Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

November 26, 2016 - 12:22 a.m.
"power failure" or "black friday"

Hey Journal!

Ugh! What a disaster last night was! I've been in a little bit of a fog all day today because I've been exhausted but I actually got a second wind a few hours ago!

So, Dan and I were all ready to go to bed. In fact, we were already IN bed! Earlier in the day, around 10pm, I had to connect to my computer at work to fix something that I had forgotten to do before I left on Wednesday. When I tried to connect, my computer was not accessible. I tried Re's computer, and was also unable to connect.

There are only two reasons my computer wouldn't be accessible. 1) It's off. or 2) The internet is down.

I ruled out the internet being down because i could connect to the security cameras. I also saw that I got an e-mail from the alarm company that the power had gone out. I knew the power was back on because the internet and cameras were working. The question was -- how long was the power out? My computer AND the server have a battery backup. Re's does not. So, that makes sense that hers was off. Mine lasts about 30 minutes and the server lasts about an hour. So, just because my computer was off, the server MAY have been able to keep going. Not sure.

The problem is that if it wasn't still on, we would have no registers in the morning and I'd have to get up at like 7am to go fix it and I wasn't in the mood for that. Of course, it could have all been fine. I had a bad feeling about it, we got out of bed and decided to go up and check on it.

We arrived at about 2:30 and, sure enough, it was off. So it's a good thing we went. I got everything booted back up and then we headed back home. I got a cup of tea for the road.

We decided to go to Target on the way home to see what was going on for Black Friday! When we arrived, we were surprised to see that the parking lot was packed. When we went inside, though, there weren't too many people inside. It was actually kinda quiet.

We asked if they had an iPads left at the electronics counter. My mom really wanted a new one and they are usually $399 but were on sale for $275. She had tried to get it online earlier in the day but they weren't available for shipping so we figured we' check in store. When they said they didn't have them, I looked online AGAIN and they now had them available for shipping. So, since I was sure she was asleep, we just ordered it for her.

We made a quick lap of the store and then headed home. We got to bed and then I woke up around 8am because my head was hurting. I took an Advil and then TRIED to get back to sleep but it took a while. Shortly after falling back into a good sleep -- my alarm went off at 10:00! Ugh!

We had made plans to go to breakfast with Dan's parents at IHOP at 10:30.

We got ready and arrived promptly at 10:30. I got the special pancakes with all of the toppings on the side.

After breakfast Dan and I went to the mall to check out Black Friday things. Dan wanted to get some pants so we went to Penney's. They had a good deal of some jeans, so he got those and I found a nice hoodie and a sweater for work. I had also ordered some sweaters from American Eago yesterday. I got them because I regretted not getting more of them last year -- and the two that i got are my favorite sweaters to wear to work in the winter.

Sadly, while the price was good, when we were at the mall today we stopped into the store and I looked at them in person. I'm not a fig fan of the materia. It's too woolly for me.

I was SOOO exhausted after our trip to the mall but, on the bright side, there was a lot of eye candy out today. I guess the deals really draw them out!

When we got home we planned to rest for a bit but then we realized we needed to put our outdoor furniture away. It was kinda warm out so we cleared space in she sheds, put the tables away, chairs, umbrellas, and all of that. We also took the porch furniture and stored that for the winter, too. We're all closed up. It's kinda depressing.

After that we watched Shameless and that was when my second wind kicked in. At 6:30 we went to Buffalo Wind Wings for dinner with Linda, Connor, and Cameron! Foursquare told me that the last time I had checked in was in January and I remember going there on New Year's Day with them!

I got the Naked Tenders and you wouldn't believe it ... they did the same thing they did at the OTHER location -- they gave me chicken strips instead of the Naked Tenders! I couldn't believe it. Though, contrary to my last experience, the waitress realized it before they even gave me the plate AND she had the correct order out in about 30 seconds! it was a much better experience than our previous one!

When we were finished eating. we went to Michael's. Linda had some decorations she wanted to buy to make a little flower arrangement in a mason jar. We didn't like her first picks so Cameron designed a much more festive bouquet,.

Before we headed home we went to the Bay Shore Target to do some shopping. We got Pipcorn and some other things we needed. We bought Connor a hoodie for Christmas and also bought Connor and Cameron each a little blind box thing.

We ate the pipcorn and Linda had an iced tea as we were leaving so it looked like we were savages eating a meal in the Target entrance!

I showered up when we got home and then we watched some episodes of Teen Wolf!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"another day of rain" or "start packing" - November 30, 2016
"torrential tuesday" or "grandma's iphone" - November 29, 2016
decorating our new tree - November 28, 2016
long weekend comes to a close - November 27, 2016
"the wedge" or "brian and dan taxi service, will work for soft pretzels" - November 27, 2016

http://diaryland.com