Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 20, 2017 - 9:46 p.m.
"rub your stomach, touch your belly button"

Hey Journal!

Well today I have a weird story to tell for sure. As I was headed in to work today, Jackie texted me to say that her step-father could come up to the golf course later in the afternoon and examine me and my pain situation. I wasn't really sure what he was going to do, so I asked her what exactly he does! She didn't really give me an answer, but I figured what do I have to lose!?

He arrived around 4:30 and we went into Steve's office for some privacy. I told him my story and after I was done, he said he knew where to begin. I mean, I guess that's a good sign. He told me to stand in front of him, to spread my legs in a wide stance, and to put my left index finger just above my belly button. I did. It was a little odd. Then he told me to bend my knee a bit and turn my leg out. He told me to take my right hand and put the tip of my thumb against my pinky. He told me to lock them together. So I pushed hard to keep them tightly together. When my leg was turned out, he tried to pull them apart. He couldn't. I held them closed. Then, he told me to turn my leg in, instead. I did that, and he pulled again -- this time my fingers flew open. I couldn't keep them closed!

I thought it was strange at this point. I mean, what does turning my leg in or out have anything to do with my fingers being able to be closed? I didn't understand at all why those muscles would be related. He tried it a couple of times, and also asked me to do the same thing while I had my finger on my back instead of my belly button. Same results.

Then, he rubbed my stomach really hard for about 10 seconds. He rubbed up and down quickly. When he was done, he tried the same test again. This time, when my leg was turned in, I was able to hold the fingers closed. I was astonished. I mean, what had he done!? What did rubbing my stomach have anything to do with this!?

He explained that it was something "adrenal." He said that the muscle had been tensed and, to protect itself, it had shut itself down. He said that the rubbing of my stomach/back tells this system to give full power back to that muscle. It sorta switches it back on.

Believe me, I have never heard of anything like this and I was totally skeptical going into this. I had no idea what he was going to do or what the purpose of the test was by any means. I had no idea at all. So, whatever he did worked at least as far as clearing up that issue for some period of time. He said to do the rubbing myself for the next few days in the morning and the evening. Twice a day ONLY. No more. I don't know why.

There's something going on, and while I can't get my hopes up that this is the answer to my problems, it certainly is something new to try and it's not going to hurt, so I'm game. My mind is still blown about what happened, though.

Anyway, when I got to work I had a bunch of things to take care of. I was very very busy all day long... it was like non-stop.

For lunch today I had a little of the pasta that was out for the employee meal. The awning guy came in the afternoon to put up the awning and, of course, the paint was still went on it. What a disaster that was.

I got home around 5:30 and Dan was home all day. He had gotten back early from his trip to California and he actually got home before I left for work this morning. He went out for breakfast with his mom for her birthday and then came home to take a nap.

We got Domino's for dinner and then we watched last week' Shark Tank followed by 24 We took a little break while I showered up and got ready for bed and then we watched SHIELD!

Now I have a few random things to do before bed and then it's off to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
router swap - April 25, 2017
always something - April 24, 2017
"birthday party sunday" or "7-11 runs" - April 23, 2017
"our favorite home depot self checkout lady" - April 22, 2017
sausage (2) - April 21, 2017

http://diaryland.com