Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 16, 2016 - 11:11 p.m.
"mysterious tivo problem is finally fixed"

Hey Journal!

I have great news to report tonight -- our broken TiVo is FINALLY working again! I was really getting irritated since we weren't able to record any of our shows manually or scheduled on Friday, Saturday, Sunday or Monday! The problem was that TiVo had some weird settings glitch and caused the TiVo to believe it wasn't activated. I understand that technology problems happen but the most frustrating thing about it is that the TiVo itself was a fully working unit and wasn't broken -- they broke it by introducing some coding problem and then they dragged their feet for days while I had a useless brick.

Anyway, it's all fixed now and we can move on with our lives.

It didn't record Major Crimes on Monday but luckily there's a repeat of it on Wednesday and it will record that one instead! I think we missed a few ABC shows over the weekend and we can watch them online -- it will just be a pain having to sit through the same commercials over and over again throughout the whole show.

This morning I got up feeling pretty tired and headed off to work. It was a quiet morning in the office -- Dan's dad was in early but he was outside almost the whole day with the tree guys who were taking down some more trees out on the golf course.

Re came in a little later than usual today because she had overslept. She did her thing and I had a big project to work on! I had dropped the dues invoices off at the Post Office on my way to work this morning which means that over the next few days my phone is going to start blowing up with people who have questions about EVERYTHING. (Most of the questions will be answered by looking at the invoice, but they will not have done that.)

Anyway, the project I had to work on was with the payment system on the website. I had updated the website at some time between last August and now and many of the pages that deal with the early dues had not been updated. They didn't match the new design and I had to go in change them. I also made some tweaks to the credit card payment form so that it would look more modern. Bigger input boxes and text.

I worked on that for most of the morning and we also had a call with our lawyer.

At 2:00, Re was almost finished with her stuff but we took a break to have lunch. We ate out on the patio and it was a really nice day out. I got the prime rib sandwich and it was a little shitty today. There wasn't enough meat on it -- it was just really weird and tasted crappy. Oh well.

Just before we went inside one of the umbrellas on the patio snapped in half and some guy jumped up to grab it. I went inside and told Jackie and she went out to deal with it.

I left work at 4:30 and headed home but I had to stop at Home Depot to get some things for work. I needed to get a lock for the cabinet in the locker room BUT later I ordered a small cabinet online that will have a lock on it. They need somewhere to keep the medicine they have up there -- advil, tylenol, and aspirin. People keep taking the whole bottle. Ugh!

Anyway, while I was there I looked for these backsplash tiles that I'm considering getting but they didn't have any in stock. After checking the website it appears that they have them in Central Islip so I will have to check that out one day on the way home from work.

When I got home I was pleasantly surprised to find that the TiVo was working as I mentioned before! I watched World News, put some laundry into the washing machine, and then went on a bike ride around the neighborhood.

I caught some Pokemon on the way -- I'm trying to go for a second round of Pidgey grinding but it's harder than the first time! I need to catch so many to get enough candy!

The bike ride was great -- it was such a nice night out and I love being able to go outside and actually do stuff in the evenings. I am already feeling the stress of the winter coming on. Feeling like I'm cooped up and wishing it was nice. That's okay -- at least it means I'm enjoying it now. I just wish cold wasn't looming in the distance!

When I got home, Dan called to say he was at Old Faithful in Yellowstone. He told me they had a webcam, so I turned it on. After the geyser had erupted, most of the people scattered so it was easy to find Dan. I told him what I saw in the camera and he moved over to the area that it was showing! He waved and I saw him there!

After that I watched an episode of Girls and then ate a Cup Noodles!

Now it's time for bed... Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"pokemon hunting sunday" or "cabinet completion" - August 21, 2016
"jen b's shower" or "summer party" - August 20, 2016
"free water" or "byoc vessels" - August 19, 2016
"the mysterious pokemon trainer" or "THIS IS SUMMER" - August 18, 2016
"a different parma night" - August 17, 2016

http://diaryland.com