Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 23, 2016 - 11:04 a.m.
"pool with alec"

Hey Journal!


We were hanging out with Alec last night so I didn't have a chance to fill you in! Here's what you missed:

Friday was a pretty good day at work. I got up and headed in and I had forgotten that the road was going to be closed! They had closed our street down by the train station and so the only way to approach the golf course was from the east.

When I got there, I had to tell the flag man that I was heading to the golf course. Actually, he asked me. He said, "Golfing today?" and I said, "Yes." I mean, whatever!

I really think that as a result, everything was much quieter than it would have been otherwise. Of course, we had notified all of the members and anyone who wanted to golf would have found their way there. If a guest was invited to play, they would have either called us or called their friend who had invited them and figured out how to get there. The problem was with the lunch crowd. The lunch crowd mainly comes from the west which was the direction the road was closed. If you're coming out for a quick lunch at work -- you're not going to be driving all over creation trying to figure out alternate routes!

The office was quiet in the morning and it was shaping up to be a warm day. I got in and got some work done before Re arrived around 10. She did all the closes and go everything taken care of for the bank.

Dan's dad wasn't in because he went up to Vermont for the weekend.

Steve came in around 12:15. He's here for the weekend, will be in again on Monday, and then going away again.

I had a list of things I needed to go over with him while he was here so, as soon as he got in, I went into his office to go over everything. I got the answers to all the pressing questions I had so I can now proceed with about 15 random things that I had been waiting on. One of the big items is the dues schedule for next year! Steve wanted to wait until Monday to go over it and finalize everything. As soon as that's done, I have just two weeks to prepare everything and get it ready to send out! It's a huge task but I'm very happy that this year we will have enough time to take our time and do it right!

We wound up going over a bunch of stuff I wasn't really planning to talk about but I'm really glad it all came up. Steve gave me some good advice and I left work feeling like it was a GOOD DAY!

When I was finished, Re was closing up shop and headed out earlier than usual. She was going upstate for the weekend and wanted to hit the road before the traffic started!

Next, Steve and I went upstairs to have a food-tasting with the chef and Jackie. The Chef made two steaks to start -- a skirt steak and a filet mignon. You would think I would have liked the filet better but I really liked the skirt steak! It was so enjoyable. Next up was a chicken dish, and then finally another filet mignon with a different topping. The first one had some lime sauce on it and the second one had compound butter!

After tasting everything, here's what happened: The skirt steak and chicken dish are being added to the menu and the filet mignon with the butter is going to be replacing another steak that's already there.

Steve departed after the tasting and I headed down to the office to finish up some stuff before the end of the day.

I left work at 4:45 and headed home. When Dan and I got home, Dan went for a walk around the neighborhood and cleaned up a little around the house. Alec was originally going to come at about 7:00 but then revised his ETA to about 8. He didn't realize just how long it would take him and apparently his GPS on his phone isn't working properly so it didn't know where he was and he wound up getting lost!

While I was waiting for him to arrive I was using the Pokevision website to locate nearby Pokemon and I found a few cool ones nearby! I decided to go for a ride and find them! I drove to the streets where they were and collected some random Pokemon! It was crazy.

I got back a few minutes before 8 and Alec arrive shortly after!

We had planned to go in the pool so Dan and I got our bathing suits on but Alec wasn't sure if he could go in. He didn't want to get his ear wet. He said that on Wednesday night he had stuck a Q-Tip too far into his ear and it was extremely painful! He went to the urgent care place on Thursday and they checked it out. There was a bunch of wax jammed far in his ear and they told him to use some weird wax-removing ear drops to clear it up! So, long-story-short, he couldn't get water in his ears for fear of making it worse!

He did come in the pool but was just careful to keep his head above the water!

It was really warm out so it was a nice night to be in the pool after work! We stayed in until it got dark and then we got out, got dried off, and got ready to go out to dinner.

For dinner we went to Branchinelli's. We got there around 10:00 and we had our favorite waitress. I got the spaghetti with sausage (2) and it was very good. I think I like it more than meatballs (4). We discussed a lot of TV shows at dinner but mostly Game of Thrones! There was a lot to talk about!

When we got back home we hung out, watched some TV, and drank! We started with two shots of iced tea vodka and lemonade and then I had a cranberry vodka. A little later we did another shot. I feel like I had a good amount of alcohol but I never really felt it the way I did last Friday night!

Alec brought the game Dominion and, after a quick refresher in how the game is played, we gave it a whirl! We played one game and Alec and I tied with 48! Wahoo. I think I would have won except that I forgot that we were supposed to be collecting the point cards and started a lot later than I should have!

Around 12:30, Alec suggested that we watch a movie and we settled on something from HBO Go.... I honestly don't even remember the name but it was the a really weird and stupid movie. Of course, Alec fell asleep about 2 minutes in and Dan fell asleep about ten minutes in, leaving me to watch it all by myself. It was a horror movie and it was about a girl who was released from a mental hospital and thought her father's girlfriend was responsible for killing her mother... she and her sister set out to prove it. The catch is that the sister is dead, and basically the girl is the crazy killer all along.

I will admit, I did fall asleep for a little while in the middle of the movie but I think I saw all the important parts. It was a stupid movie.

We got to bed around 2:30am and, believe it or not, we woke up around 8:00 and went out to breakfast! I feel like I'm going to need a nap at some pint today but I don't know if that's going to happen!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"mussel mishap" - July 27, 2016
"88 degrees in the pool" - July 26, 2016
"un-convention-al monday" - July 25, 2016
"cameron's birthday observed" - July 24, 2016
"hot summer days and hot summer nights" - July 24, 2016

http://diaryland.com