Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 26, 2016 - 11:06 p.m.
"a true seedless watermelon"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up on my own around 9:30 and saw that I had missed a call from Mike a few minutes earlier. He was calling to see if it was a good time for him to come over and check out our kitchen request. We want to relocate our pantry to the other side and put the refrigerator in it's place.

He came by shortly after and checked everything out. Now we're just waiting for him to give us a price to let us know what it's going to cost! I think it's really going to make the kitchen work so much better for us.

After that, we decided to go out to breakfast at Javier's. It was such a nice morning and they had tables set up out on the patio. I think this is the first time I've been to this place when they outside section has been open.

The host told us it would approximately 25 minutes to sit outside or 15 for inside. We chose outside because it seemed like the thing to do. Of course, it turned out to be like 35 minutes and what got me more than that was that NOBODY came after us. We were the last ones waiting for a table. We weren't even late for a breakfast on a Sunday morning. How is it that nobody else got on line after we did! lol I just felt like we got the short end of the stick by chance.

It was a good decision to wait, though... it was such a perfect morning and eating out on the patio was great! The food there was EXCELLENT today! In the past I haven't been thrilled with their breakfast but today I was very very happy.

My eggs were cooked perfectly. They weren't dry or heat-lamped, or anything. They looked and tasted delicious. My bacon was cooked perfectly, the sausages were perfect. I mean it was a great experience. The french toast wasn't the best french toast I've ever had but I think next time I would get pancakes! The only problem with the French Toast was that it had almost no taste at all. Like, even with the syrup, it was nothing.

When we were done eating, we went over to help my Grandma with some stuff. Earlier this week when they instituted this new area code dialing policy, my Grandma called me because all of her numbers are programmed into her phone WITHOUT the area code! Yikes!!

So, we went over there for a quick stop, I fixed the phone, changed a light bulb, and then downloaded my Grandma's pictures off of her phone. She hasn't taken off the pictures in over a year so she had over 230 on her camera. She actually had a lot of nice ones from our wedding so I sent them to myself.

We came home after that and Dan wanted to relax and go in the pool. I had already gotten my allotment of sun and outdoor activity so I wasn't really up for that. Instead, I stayed inside and cleaned up a little.

I also got a little creative and made a cool video out of the clips I took with Connor and Cameron on Monday! It came out really good.

Now for today' big issue -- Last weekend we had purchased two watermelons and we cut one open as soon as we got home for the Father's Day BBQ. The watermelon was excellent and it had no seeds at all! It was a seedless watermelon, after all!

So, today took out the second watermelon and got ready to cut it up so I could bring some to work with me each day this week. When Dan came in from outside, he cut it in half and I was shocked at how many seeds there were. At first it just looked like a few at the top and we scraped them off but then when Dan took out the first slice, it was FULL of seeds!

The two watermelons were different brands. I don't remember what the good one was, but the bad one was "Gibson's Select." It was awful!

Now, first, let me say that I understand that a seedless watermelon may have a couple of seeds in it. That's not a big deal, but this was basically a regular watermelon. It wasn't in any way close to seedless.

This is where the story gets crazy so hang in there. I was irritated and I wanted to get my money back for it. I didn't think we were going to be able to go to Costco today to return it so I called them. I wanted to ask if I needed to bring the watermelon back with me because, first, it was now a mess on the kitchen table and getting it into a bag and back to the store without it dripping all over the place would have been a nightmare. Secondly, I didn't think I would be able to get back there today, so I didn't really know how I would save it until next weekend!

So, I talked to the girl who answered the phone and explained my situation. She said it would be no problem at all to get a refund and that I DID NOT have to bring the watermelon with me. She said it was not necessary. I told her I could, but she said not to.

Dan took a shower and when he got out we decided to go to Costco because he wanted to find some healthy foods for dinner this week and, of course, we figured we would "return" the watermelon.

