Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 06, 2017 - 10:43 p.m.
"two doctors, one copay" or "i'll pay you to look at my balls"

Hey Journal!

So, as you know, there's been a lot of back and forth with my pain. For the most part, today, I have been feeling better. That follows the weekend where I made some good progress. I even sat on my normal chair at work today and it didn't bother me as much. Of course, now that I'm home, it's bothering me again a bit. It's not terrible but it's like....back to the way it was on maybe Friday night. It's slow progress, and any regression makes me upset, but I just have to keep my eye on the prize!

Today I decided to call the chiropractor to see if he thought he could help my leg in any way. I kinda briefly explained the situation on the phone and he said to come in. When I came in, he sounded surprised that my leg issues had no accompanying back pain. I mean, I never said that it did -- so it shouldn't have been assumed that it would. Anyway, I didn't know what he could do. I thought maybe he could stretch my leg, or align the muscles in my leg or something, since SOMETIMES it does feel like a muscular issue. Apparently not. He tried some back things, but that really had nothing to do with the problem and I feel the same as before.

I also told him about a sore shoulder which wasn't really a big issue for me but I figured I was there and paying a copay so I might as well try to get something out of it!

On my way out, I was telling him all about the issues I had since January and he suggested a doctor who may have some more info to share on the subject. He said he was a friend of his and that he worked with nerve pain and hernias, or something like that.

Just then, the phone in the office rang and it turned out to be the wife of the man he was telling me about. They were calling to see if they could stop by for an adjustment! Wild! He asked me if I wouldn't mind hanging around for a little and he'd ask the doctor to take a look at me!

What a strange coincidence! I said I would certainly wait but I didn't want to put the other doctor in an awkward position or anything. He said it would be fine and that they're friends who go fishing together. Anyway, when the doctor arrived my chiropractor told him the situation and the next thing I knew, I was in one of the rooms of the chiropractor's office with my pants down and he was examining my affected area!

It was quite unexpected but, like I've said before, after this whole experience if ANYONE thinks they can help me out I'll show them my balls in and instant!

Never have so many people seen me naked!

So, the takeaway from all this is that I really don't think the chiropractor was able to help my current situation and that's not his fault -- I just wasn't sure what sort of things he would be able to do. It was such a blessing that the other doctor happened to come in at the same time. Oh, and what did he say -- well, he said I did not have a hernia...which we already knew. He said he thinks it's a nerve that's damaged and is healing (since I have been getting better.) The most important piece of information I think he gave me was that he said it's VERY common for a nerve to take several months to heal. So, I shouldn't be worried that it's not completely gone after two months. He also suggested, seriously, pulling hairs out of my leg OR pinching myself to create pain somewhere else. Basically, he said, this would distract my brain from that pain and the nerves would focus on that instead. He said it actually works. So.... I'm getting my pincers ready.

Anyway, rewind to my day at work.

This morning I got in and set up the new tournament posters I had picked up over the weekend. Then, I spent some time getting stuff done in the office before Steve came in.

When Steve got in, we worked on a few little things and it was a pretty quiet Monday. Around 1:00, Kathleen came in to visit and she wanted to talk with me and Steve in the restaurant but I had already gotten to speak to her for a while on Thursday and I knew Steve would want to spend some time with her, so I went back downstairs and did some more stuff I needed to do.

At 4:00, I left work to go to the Chiropractor and, of course, I forgot my wallet at him and it's the one day I need it for my insurance card and credit card! Ugh! So, I came home quickly, got it, and then headed over to my appointment.

I already filled in all the details about THAT!

When I got home, around 6:00, I took a bath and then a shower and Dan went on the treadmill. For dinner, Dan made steak and I made some baked potatoes in the microwave. They came out pretty good!

We watched "The Chase" which I had recorded the other day. I was hoping it would be the British version but it was the American version which I didn't even know existed until today. It has one of the Chasers from the other show, but not The Governess, so I was a little sad about that. That's really why I recorded it to begin with.

After that we watched tonight's 24 and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
spring ahead tonight - March 11, 2017
in the elevator with scott - March 11, 2017
"warm day, means blizzard tomorrow" or "pain log" - March 09, 2017
"the party's over" or "my pain makes me so confused" - March 08, 2017
"final day of freedom" or "momentum" - March 07, 2017

http://diaryland.com