Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 21, 2017 - 10:01 p.m.
"color-walk" or "sunday sunburn"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up bright and early and I was NOT motivated to get out of bed at first.... I quickly got ready and we headed off to pick up Connor and Cameron from Linda's house. We arrived at about 9:00, Dan walked down to 7-11 to get some coffee, and then we hit the road and headed to the park for the big PTA Color Run.

Linda and Dan are in Mexico for a wedding and so Linda asked me and Dan to take them because they were really looking forward to going. We got to the park, found a parking spot, and then we walked over to the registration area. Linda had already registered us, but when we got to the table they said that they didn't have a shirt or bag for us because we had registered after the cut-off date. They said we'd get one at a later date, but that we didn't get one now. It wasn't really a big deal, it turned out not to matter so much anyway. I just feel like it's a little bit of a jip since most of the stuff they give you has no use other than on that one day!

So, we were checked in and we bought one bag of green powder to get us started! We threw it on eachother and then at 10:00, we all lined up for the "race." I put it in quotes because the lady on the microphone said "race" and then said..."no.... It's not a race.... It's a walk... don't run." So awkward!

Anyway, we lined up and they announced the beginning of the fun. We -ran- down the sidewalk and they threw lots of colors on us. Dan was asked to throw up some of the color in the beginning, so he paid special attention to us!

We made our way around the pathway. It wasn't very long, but it had about five different tables. We got covered pretty good! Connor got a bunch of blue powder all over his face and in his ears, to which he said, "Now I have a reason to pick my ears." I asked him why he needed a reason... and he said, "because otherwise it would just be weird." So.... I mean, I guess he's been wanting to do it fora while and this was his chance.

Cameron got a lot in her hair and all over her shirt and stuff. It was fun. After we made it around once, we decide to go around again. We got more and it was a really fun time.

When we were finished, they went on the playground for a while which was pretty good because I think a lot of the colored powder dispersed while they were running around. Meanwhile, Dan and I had done a Color Run several years ago and whatever powder they used today was SO MUCH BETTER.

The last time, the powder stained all of my clothes (I mean, I wore stuff I wasn't planning to get back -- but I'm just saying) It also ruined my sunglasses and shoes that time. This time, the powder was REALLY not bad. It came off when you patted your clothes and it didn't stain anything. I washed off some stuff and it was really easy!

I also liked that it was kinda short. It was nice to do our thing, get the color all over us, and then be done and not have a huge production!

We made our way to the car and Dan and I put sheets down to protect the seats. We brought some bed sheets and Linda's mom also gave us a plastic tablecloth. In the end, when we took the sheets off, their areas had no dust -- mine and Dan's had huge splotches!

We went back to Linda's, the kids showered up and Dan took a shower too. I did a little spot cleaning and washed my hair in the sink.

It was still so early. Once we were all cleaned up, we went out to get lunch at McDonald's. We ate and played a game on the back of the placemat -- you had to flip the chocolate milk cap to see which side it landed, then advance a certain number of spaces and do the thing it said on the space. As game pieces, Dan used a "little piece of meat" from his hamburger. Connor used a piece of a straw wrapper. I used a small piece of a fry, and Cameron had a little yellow piece of paper. We improvised.

It was actually surprisingly fun to play.

Next we went to Eisenhower Park, walked around the lake, and I got some Pokemon hunting in. I got a few ones I've been looking for.... and also made some progress on collecting candy! It is, after all, Adventure Week and 4x Candy for buddies.

We saw some turtles by the lake and then we went to Century 21. I wanted to look and see if they had any good clothes. I didn't see any, and somehow Connor, who didn't want to go there in the first place, left with luggage. He wanted this Pokemon suitcase that was on clearance, so we bought it for him.

When we left the store, we went to Wendy's to get Frostys.

Oh, and one more note...when we picked them up, Connor was off the wall! Linda's mom said she had just given him his medicine and that he should be calming down soon -- and in about 45 minutes or so he was sooooooo much calmer... it was like night and day, and possibly the biggest difference I've ever seen in his behavior!

Anyway, after our Wendy's trip, we went to Linda's mom's house. We dropped them off, filled them in on the whole day, and that was about 4:00.

We headed home after that and then took a walk around the neighborhood because it was such a nice day. It turned out to be much warmer than expected.

We got home, showered up, I did some laundry, and then we watched some TV. Meanwhile Dan told me that I had a sunburn on my neck. I do. I don't know how this happened! I'm always so careful! I wasn't even out in the sun that long but I guess it all added up. I put some aloe on it and hopefully it'll get better overnight!

We watched an old game show called "Now You See It" and then I ordered a new wallet online. My old one got a lot of purple coloring on it today but I cleaned it off -- but in cleaning it, it realized just how bad this wallet is. It pisses me off because it's relatively new and it has all holes in it. It's a piece of junk!

I found a new one online that gets great reviews and is relatively cheap. I then found a groupon and got it for half-off...so that's a good thing.

Now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"friday night diner and games" - May 27, 2017
"more and more pvc" or "rainy day" - May 25, 2017
"pvc project" or "po box renewal" - May 24, 2017
"adventure week almost over" or "another day of insanity at work" - May 23, 2017
"rainy day for an outing" or "bbc radio manchester" - May 22, 2017

http://diaryland.com