Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 04, 2017 - 11:23 p.m.
"uncle doctor" or "margaritas cafe"

Hey Journal!

Today I feel like we got a lot accomplished on what seems to be the coldest day of the winter so far!

We got up this morning around 9:00 and we got ready to head out for the day. I had my doctor appointment at 10:15 and Dan wanted to drop his car off to get it's checkup while we were on the way. He was in and out pretty quickly and then we headed over to the Urologist's office. It wasn't very crowded this morning and they said their computer system was down so they couldn't take my copay! Maybe they'll forget to bill me! :P

They took me in a minute or two early and I headed in to the exam room. The girl took my information, blood pressure, and all that good stuff. Then, the doctor came in shortly after. He's such a nice guy -- I feel bad because I feel like I'm a pain in the ass and I never actually leave with any answers but I know he's trying to figure out what's going on!

He told me that all my tests came back normal -- he said "I can't find anything wrong with you!" Well, that's good news... but it's frustrating because I still have the pain and I want it to go away!

Originally he was going to prescribe me an antibiotic but he decided against it because I showed him where the pain is and he said it really doesn't seem like that would be of any help. I tend to agree.

So, after talking for a bit he asked me to drop trou and he did his examination. He checked me over and said everything looks good.

He suggested that I might want to see an Orthopedist or even a Neurologist, so I think, since I've already seen the orthopedist, the next step is the Neurologist.

After that, Dan and I wanted to get some breakfast. We were hungry. We went to Toast in Port Jeff but they had way too long of a line so we left and went to a place called the Setauket Village Diner. It was good, I got some French Toast and we enjoyed.

Next, on the way back we stopped by to say hi to my Grandma and Grandpa. I told them all about my doctor's appointment and that we were no closer to a resolution. I have to say that today, already, my pain was feeling a bit better overall and I think this past week it's made very good progress. I just want it to keep heading in that direction!

My Aunt and Uncle from New Jersey came by about 30 minutes after we arrived because it was my Aunt's birthday and they wanted to go out to lunch with my Grandma and Grandpa. I explained my situation to my Uncle who looked over my test results and agreed that my info seemed really good. I explained all of my pain issues and he, too, thought it sounded like it might be neurological -- he said that he would recommend a medicine called gabapentin. Funnily enough, that's the medicine that my Urologist's PA was suggesting I try before my cruise but that he wouldn't prescribe for me! Ugh! It's ridiculous because my Uncle says it has no real side effects and that it would be a good try to see if I see any effects.

He also said that there's a supplement called Alpha Lipoic Acid that he recommends to his patients who have similar pain. He said the good thing about it is that it's over the counter and it isn't going to do any harm. It may help, but it's not going to hurt anything. So, Dan and I picked up a bottle on later on.

The really great thing was that my uncle seemed to say almost everything that ALL of my wide array of doctors had said along the way but he seemed to really have some good recommendations and I'm REALLY happy our paths happened to cross today!

Shortly after, they left to go to lunch and Dan and I headed on our merry way.

We went to Staples in Commack to pick up the Tournament posters I had ordered but when we arrived they only had one of them done. I had ordered two. They were nice about it and whipped up the second one in about 10 minutes. While we waited we walked over Walgreen's to investigate the supplement my uncle told us about.

We stopped at Target on the way home and then came back and watched some TV and relaxed for a bit. We made plans for dinner to go out to Margarita's Cafe. It's over by King Kullen -- where Lo Piccolo used to be! It's a cool little place and I did enjoy my food.

Anyway, we planned to go at 7:30. So, in the meantime, I took a really short nap and also did some things around the house.

We left at 7:15 and arrived on time. Jen B and Re were already there and JC joined us shortly after!

While we were waiting for our table, I spotted Debbie from the library at the bar! I went over and said Hi and we chatted for a minute or two! Her table was ready so she headed in and we had to wait about 20 more minutes!

It was weird because the table we wound up getting was actually empty for about 20 minutes before they sat us. It was frustrating because the restaurant was started to clear out and we were still waiting and waiting!

So, I got the arroz con pollo and it was actually more simple than any other mexican place I've ever been. It was just chicken and rice. They had beans and lettuce on the side and I requested not to have either. For some reason, though, I got the lettuce but luckily it wasn't mixed in so I just kept it off to the side.

We were serenaded by a mariachi band, we had some drinks, and it was a good night!

It was freezing cold when we left so we all ran to the car! JC had gifts for us -- Butter Cookies! She handed out our goodies and then we all said goodbye and off we went!

I had to take a shower when we got home and now we're just about ready for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"warm day, means blizzard tomorrow" or "pain log" - March 09, 2017
"the party's over" or "my pain makes me so confused" - March 08, 2017
"final day of freedom" or "momentum" - March 07, 2017
"two doctors, one copay" or "i'll pay you to look at my balls" - March 06, 2017
"good pain day" or "roku" - March 05, 2017

http://diaryland.com