Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 31, 2016 - 11:19 p.m.
"happy halloween"

Hey Journal!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Today we kept without tradition of going Trick-or-Treating with Connor and Cameron and we had a very fun time!

This morning I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. Since we were going to be out afterwards, we took our Sisal friends off the porch and Dan moved the pumpkin to the backyard. That may have been an abundance of caution because I don't think that much crazy still happens nowadays but... I guess it's good we did it!

The golf course was closed today and work was pretty quiet. Shortly after I arrived, the alarm people came to investigate our seemingly never-ending problem with the fire alarm system. They started investigating and decided to split the zone into two parts. This way, if it went off again, they could narrow it down to less sensors and wires.

Just as they were finishing that, the false alarm triggered again. They were able to rule out one of the two sections, but then split the offending section into two more zones! So, little by little it's being narrowed down. It didn't go off again after that so we just have to wait for it to happen again.

I used the quiet time in the office to catch up on some daily closes. I did a bunch of days and tried my best to get caught up. We're still a little behind and tomorrow I am planning to bring them home. Dan said he would help and hopefully I can get all of October done!

I didn't have anything for lunch today and I left at 3:40. Dan decided to leave an hour early from work and I picked him up at 4. We headed our to Linda's and she said she would be home around 5. One the way, we were pretty hungry, so we stopped at Wendy's to get some spicy chicken nuggets to hold us over until dinner!

We got to Linda's around 4:50ish and Connor and Cameron were at the front door waiting for Trick-or-Treaters!

They came running out to the car and threw candy in the window! Drive-thru trick-or-treating! Great idea!

Linda's mom was there when we arrived but she left a few minutes later because she wanted to get home and see Isabella. We hung out with Connor and Cameron until Linda got home around 5:15.

Cameron was watching out the front door for people to come and she saw three kids go to the house across the street. There was a bowl with candy out and the kids dumped the bowl into their bags and ran to the next house! Cameron was OUTRAGED! She was so mad that they "robbed" them. She went outside, ran to the next house, and made menacing moves towards the kids who I think were unphased by her!

So, Cameron's friend Amber came along for the fun and we went around the neighborhood doing out thing! I forgot that last year Dan didn't come because he was at the World Series! We made our way down to that house we went to last year -- the "haunted house!" It was amazing. They really went all out. They had smoke machines, crazy lights, cool decorations, music, and to top it all off, they gave out FULL candy bars!

After that, Connor started complaining that he was "thirsty, tired, and hungry" so we started to head back.

We got back to Linda's around 8:00 and we dumped all of Connor's candy out on the table. Connor wasn't too into it but I sorted all of his candy out and managed to stash away some of the good ones for myself!

Oh, and I forgot to mention two things... first is that while we were walking around, every time Connor got a bag of pretzels he would give them to me! He doesn't like pretzels and he knows I do! Second, I don't think I said what they were -- Connor was Robonyan, which is some sort of Japanese cat creature! I'd never heard of it before and according to Connor and Cameron, nobody else has, either. I think that's cool though -- Connor likes it and he's totally comfortable being what he wants to be! Cameron was batgirl but she was wearing a catwoman costume which was a little confusing. I think I may have slipped and called her catwoman about 10 times! Woops!

So, after we sorted the candy, Dan asked Connor which was his favorite and he said "I'll show you by headbutting them!" He then went around the table putting his head down on the candies he liked! It was one of the strangest things I think I have ever seen him do and I loved it so much. I videoed him going around and doing it and then when he got to a candy I liked, he gave it to me and took the camera so he could film ME doing it! It was really funny.

At about 8:30, we went to Pietros for our traditional Halloween night dinner! We got seated in the back room and we played some QuickDraw! Thanks to the man who owns the place, we learned that the QuickDraw board in the back doesn't show ALL the numbers! Good call! We wound up winning a few dollars. We made our money back, so that was good!

The stuffed shells were the meal of the evening. I got the adult stuffed shells and Connor and Cameron each got the Kids meal! Dan and Linda got heroes.

We had a good time and we finished up around 9:15. We headed back to Linda's and then we hit the road for home.

We got home just a little while ago and I put the laundry into the dryer (I had set it for a delayed wash to go on around 6pm) and then Dan took a shower, I took a shower, and now it's time for BED!

Considering how much we had to do, I'm surprised we were able to get ready for bed by now! So, I'd better not keep us waiting any longer.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"the most amazing halloween mask" - November 06, 2016
"the tire with no car attached" or "viva la vida" - November 05, 2016
"christmas lights are up" - November 03, 2016
"everyone i should have married is dead!" or "get away from me!" or "i'm just trying to crumb" - November 02, 2016
"the day of the dead" - November 01, 2016

http://diaryland.com