Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 30, 2016 - 10:55 p.m.
"birthday cake" or "library legend"

Hey Journal!

Today is my Grandma's Birthday and we had a fun time celebrating with her this evening. I'll be sure to report all about that in just a minute but tonight I have some sad new to report.

When I got home, just about an hour or so ago, I found out that my first boss, Mrs. Blackburn at the library, had passed away. It's really weird how that hit me. I always liked her very much. She was such a sweet, kind, and caring person. I always felt like she appreciated me and the job that I did, treated me fairly, and genuinely cared about us.

For the time that I worked at the library she was almost like grandmother figure. I know that's kinda weird, but we were just high school kids and this was a first job, and we were such a small library that everyone got to know eachother well. For a lot of my time at the library I didn't even work the same hours as her -- I would work 5-9 T,W,Th and so I really only saw her on my Saturday.

She was tall, and I think some of the other pages felt that was intimidating or something, but I always saw how kind and gentle she was.

I really feel like these descriptions I'm giving are kinda odd, but at the same time it's true. I never really talk about emotional stuff or feelings, so bear with me! lol

Anyway, I went back and found this photo. It's quite possibly the last time I saw her. I do remember running in to her once while driving around -- but I think that was before this. This was Debbie's last day at Nesconset and we all got together to give her a farewell party.

Just now, I heard from Debbie and she was letting me know the news. I asked her when the wake was, and she said it will be on Tuesday. I am definitely going to attend. It's so weird how someone that I haven't talked to in over six years could have meant so much to me. I don't even know if that came out right. But what I mean is that she really made an impression on me back then and it's stayed with me all this time, even though I haven't been in touch with her. It also makes me feel like I wish I had been in touch with her -- but then again, there was a big age gap and I usually 30 year olds don't hang out with 80 year olds. I just hope she knows how much of an impression she left on me.

I don't know any of the circumstances surrounding this, either. I don't know if she was sick or what. I just feel so weird about this.

So here's the awkward transition -- I do want to mention my Grandma's birthday and the fun evening we spent with her.

Today my Grandma turned 88 and after work we went over to celebrate and have cake and all of that. Dan and I got home from work and headed there around 6:30. My mom got us chinese food for dinner and we ate before we sang.

It was a pretty big crowd and my Grandma had TWO cakes for her birthday. One said "Happy Birthday, Grandma" and the other said, "Happy Birthday, Mom." Covering all bases. I had a very small piece of cake and we hung out for a while. My cousin Christen stopped by toward the end of the part and we talked to her for a bit.

We gave my Grandma a gift card to the movies and we gave her one of those birthday cards from the church sale! They are amazing. I don't think she fully appreciated it because, to her, it was just another card. I think they will have a better effect on our friends!

Now, back up a little more. I feel like I'm writing this entry in reverse! Work today was good but it was a crazy busy day. I had so much work to do and so many things to take care of.

There were some payroll issues and other stuff going on. It was basically a non-stop day of working.

For lunch I ordered the Tuscan Panini but supplemented that with the lunch of the day -- turkey, waffle fries, and a brownie. It was quite a meal.

I left work at 5:00, just after giving Steve the good news that our Worker's Comp Insurance premiums were going to drop significantly next year. Our experience rating is dropping we'll save more than 40%! That's big!

Anyway, I got home and then we went to celebrate my Grandma's birthday!

I got in all the stores of the day but just not in the normal order! That was weird! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"day one of four" - July 05, 2016
"fourth of july" - July 04, 2016
"deceiving weather" - July 03, 2016
"two bbqs" - July 02, 2016
"distinctive short ribs" or "much needed three-day weekend" - July 01, 2016

http://diaryland.com