Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 10, 2017 - 11:37 p.m.
"more pool prep" or "80 degrees of summer"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 9:30 and did some random stuff around the house. Dan was out fishing with his dad... he got up around 4am to go out!

The first thing I wanted to do when I got up was check the pool and then work on fishing filling the cracks in the stairs going down to the basement. Of course, when I opened the back door I set off the alarm! Ugh!

I immediately texted Dan to let him know because they call him right away! He told them that everything was okay, so we avoided any unnecessary drama! I've never set the alarm off before when I was home by myself so there was quite the stress that the police were going to come! I was also worried because Dan was out on the water fishing and I thought he might not have any cell phone service! Luckily, that was not that case.

So, I finally got outside and got to work on the stairs. I finished filling the cracks and it looks pretty good.

Since it was a nice day out and pretty warm, I decided to turn on the solar heater for the pool. This was the first time for the season so I wanted to make sure everything was running properly. Of course, it was not. It seemed to start up well at first but then I noticed some leaks over by the drain caps. One cap had a small crack in it so water was shooting out and the other cap, the o-ring was all broken and stuff, so water was leaking through.

We had plans to go to breakfast with my Grandma for my Grandpa's birthday at 11:30, so I hurried up to get ready for that and Dan was going to meet us there. My Grandma called me at 11:10 and asked if we were there yet, and I told her we would be there soon.

When I arrived, she said she thought we had said 11:00. We hadn't... YEsterday she told me AND Dan separately that we were meeting at 11:30! It was no big deal.... when I arrived they were sitting on a bench waiting for us and then Dan arrived shortly after me.

We had a nice breakfast to continue the 90th Birthday celebration at Javier's!

When we were done with breakfast, Dan and I stopped off at Leslie's to get two replacement caps for the pool. