Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 05, 2016 - 9:19 p.m.
"cold spring or bust"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a pretty full day and I feel like I have some funny stories to tell! When I got up this morning I was very upset because I had a sore throat. I kinda still do. I have no idea where this came from all of a sudden! Just last night when we were out at Applebee's I was fine.... and then over night I started to feel not-so-good!

It was really bad when I first woke up and I could barely get out of bed. I woke up at about 8:30, before my alarm which was set for 9:30. I managed to get myself out of bed and while Dan was on his morning walk, I went to Target to get some things to sooth my throat!

I picked up some Up&Up Zicam equivalent, some Vitamin C drops, and some medicine that I wound up not using.

I got home and then I had a little time to get ready before my mom, Grandma, and Grandpa arrived for our trip up to Cold Spring for Aunt Chickie's Great-Grandson's birthday party!

They arrived just before 10:30 and we got our things together and then headed out to the car. The gas was a HAIR under FULL - almost not noticable, and my Grandma suggested that we stop to fill up before we left! We did not.

We made pretty good time and didn't hit any traffic on the way there.... we did, however, hit some pretty bad rain! It was torrential!

At about 12:30, we stopped at the Garrison Cafe to get a little something before going to the party. My Grandma wanted coffee and I wanted a bagel. I had only had a piece of toast for breakfast earlier.

I got a bagel and a cupcake. The cupcake was pretty small and cost $2.50. It also was a little stale. Maybe it was worth $1. Not $2.50.

Anyway, we got back in the car and then headed off to the fire department where the party was being held.

The party started at 1:00 and they put the food out right away! I was kinda surprised because there were chips and stuff but they went right in for the main course. My Aunt Chickie made lasagna and it was really good.

My Aunt Karen sat next to us and kept complaining about my Grandma which was kinda awkward.

The party was three hours long and it went by fairly quickly. We talked to Aunt Chickie for a bit and we said we will definitely have to come up and visit this summer! One of her daughters was in the kitchen cleaning up and Aunt Chickie said, "She wouldn't dry one dish at my house so I'm not helping her. I'm a nasty old bitch!"

When it was time for cake, my Aunt Chickie got up and got everyone's attention! It was great. I know I always say it but she's the wild version of my grandma! Which reminds me... I got a selfie with both of them!

We sang Happy Birthday, ate cake, and then it was time for presents! We watched Melissa (and Matthew) open Matthew's presents.... although I think he preferred to crawl up and sit on the boxes instead of opening them!

At 4:00, my Grandma was ready to go and we hit the road.

On the way home we didn't hit any rain but there was a LITTLE traffic. It took us just under two hours to get home. In the car, I asked my Grandma some things and we found out the origin of "Chickie."

My Grandma said that their father, Grandpa Joe, had nicknamed her that. She said he said it was the name of one of his old girlfriends! (She doesn't know if that's true or not!)

Another favorite quote from the ride was when we were talking to my Grandma about a red light ticket she recently got. We said, "Was grandpa talking to you and distracting you?" (as a joke) and she said, "He doesn't talk when we're driving. I talk and he listens. He doesn't contribute to the conversation."

Anyway, we were kinda hungry again as we approached home and my Grandma suggested we stop for food. We went to the Candlelight diner and I had and open face turkey sandwich! Mmm.

We got home here around 6:30 and Dan and I watched some Match Game, rested up, and then I took a shower.

I'm sure tired now and in the morning, Dan is leaving for his last of the Road Shows...LA this time! So I'll be all by myself here this week. Of course, even though the idea of relaxing and quiet sound good to me... I know I will be busy because I already have things planned for two of the four nights and I have a feeling at least one more will get nooked up, too.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"gotta get better for the weekend" or "dan's home" - June 10, 2016
"grandpa's 89th birthday" - June 09, 2016
"the road to recovery" - June 08, 2016
"siiiiiick" - June 07, 2016
"tv dinner and match game" or "treasure mountain and allie's playhouse" - June 06, 2016

http://diaryland.com