Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 09, 2017 - 10:40 p.m.
"aunt chickie's 90th birthday" or "walkway over the hudson"

Hey Journal!

What a long day! I would have liked to sleep much later this morning but we had to get up at 9am to go upstate. I mean, I was looking forward to our little trip but I wasn't looking forward to getting up so early. We got up at 8:30 and got ready to go.

My mom arrived at 9 and we set sail. I sat in the back of the car and I had a lot of help for my pain. I sprawled out in the back seat and propped my leg up on my pillow. I was worried that it was going to be a painful ride but it actually wasn't that bad.

We made good time on the way up and we planned to do the Walkway Over the Hudson first! When we got off the highway, we stopped at a McDonald's for breakfast. Surprisingly, I wasn't that hungry so I just got some fries to hold me over. Dan got a breakfast sandwich, and then we headed to the bridge.

It had been about three years since we were last there but not too much has changed. We parked in the free dirt lot and walked over. It's such a cool little thing to do. I loved it. It was 1.3 miles each way, which was quite enjoyable. It was actually the perfect thing to do for my leg -- especially having just been stuck in the car before that.

We walked all the way over to the other side, went to the bathroom, and then walked back. The weather was really great today, too! I brought my jacket with me but I really didn't need it...the sun was shining and it was nice and warm! I think spring has sprung!

On the way back, Dan and I took the elevator down and you got a really nice view of the bridge from there....you could see underneath and all. There was a girl in the elevator whose job was to push the buttons for us. (I know, pushing buttons on elevators is hard.) Anyway, she said that since she started her shift she had done 53 elevator trips and taken 152 people. She had a little clicker and everything!

We got back to the car at about 1:00 and it took us about a half hour to get to Aunt Chickie's! We arrived at 1:45 and then we went out to lunch to celebrate her 90th Birthday!

Dan really wanted to go to a little restaurant we've been to before on Main Street but when we got there it was really really crowded and Aunt Chickie didn't want anything to do with the crowds. Instead, she suggested we go to an Italian restaurant. It was about 15 minutes away and it was called Nicola's. Apparently, she had gone there last weekend for her birthday dinner -- so she must like it!

We ate and had a nice lunch. I got the baked ziti.

After lunch, we went back to Aunt Chickie's house for a few minutes but Dan was itching to get home because he wanted to go to a baseball game tonight.

We left and headed home. There was a little bit of traffic but nothing too crazy. Dan got home just in time to get to the game and he left to meet Shawn at the Port Washington train station.

I took a bath/shower and watched an episode of GIRLS. I can't believe it -- I'm all caught up. I didn't realize I was getting that close to being current! Dan is going away next week for work and so I don't know what I'll watch now that I don't have that one anymore!

At 9:15, I started watching tonight's Homeland. It was the season finale! Everything was wrapped up -- I don't really know what to make of it. It was definitely a crazy twist ending and it'll be interesting to see where everything starts off next season. Meanwhile, I couldn't BELIEVE that the whole Franny thing was still going on. And everything with that Franny just drives me nuts. I hate that part of the storyline!

Dan's still at the game and I'm off to watch some Judge Judy and get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"day 5 - membership goals" - June 14, 2017
"designated bed time" or "day four of the quarantine" - April 13, 2017
"getting caught up" or "last acupuncture?" - April 12, 2017
"more mulch" or "membership frenzy" - April 11, 2017
"membership game strong" or "dan's cupping experience" - April 10, 2017

http://diaryland.com