Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 19, 2016 - 11:21 p.m.
"father's day BBQ"

Hey Journal!

Well, today we had our Father's Day BBQ and it was pretty much a success! It was also the first time we went in the pool for the season. Very exciting.

We woke up on our own this morning around 9:30 or so and we watched some TV and did some random stuff around the house. I started by mixing up the iced tea and getting some stuff ready for the BBQ.

Around 10:30, we went to McDonald's for breakfast. We each got the Bug Breakfast. It's weird, while I'm thinking back on that it feels like it was weeks ago!

After we had finished eating, we went to Price Club to get watermelon. It wasn't really specifically for the party this afternoon, more just because I wanted watermelon AND because I had gotten that watermelon slicer at Bed, Bath, and Beyond last night and I wanted to try it out.

I really do love watermelon, though. It's sometimes a hassle to cut it up but it's worth it because it's so amazing.

Coincidentally, today was the LAST day to use my Costco American Express card. As of tomorrow it will be deactivated and the new Costco Visa will be in effect. I realized this when we arrived but as we were checking out with only our two watermelons, the cashier told me, "today is the last day for this card." Kinda crazy!

It will be a shame not to have an American Express card anymore but really I never used it for anything other than Costco because I get better rewards with other cards!

So, after we had our watermelons we had to head home because we needed to run the robot to clean the pool before everyone arrived. We made a quick stop at the Commack South Targe to get some potato chips (surprisingly they don't sell normal chips at Price Club. Weird.) and then we hurried home.

We put the robot in the pool to do one more cycle before the festivities started and then we came inside to get the inside stuff ready. Just a lot of cleaning up and making things look presentable.

I put the speakers outside and got the music turned on and then, at about 2:00, everyone started arriving.

Dan's Grandma, my mom, and my Grandparents all arrived at the same time and we funneled everyone into the backyard!

As a side note, we suspended the no-shoes-inside rule for those going from the back door to the bathroom. We figured it was easier that way and I just decided to clean the floor once everyone left.

We hung out the backyard for a while and then Dan's parents and Brian and Jessica arrived.

We had chips and watermelon as appetizers and the weather was perfect. It was warm, sunny, and there was a little breeze which kept it from being TOO hot. It was a little over 80 degrees out and the pool temperature was reading 80 as well.

My mom was the first to take the plunge and get into the water and then we all followed shortly after. I had to jump in off the diving board because I was sure that if I didn't I would never get in! Once I was on, the water was pretty nice. It was a LITTLE chilly when the wind blew but it wasn't too bad.

Today was the inaugural day for the pool this year! We hadn't been in it at all before.

Our neighbors were out playing softball in their backyard and they hit their ball over the fence quite a few times! Dan threw it back and, at one point, he may have gone over to hit a few himself!

When we got out of the pool we all sat in the sun over by the pool and had an enjoyable time.

Shortly after, Dan fired up the BBQ and we got the food going. We had hamburgers, hot dogs, cheeseburgers, chicken skewers, corn on the cob, and other assorted sides. Everything came out really nicely!

As a sidenote, we were still using the FIRST propane tank that we had gotten when we got our BBQ grill shortly after moving in! Last summer, we thought it was going to run out at any time so we bought a second one to keep on hand but we NEVER needed it! It was like the miracle propane tank!

We made it through the first round of food and the propane was still going but some people wanted seconds so Dan went to light the grill and it was empty! We definitely got our money's worth out of that fill-up! We hooked up the new tank and we were ready to go!

Hopefully this one will last us through next summer!

After we were done eating, Dan and his parents played some lawn games. Everyone wanted to play Bocce but we don't have it. It was Jimmy's game and he took it back last summer!

We had dessert -- lots of good stuff. We had ice cream and more watermelon, and my mom made some excellent cupcakes. My Grandma brought a pie but we forgot it in the refrigerator! :( So sad!

After dessert we hung out for a while. Dan's Grandma was the first to leave, followed my my Grandma and Grandpa. Everyone else left at about 8:00 and we cleaned everything up and got inside!

Phew, It was a successful day but it was tiring! Dan went upstairs to take a shower and I cleaned the floor. I had to mop the area that was violated by the lifting of the no-shoe ban. I figured while I had the mop out I would do the whole tired area anyway, so I did that as well as the dining room and part of the living room.

I took a shower after that and then we put the hose in the pool to fill it up a little. The water level was getting really low and we really should have added more water yesterday but we didn't want it to be too cold for today which was probably a good idea!


Dan is leaving tomorrow for yet another work trip! This time he's going back to Atlanta, Georgia and so he had to pack!

We watched Game of Thrones after that and tonight's episode had a LOT of action! I love when stuff happens and the story moves along! It was a great episode.

I feel like the story is FINALLY progressing and now next week's episode is the season finale! Their episodes are amazing and so much happens but a 10 episodes season is so hard to handle! Ugh!!

Anyway, now it's way late and we have to get to sleep! Work in the morning...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"brexit" - June 25, 2016
"helicopter lunatic" or "thermostat woes" - June 23, 2016
"ecto cooler is HERE!" - June 22, 2016
"5 mile walk" - June 21, 2016
"best day ever" or "pool and pizza" - June 20, 2016

http://diaryland.com