Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 05, 2016 - 12:07 a.m.
"paper towns"

Hey Journal!

Dan and I just finished watching a movie. It's really weird how sometimes we stumble on these movies that I really enjoy. Tonight's movie was called Paper Towns. We finished watching Beyond the Tank and had nothing else to watch so we started perusing the options on Netflix, HBO, and other AppleTV apps.

We spent a good half-hour (at least) looking for movies and didn't find anything that piqued our interest. I was getting a little frustrated. I kept scrolling through the HBO Go listings and, just when I was about to give up, I landed on this movie called Paper Towns. I don't know why it looked good, I don't know why I wanted to watch it. But I did, it was, and I'm really glad.

So, I mentioned that we have stumbled upon movies like this before. One was many years ago -- the movie was Peaceful Warrior. I was on my computer at work and somehow, somewhere, I found a FREE ticket to see this movie. Thinking back now, it was on BestBuy.com, they had an offer. Free tickets. No strings attached. We went to see it and loved it.

Then, another situation. Dan was away from work and I watched this movie called The Way Way Back. Loved it. It was weird, and I don't know how I found it, but I loved it.

I don't even really know how to classify why I like these movies or what makes them all the same type for me.

Anyway, tonight's movie was about a boy graduating high school, his friends, and his search for a girl he's loved. It doesn't turn out they way you'd expect a movie to, and that works. I really really liked it.

Now the questions is how do I find more movies like this? Maybe the answer is that I don't. Maybe I have to wait for them to stumble on me.

This morning Dan and I got up at about 10:00. I had the "Star Treatment" this morning at 11, so I got ready and, in the few minutes I had to spare, we watched the first two segments of Beyond the Tank. I didn't realize it was still new this week.

When I got back, around 12:30, Dan was already outside tending to the bushes in the front of the house. He had trimmed the big tree. Then we went in the back and worked on the pool.

We had to manually vacuum to get the dirt off the bottom and then we set the robot loose to do the final cleanup. We did one last backwash and then took apart the filter to spray it down. When we were done, we added eight scoops of DE. Now the pool is READY to go and it's in normal, maintenance mode! The hard work is finished.

This whole outdoor project took a long time. We were out almost the whole day. We also took apart the door of the old dishwasher and finally put it out at the curb.

I made PB&J sandwiches for lunch and we took a break for all that work to eat them.

When we were finally finished, around 6:00, Dan showered, I showered, and then we went out to dinner to Applebee's! We had a good time, did the 2 for 20, and I enjoyed my steak. Our waiter(s) were a little weird. When we were seated, the hostess told us "Devin" would be our server, but then some other guy came over and explained that Devin was busy, and he was just helping out. No big deal. Then at the end of taking our order, he said that Devin would be our server from there on out. But then, each of them kept coming over and apologizing. It wasn't a big deal! It was weirder that they kept bringing it up! lol

After we ate, we went on a search for Ecto Cooler. We went to King Kullen and Shop and Stop and had no luck. It seems that Ecto Cooler will be very hard to find this time around. I am worried.

We came home after that and watched the rest of Beyond the Tank... and well, you know the rest of the story from there.

It's not often that we go to the movies, or even watch movies, and it's less often that when a movie is over, I'm left feeling the way I do now. I feel like I just watched a great movie. A movie I really enjoyed, and a movie that connected with me.

Now I'm off to bed and in the morning we're driving up to Aunt Chickie's house for a birthday party! Should be fun.

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"grandpa's 89th birthday" - June 09, 2016
"the road to recovery" - June 08, 2016
"siiiiiick" - June 07, 2016
"tv dinner and match game" or "treasure mountain and allie's playhouse" - June 06, 2016
"cold spring or bust" - June 05, 2016

http://diaryland.com