Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 28, 2016 - 10:45 p.m.
"slowest election ever"

Hey Journal!

Well today as a LONG day! Another election day and the absolute SLOWEST I've done by far!

I got up at 4:20, got dressed, packed my snacks and sandwiches and headed off to the polling place. I wasn't at my usual location- this time I was assigned to nearby elementary school.

When I arrived, there was a line of cars waiting at the gates of the school to get into the parking lot!

I got on line and about two minutes before 5 the custodian arrived and opened it up.

We headed inside and got started setting everything up. Even though I was new to this location and this ED, I took charge. I opened the machine and took out all the papers we needed. No BS! Consequently, we were the first of six tables to be ready to go-- by at least 15 minutes. The chairperson at our table said, "How did we get done so fast!?"

The polls opened at 6am and nobody was waiting to vote. It took a while to get our first voter and then it was slow going after that. We had 3 by 8:30 and it remained at 3 until about 11. We had 5 voters as of 12:00.

The previous one, the presidential primary, there was a steady flow. The one before that was slower but still a good flow. Today was grueling.

No joke, I could have done the WHOLE polling place by myself- 6 EDs! Instead we had 24 workers!

Things did pick up a bit as the day went on but only a very little. By 7:30 we had only 17 voters all day and we were one of the tables with the highest turnout! It was dismal.

We literally sat around trying to find ways to pass the time. I walked around a lot and played on my phone most of the time. If I had known it was going to be this bad I would have brought my earphones to listen to music, my podcasts, or even watch TV!

For lunch I had some KFC. The KFC was literally right down the street so I got my food and jetted back. Everyone left for lunch here- at the HS that's strictly forbidden!

I did meet a few nice people here. The friendliest and most interesting were two sisters who were very nice. One was named Gina and I didn't happen to get the other's name. It's so weird- there's a Gina and a Dawn here AND at the HS!

Our chairperson was NUTSO though. She was nice but out of her mind. She kept reading the PowerPoint presentation from the training seminar and was taking notes and stuff. It's all REALLY simple stuff! Also, she did this over and over and kept opening the suitcase, taking things out, and checking them again and again. The other lady at our table, Sue, just ignored her the whole time and I started to do the same!

At one point she spilled water all over the VPL and she had to hold it up to the fan to dry it. Her antics got old really quick.

I did have a good time today but I like my buddies at the HS better so I'm going to call to request it in the future!

Since it was so slow, we started to do the closing procedures early. Anything we could get done beforehand we did before 9.

Dan had a dentist appointment after work at 6, so he did that and then went to the gym.

We got out of the school at !!!!!! and I headed home! Our grand total for the day was 20 voters in our district and about 108 for the room.

When I got home it was about 9:30 and I got right in the shower!

Even though I was exhausted, I didn't want to go right to bed! We watched last night's Major Crimes and now we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"deceiving weather" - July 03, 2016
"two bbqs" - July 02, 2016
"distinctive short ribs" or "much needed three-day weekend" - July 01, 2016
"birthday cake" or "library legend" - June 30, 2016
"steak for dinner" - June 29, 2016

http://diaryland.com