Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 07, 2016 - 10:40 p.m.
"attic fan" or "dan home" or "paint"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy today today was. Here was the plan when I went to bed last night: Get up at 8am for Mike to come over and install our attic fan. Dan comes home from Japan. We got out to lunch and maybe a few stores. Enjoy the day and relax.

That's not really what happened. I did get up at 8:00 when my alarm went off. Mike was already parked out front so I went downstairs, accidentally set off the alarm, and then opened the front door for him.

Nicky the electrician came by and installed the attic fan and hooked it up to the electricity. Mike got up on the room and cut the hole out for the new vent. He had to run to Home Depot to get a different vent and I'm glad he did. The one he got has a screen on it and will be much better than the one I got.

Mike brought his son with him and he was up on the roof with him! Nicky asked me who the kid was, and I told him it was his son. He said in all the years he's known Mike this was the first time he's ever heard of him having a son!

Anyway, Nicky finished with the vent and then replaced the outlet in our kitchen. He left and then Mike came back.

Mike finished installing the vent and before he left I asked him to cut some moulding for the kitchen windows. It looks good! I'm glad I thought of that because it would have been a pain to do myself. The worst part would have been nailing it in. Mike has this great nail gun and it's MUCH more efficient.

They were finished around 10:30 and I watched a couple episodes of Girls.

Dan's plane landed around 10:45 and he had to get his bags and wait for their ride home. They all took the same car and the other two people were dropped off first.

I ran out to ShopRite to get Dan some sherbet because he said he wasn't feeling well and said he would really like some.

I got home and watched some more of the show and then Dan arrived home! I can't believe he was gone for 10 days! But it's great that he's back.

He took a shower and I put his laundry in the wash. Then Dan showed me all of the souvenirs he brought home! He got me some cool Pokémon stuff! Wahoo!

Unfortunately, our day wasn't as fun as we had planned. Dan is feeling sick. He said it hit him on the plane home and he said it's like some sort of stomach bug! Ugh! He just layed on the couch all day and watched the Olympics.

While he was doing that, I went to Home Depot to get some paint and supplies for things we needed to do. This kitchen project is like one thing after the next. It makes perfect sense that we have to paint... I mean how could we not after having a new wall put up... but the crazy thing is that I never thought about that. I had no idea we were going to be painting.

I'm happy though because I was not a fan of the yellow color. We picked out a nice green called Creamy Spinach. I got the paint and a bunch of other supplies. Dan was at home sleeping while I went out.

When I got home, Dan was on and off sleeping and watching TV. I started painting. At first I was going to just do a little around the edges but one thing led to another and I did the entire first coat. It actually went a lot faster than I had expected.

I bought a good brush and used a roller that I had leftover from the last painting project we did. I've come to realize something. The brush I got today was a nice one and cost $8. Usually I'd go for the cheap one. The thing is, if you buy good painting supplies you have so many less headaches. The brush AND the roller were so good they never dripped any paint on to the floor and the roller never splatted. Other times, I've finished painting and had paint dots all over my arms.

I didn't even put down a drop cloth and I had no problem. So, they may be a little more expensive but the value you get from them is worth it.

The kitchen is looking great. I have to do one more coat, obviously, and then it'll be done! We had a hard time deciding where to stop the green because that ridiculous yellow just bleeds from one room to the other. It's insane. We decided to leave one wall yellow as it seems like it's part of the "hallway." I guess we'll see what it's like when we're done if we want to change it we can.

Anyway, I finished painting around 9:15, took a shower, and then made myself two PB&J sandwiches for dinner. I ate them out of a big plastic bowl. The kitchen is in disarray -- it was the best I could do.

We watched last week's Major Crimes and now it's time for bed. I think it may be a good thing that I have work tomorrow. I've WORKED too much this weekend. I feel like my day actually at work will be less stressful!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"busy weekend ahead" - August 12, 2016
"candelabra bulbs" - August 11, 2016
"dans day of rest" or "geofilters" - August 10, 2016
"colitiscope" - August 10, 2016
"second coat" - August 08, 2016

http://diaryland.com