Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 10, 2016 - 12:27 p.m.
"colitiscope"

Hey Journal!

You may have noticed it's pretty late for us to be up on a work night! Well, there's an explanation for that... let me start at the beginning...

This morning Dan woke me up before my alarm went off to tell me that he was leaving for work. I was a surprised because last night he wasn't feeling well at all and I was expecting him to stay home from work again. He said he was feeling a little better and that he was going to try to go in and make it through the day.

I got up a little while later and got myself ready and headed off to work. It was a busy day in the office -- there was so much stuff to get done and so many random things going on.

When Steve came in we went over this letter we need to get signed by some people -- some of which we have no idea how to get in touch with! It's pretty hard to do.

Anyway, Dan's dad was in early today because we had some tree guys come to take down some trees on the golf course.

Re came in and did all of the daily closes and other random stuff.

At 2:00, we had lunch outside on the patio. Re got today's pasta special WITHOUT the pasta! Basically she had a bowl of grilled vegetables with grilled chicken! I went for the steak sandwich with melted cheese on top. It would have been excellent EXCEPT that Nicole forgot to tell them not to put mushrooms on it! I had to pick them off and it was incredibly hard because they were all stick in the melted cheese!

Re left around 3:00 and just after she left, Dan called me to say that he wasn't feeling well and had called to make a doctor's appointment. They told him to come down right away and he was on his way there.

They checked him out and felt his stomach and because of the location of the pain, the doctor thought it might be appendicitis and they sent him to the hospital! He chose to go to Stony Brook and when he got there he checked in and they told him he would be called shortly. He waited for two hours and they still hadn't called him. At that point, he asked how much longer it would be. They said approximately TWO MORE HOURS! What the heck!?

He called St. Catherine's and asked how long it would take to see him. They told him it would be much shorter of a wait, so he left and went over there. Too bad he didn't go there first -- I mean, I would have chosen Stony Brook over St. Catherine's too, but not to wait four hours without being seen!

Anyway, I left work at 4:45 and headed over to pick my mom up from work. She had dropped her car off at Vinny's and needed me to drive her back to it. I was going to drop her off and then go right to the hospital.

And that's a whole different story -- My mom brought her car to a Honda place to get an inspection and they told her she would need about $3,000 worth of work done. She was a little unsure, so she brought it to Vinny who we've been going to for years and who we always have trusted. He inspected the car, specifically the things the my mom told him were supposedly wrong, and he said they were in perfect condition. Nothing at ALL wrong. UNBELIEVABLE!

So, I dropped my mom off there and then headed home to get changed. Dan called and said he was in the waiting room and not to come down to the hospital. I wanted to go, I didn't want to stay home, but he said it was just waiting in the waiting room and that it was really quiet there.

Instead, I painted the trim in the kitchen. I used the paint we had left over from the ceiling in the upstairs bathroom. It came out GREAT! First, it perfectly matched the white paint that was already there so I didn't have to go over every little thing! I painted all of the moulding -- the new pieces over the fridge and the new window moulding. I also did the moulding around the front door and put a few coats on the sides of the steps going upstairs!

I used some tape to make clean lines around the ceiling and after I saw how amazing it came out, I did another and another until I had done the whole room. It was SO worth it, though -- it makes it look so much cleaner!

When I was done with the kitchen, I got changed and headed over to the Emergency Room to see Dan! He had been taken inside and when I got there I checked at the desk and then went down a long hallway, made a left, and he was at slot #20.

He had to drink this crazy liquid stuff for the cat scan and they had him hooked up to an IV to keep him hydrated. At this point, we still thought it might be appendicitis and all of the symptoms were pointing that way!

I sat with him for another hour while he drank more of that liquid. They said after drinking the stuff he would have to wait a certain amount of time for the cat scan which would be around 10:00.

At about 10:05, this guy came over with a wheelchair to take him for his cat scan. The guy was really nice and friendly and told me he would be back in 15 minutes. Exactly 15 minutes later, they brought Dan back and then we had to wait about a half-hour for the doctor to read the results and come over to tell us.

He came over, explained that everything with the appendix was fine but that his colon was inflamed. They said it was colitis and most likely was caused by a bacteria that he wasn't used to while traveling in Japan! Yikes!

Just as the doctor was leaving, Dan's parents arrived. Dan filled them in on what the doctor had just said and then the nurse came over to give him his medicine. They have him two really strong antibiotics that he has to take for the next 10 days. They sent the prescription to CVS in Kings Park so we have to get that tomorrow.

We got home around 11:30, Dan took a shower and then rested on the couch while I took a shower and then had some cereal for dinner. We watched some of the Olympics and now it's time for bed! Well, past time for bed! I'm going to be tired tomorrow but I said I would be in a little late just to be safe!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"intense pain" - August 14, 2016
"governors island on the hottest day of the year" or "clambake 2016" - August 14, 2016
"busy weekend ahead" - August 12, 2016
"candelabra bulbs" - August 11, 2016
"dans day of rest" or "geofilters" - August 10, 2016

http://diaryland.com