Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 17, 2016 - 11:14 p.m.
"pool day" or "short beach"

Hey Journal!

I'm so not looking forward to going back to work tomorrow. I had a good weekend but I just feel like it wasn't quite long enough!

I got up this morning around 10:00 and Dan was already downstairs watching TV. I came down and we watched the first episode of season 2 of Shameless. Then, Dan went to the gym and I did some cleaning up around the house.

We had plans to hang out with Linda this afternoon but she had a few things to do before coming over. She planned to arrive here around 2:15 and so I had some time to go to the open house that Kristen was attending over on my old street!

I was excited to see it, it was actually Mr. Pawson's house! When Kristen initially showed us the listing, I told her all about how my mom and I used to walk down the block when I was little and Mr. Pawson would come out and give me pretzel rods! It's a really small house but there aren't many small houses like that in Smithtown.

I arrived there around 1:25 just as Kristen and her real estate agent were pulling up. The neighbor children were taking advantage of the increased traffic to set up a lemonade stand. They were a little insane, though -- they were screaming and yelling for people to come over.

The house was REALLY small inside. I think it would be small for two people. It's really a one-person house. Kristen thinks it's smaller than her current apartment, too.

The living room is tiny and the bedroom is directly off of the living room. Then, the bathroom is small, there's a tiny bedroom, and then there's a nice porch area in the back. The yard has some extra room and there's a nice pool.

The basement is only accessible from the outside and it's only for storage of things you wouldn't need often and don't really care about.

I thought the house was in alright condition but Kristen wasn't a fan. She felt it needed too much work -- not to mention that the seller has an unrealistic price in mind.

It was super hot when we left the house and Krisen bought some lemonade from the urchins nextdoor.

On my way home, I stopped at ShopRite because Dan wanted me to get corn on the cob for later. They had literally 10 ears of corn left on the shelf and they were all tiny and gross looking. I wound up going to Uncle Giuseppe's and there was a man singing as I walked in.

It's kinda creepy. He walks around with his microphone up and down the aisles belting out really weird songs. I was a bit terrified. I did find some corn. Their selection was better than ShopRite but not anything spectacular. I got some ears and then headed home.

I got home ar 2:15 and Linda was running behind schedule. She arrived at 3:15.

We went in the pool and of course, just as Linda arrived, it started to get cloudy out. The clouds came and went on and off for a while. It drizzled for a little while, but then the sun finally came back out.

We swam for a while and then Dan made us Daiquiri's. I only had one, so I didn't get drunk or anything but in case you were keeping records.... I had drinks Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. That's a record for me. To be fair, I only had one on Saturday and one on Sunday, but still.

Dan fired up the BBQ grill and made us hamburgers and turkey burgers and I made the corn on the cob in the microwave!

After we ate we decided to take a little excursion to Short Beach. We drove down through Nissequogue and checked out all the big houses. I showed Linda the two houses of famous people that I know of. We also saw some deer. I've been down that way so many times over the years and I don't think I can recall ever seeing deer there before. We saw quite a few, actually!

When we got to Short Beach we took a walk down to the water and then along the water for a while. We found a giant log and Cameron rolled it down the beach and into the water. As it floated out, we tried to hit it with rocks. It was a big log and it was surprisingly hard to hit it!

We watched the sunset and then we headed back. I stopped to go to the bathroom in the little beach restroom area. That weird shower area always brings back memories for me -- I remember going in there when I was little and I think it's so weird because there's no roof and you can see the sky but you're inside in what is like a maze. It's so strange but I would be so sad if they ever changed it.

My mom used to buy me italian ice at the little concession stand and I would eat it in the gazebo!

After Short Beach we made our way to Carvel in St. James to take advantage of National Ice Cream Day! It was buy one get one free on Junior size cones! Mmmmmm. When we arrived the line was LONG but after we got our ice cream the line basically disappeared.

We ate outside and then headed back. We got back home around 9:00 and Dan and I showered up.

We watched tonight's Pyramid and then 1/2 of Match Game before bed time!

Now we're off to sleep! I can't. I'm not ready for another week of work!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"pool with alec" - July 23, 2016
"pokevision" - July 21, 2016
"same parma, different location" - July 20, 2016
"401k tuesday" - July 19, 2016
"sleepy monday" - July 18, 2016

http://diaryland.com