basketball in the driveway! We joined in and Dan got a basket on his first try. It took a while for me to make a basket!

After that we went inside and Linda showed us Cameron's school journal! She had written some funny things and Dan and I made a few appearances in it. We checked it out more, though, after dinner!

For dinner we went to Houlihan's and when we first got to our table there was a story about Brexit on CNN. Connor asked my what had happened so I told him all about how they were leaving the EU. He was very interested in it and asked a lot of good questions!

I got the chicken parm and it was delightful as always! When we were done we headed back to Linda's and hung out there for a while. Connor really wanted to watch Battle Bots but Linda forgot to record it which brought Connor to the verge of tears even while Linda was pulling it up on-demand.

Dan, Dan, and Connor watched the TV while Linda and I read through Cameron's journal entries. We needed her help translating a few of them but once she translated them they made perfect sense! They were also really funny! One of my favorites wa sa picture she drew of her, Connor, Dan, and me from the weekend they slept over our house!

We left at midnight or, as Dan said, "the middle of the night!" We stopped to get gas on the way home because we are trying to meet our goal to get some bonus rewards at Speedway. If we visit 8 times in June we get a $10 gift card so we've been filling up our gas a little more frequently than we usually would!

On the ride home, Dan told me an excellent story about Cameron. Earlier in the evening, Dan had mentioned that sometimes his birthday falls on Martin Luther King Day. Dan asked Cameron if she knew what that was, and she said "Yes, he made the peach people and the brown people be friends." She said, "Did you know that peach people didn't let brown people in their places?" Dan asked, "Do you have any brown friends?" Cameron said, "Yes... one..." Dan said, "that's nice..." and she said, "but most of my friends are peach. Do you have any brown friends?" Dan said he did have a few, and Cameron said, "but mostly peach?" Such a random conversation!

When we got home, we were super tired! I took a shower and then we got right to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight!


The last five:
"steak for dinner" - June 29, 2016
"slowest election ever" - June 28, 2016
"election tomorrow" - June 27, 2016
"a true seedless watermelon" - June 26, 2016
"pool day" - June 26, 2016

http://diaryland.com