Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 24, 2016 - 10:17 p.m.
"cameron's birthday observed"

Hey Journal!

Today was Cameron's 7th birthday party and, as such, that was our big event of the day!

Last night we were really tired from Friday night and needed to catch up on our sleep. We got to bed around 11:30 last night and slept until about 9:30 this morning. We watched a little TV when we woke up and then we hurried to get ready to go! I had some Crispix for breakfast and then put some laundry in the wash with the delay feature! I like that because then my stuff didn't have to sit in the washing machine damp for six hours until we got home. I set it to go on six hours from 10:45 and that almost wound up being perfect timing for when we actually got home.

We left the house around 11:00 and stopped at Target to get a present for Cameron! We got her a bunch of random little things -- a game, and then some other fun stuff to play with. A pencil case, some animal-shaped erasers, lip-gloss, a coloring book, and a few other random things.

Then we headed out to Linda's. We were shooting to be there around 11:30 but we didn't arrive until a little after 12. The party started at 2:00 so we had a mission to prepare and decorate before everyone arrived!

I was in charge of the balloons, and specifically the balloon arch to be hung over the pool! I blew up a bunch of balloons using the helium tank and then strung them together. Cameron and I got the strings a little tangled up as we tried to take it outside but we did manage to get it all set up. It looked really great.

Linda had a bunch of other cool decorations and also got some wild pool floats! My favorite was this giant flamingo! It was HUGE. I wish we could get one of those for our pool but the problem would be where to store the thing when we weren't using it. It would take up almost the whole shed!

At 2:00 people started arriving and I went inside to sunscreen myself up because it was HOT and SUNNY today! We were sweating from all the running around beforehand.

The kids took over the pool upon arrival so, although I had brought my bathing suit, we didn't get to go in. It just would have been a madhouse!

The party went from 2-4 and the kids all had a good time. There was a lifeguard on duty and, believe it or not, she had to make a daring rescue as one boy who thought he was a dinosaur got attacked by the giant floating swan! After that, the swan was banned from the pool for the remainder of the party!

Around 3:30 there was pizza followed shortly after by cake! The kids departed a little after 4 and we hung out a while longer in the backyard.

I don't know what it was but I was EXHAUSTED afterwards. I didn't do anything too strenuous but I think maybe I didn't drink enough water and I was out in the sun a lot. It was an intense day!

Isabella was very happy to see us and kept calling our names the whole day! One of my favorite things she was call me over to the pool, tell me to "watch this," and then splashed water in her own face! She made this crazy face as if she didn't expect it! It was so radnom.

My other favorite Isabella moment of the day -- which probably takes the cake -- was when she got out of the pool, told her grandmother that she needed to go to the bathroom, then stood on the patio as she started to pee!! The look on her face was sheer terror! She looked so terrified by what was happening and when it was over she looked like she was going to cry but EVERYONE was cracking up! It was unreal!

That prompted Dan and I to list some of our favorite Isabella moments as we were getting ready for bed just now. Those two stories from today made the list, as well as the times when she would cry hysterically whenever we would come over, the time when she drank spilled soda off the table at Boston Market, the time when she jumped back in terror at Lion Dancing, and the the time when she was peering out of the upstairs window at Linda's parents' house at us while we were hanging out in the driveway!

Anyway, after the party was over Dan and I hung out for a while. Cameron opened our present and then we headed home at about 6:00. We got home around 6:45.

The laundry had finished shortly before we got home so that was good, I went down to the basement, put it in the dryer, and then went outside to go in the pool. Dan wanted to take a quick dip when we got home. The water was really warm and we hung out for a little bit.

When we came inside I took a shower and then got ready for our TV shows. We watched Friday's WWYD and then Shameless.

Dan made some chicken patties for me for dinner and, although they were good, they left my stomach feeling a little weird. I don't think I really like those fried patties anymore. I think I'm better off sticking to the MP Grilled Chicken from now on!

So we watched our shows and now we're off to bed!

Another week of work starts in the morning!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"dan leaves for japan" - August 30, 2016
"conventional" - August 28, 2016
"mussel mishap" - July 27, 2016
"88 degrees in the pool" - July 26, 2016
"un-convention-al monday" - July 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com