Part of me wanted to bring the watermelon back -- it was still a mess on the table -- but we didn't because it really would have been a pain. We arrive, and I go inside. I get this older cashier at the Customer Service desk and I explain the whole story. I explained it very nicely AND I told her that I had called and the woman who I spoke to told me not to worry about bringing back the watermelon. I expected her to be like, "Oh, of course.... that's no problem...." but instead she said, "Who told you that? What was her name?" I didn't get her name. I told her that I had just called an hour ago so maybe she was still around....

She got all huffy and then asked another worker what to do. She just told her to do the return and it didn't seem like it was a big deal to her. That was fine. I got my money back, and then the cashier tells me, "If anything like this ever happen again...make sure you bring it back. People return this stuff all the time and they always bring back the item."

So, I was being lectured by this woman to bring back my mess of a watermelon -- AND, if I hadn't called, I wouldn't have minded that. But I did call ahead specifically because I thought I might need to bring it back. If they told me I had to bring it back, I would have understood that AND I would have done it.

Anyway, I got my money so the case was closed but as we started shopping I was urked. It was eating me inside and so I went to talk to the supervisor. Dan was shopping and didn't come with me. I had hit THAT level of irritation when I can't be stopped.

The guy was right over by the front end and his name badge said "Front End Supervisor." I told him that everything had been taken care of but that I wanted to voice a little complaint. I explained the whole story from the beginning and he said that the woman at the customer service desk was totally wrong. He said that ANY time you have an issue with any spoiled produce, you need NOT bring the item back. He said that the woman who told me so had no authority to. He also looked at my return receipt to see who I had dealt with.

He was super nice, and I appreciated his answer, AND I felt better that I had aired my grievance.

Before we had gone to Costco, we stopped at Marshall's and HomeGoods (in the same parking lot.) We were looking for decor for our walls and we didn't find any but we DID find a GIANT tree-trunk storage shed thing. It was really weird. It was on sale for $1,800, a bargain from the original price of $10,000! ARE YOU SERIOUS!?

So, anyway, back at Price Club, we did our shopping and wound up getting a lot of food and stuff. We got another watermelon, a different brand, and then we headed home.

When we got home, Dan went to the gym and I showered up.

We had gotten steaks for dinner tonight so I took them out of the fridge before Dan got home and as soon as he showered up, we fired up the BBQ and put them on. We had the steaks and corn. It came out GREAT and tasted amazing! The steak was perfect. I really enjoyed it and it was super-easy on the grill.

After that we had to prepare for our big night of TV. The finale of Game of Thrones and then the premiere of Match Game on ABC.

A lot happened in tonight's Game of Thrones. I feel like it was better than most of their finales. Last week's episodes was definitely much more intense, but this week a lot happened to progress the story and I can't wait to see where it goes.

I can't believe that Cersei took out Marjorie and Sir Lorace. I really liked them. I also was surprised because I THOUGHT that Marjorie had some trick up her sleeve and that she was going to really come through in the end but I guess not. She really had gone to the dark side. I was also SHOCKED when Toman jumped out the window. VERY unexpected!

When that was over, we watched the NEW Match Game on ABC. It was interesting. The episode they played tonight was the one that was recorded when we were in the audience! We saw the coffee cup sitting on the logo and it was there for the whole first segment -- the time when Dan pointed it out to the producers!

The show flowed much better on TV than it did in person and I felt like the ANNOYING panelit, JB, seemed much LESS annoying. They cut out some of his obnoxiousness and they made him seem tolerable.

I thought Alec Baldwin did a good job as the host but I really think that it's weird that the show is billed as FAMILY show. It's really not. It's really racy and has very inappropriate questions for kids. And even if you take kids out of it -- the funny thing about the original Match Game was that everyone THOUGHT of the dirty answer but you didn't SAY it! You had to come up with something else that was clever and left the dirty answer in everyone's mind! That was the fun of it, and that's what's missing here.

Alas, now it's time for bed.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"distinctive short ribs" or "much needed three-day weekend" - July 01, 2016
"birthday cake" or "library legend" - June 30, 2016
"steak for dinner" - June 29, 2016
"slowest election ever" - June 28, 2016
"election tomorrow" - June 27, 2016

http://diaryland.com