Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 21, 2016 - 11:08 p.m.
"pierre and his wooden shoes" or "the cross lady" or "bobblehead floss reminder"

Hey Journal!

Yikes! It's a late one!

Dan and I just got home and I showered up as quickly as I could. I really need to get to sleep!

Tonight, after work, we got home and got ready to go over to my Grandma's house for a little pre-Christmas dinner. Since we won't be with everyone on Christmas, we figured we would give our presents tonight.

We had just gotten in the car to head over there and I was about to put the car in reverse when I saw someone standing outside the car window! It was JC! I was so confused! We got out and it turns out that she had come by to give Dan some Seltzer that she picked up at BJs! When we were over there the other night, they were talking all about different flavors of seltzer.

It was a pleasant surprise and little Gil was with her, too! We got out of the car and talked for a bit before hitting the road!

We stopped at Branchinelli's on the way to get a gift certificate for my Grandparents and then we headed over.

When I arrived, I was very shocked to learn that my mom had not communicated that we would be having our mini-Christmas tonight! I specifically asked her to tell my Grandparents but she didn't. I mean, it wasn't a big deal -- they were there anyway so it was all fine -- but WHAT??

For dinner my mom made pasta with sausage. We ate shortly after we arrived and then, when we were finished, we retired to the living room to give our gifts.

We presented them with the Branchinelli's certificate and also a Milk and Cookies for Santa plate that we got in Disney!

After that, my Grandma was asking all about Disney and so I showered her a lot of pictures and videos from the trip.

When we were finished with that, my Grandpa went to bed and I started looking in the bookcase for one of my favorite books when I was little. I always remembered that, in the bookcase next to the TV in the family room, there was this little blue book with scary pictures in it. It had a Christmas story about a little boy named Pierre.

I couldn't find the book so I scoured the shelves and it was nowhere to be found. The cabinet where I used to find it had old VHS tapes in it now! Things had been rearranged. I asked my Grandma and she didn't know where it went. It turns out my mom had already seized it and brought it to her bedroom!

Anyway, with the book in hand I found the story I was thinking of. We read the story out loud and it was GREAT! It was such a weird story about a boy named Pierre who lived with a "cross old lady." The boy just wanted to get nice presents like all the other kids but he had nobody to buy anything for him. After doing a nice deed for someone else, he woke up the next morning to find that the Christmas Angel had brought him many gifts! What a story!

After that, my Grandma told the story about when she missed her school play -- the kittens who lost their mittens! What a sad story. To be true, though, it wasn't as sad the way she told it tonight she just to make it sound much much sadder! I hate that story! It always makes me feel bad!

We hung out until about 10:00 and we had a really nice time talking about things.

But let me go back a little and report on the rest of the day. I got up at 7:45 and got ready to go to my dentist appointment. I had the hygienist, Jennifer, who I saw a year ago. She's really nice and I hope I get her next time I go, too.

She was asking me questions about where I work and, after finding out the location of the golf course, she wound up telling me that she has a cousin who works at the cemetery. I asked his name but I had never heard of him. Later I asked Steve and he said he thinks he knows who I was talking about.

Anyway, she cleaned my teeth and scraped all of the plaque off. She told me I need to floss more (big surprise) and she also told me that I'm brushing too hard. She said I should be brushing VERY lightly. I tried it later on and I have to say -- I feel like I need to SCRUB those teeth! Her method does not allow me to do that! She said she wants to make bobble heads of herself for people to put in the bathroom reminding them to floss and brush lightly!

It wasn't a terrible experience...they weren't too mean about my disdain for flossing. I wonder if they suspect the reason I don't floss is that I am convinced of a vast conspiracy concocted by the manufacturers of dental floss. What a racket.

I left with my goodie bag and headed off to work. I stopped to get gas along the way and the office was pretty quiet when I arrived.

When Dan's dad got in he packed up his golf club and we printed shipping labels to send them to Florida.

I had a bunch of other stuff to keep me busy today so it was a little intense in the office. A member came by and dropped off a bunch of platters of cookies for everyone and I also talked to Nicole for a while upstairs.

I left work at 5 and headed home and you know the rest of the story! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"boxing day" or "missing pudding" - December 26, 2016
"merry christmas to all" - December 25, 2016
"merry christmas eve" or "cake week: it's not a bad bake" - December 25, 2016
"omg i feel so christmassy" - December 24, 2016
"bill's dizzy spell" - December 22, 2016

http://diaryland.com