Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 17, 2016 - 10:27 p.m.
"a different parma night"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed off to work. It was fairly quiet in the office and I'm just waiting for the dues calls to start up like crazy. They're out in the mail so any day now...

Nothing major happened today. I had lunch at about 2:00 and I got pasta with grilled chicken, garlic, and oil. I usually don't eat outside by myself but I figured it was a really nice day and I wanted to get out of the office for a bit, so I went out on the patio. Dan's mom was there reading the newspaper so I went out and ate with her.

I left work at 5:00 and headed to Home Depot in Central Islip. I had to go there because I wanted to get these backsplash tiles that they had there. They didn't carry them at any other nearby Home Depots! That in itself is a little weird but, even weirder, when I got there the app said that they were located in aisle 59. I looked ALL OVER the store and there was NO aisle 59! There isn't even one on the map. I asked for help and the woman couldn't figure it out, either. She eventually asked a guy and he told us it was the last aisle along the back. He was right, the tiles were there, but the aisle was labeled 41! So weird.

When I got home, I took a picture of the tiles near the kitchen wall and asked Dan if he liked them. He isn't sure if they are going to go well, so I'll hold off on it until he gets back. I bought four different styles so either way we have to make some returns!

My mom had called me earlier in the day and asked if I wanted to go out to dinner and I was really torn on the idea. I wanted to come home and have the evening to myself and relax. I also wanted to ride my bike. I also wanted to eat a good dinner and we had no food at home. So, I went back and forth.

First I said no, but then I said maybe. Eventually, we decided to go to Parma Night. I figured my mom would appreciate a good deal like that. She called and made reservations for 7 and when we arrived we were seated promptly. As crazy as it is that you need reservations I have to say that they are super-good about honoring them.

Anyway, back up a little -- as soon as I got home I rode my bike around for about 20 minutes and caught some Pokemon along the way. I got home, got changed, and then headed over there. The parking lot was packed so I had to park across the street.

Parma night was good as always and I even had a little incident to make the night more memorable...I was holding my cup of water and somehow it just slipped out of my hand! I have no idea how it happened but it hit the table and the water went all over the place. I didn't even realize that anything had broken because the glass was fine and I picked it right up. The glass landed right on a little plate. The plate broke into a bunch of pieces!

As soon as it happened, the waitress who we had last time came running over and asked if I was okay. I told her I was fine and then within 10 seconds there were five guys gathered around us. They cleaned up the whole thing in record time. They used the crumbers to clear the ice and broken pieces off the table, they took away the water glass and got me a new one, and they put down cloth napkins on the table to give me a dry area in front of me. It was really impressive how quickly and efficiently they handled the whole situation!

We finished up and headed out around 8:30. Well, technically we were done around 8:00 but they held us hostage for a while!

When I got home I showered up and then watched World News. I had enough time to relax a little and watch one episode of Girls followed by Judge Judy!

Tomorrow night, no matter what, I am NOT going out, not doing anything. I am getting home, riding my bike, watching the news, and some shows, and then going to bed at a reasonable time! No exceptions!

Now it's time for bed. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"the extra long conduit" - August 22, 2016
"pokemon hunting sunday" or "cabinet completion" - August 21, 2016
"jen b's shower" or "summer party" - August 20, 2016
"free water" or "byoc vessels" - August 19, 2016
"the mysterious pokemon trainer" or "THIS IS SUMMER" - August 18, 2016

http://diaryland.com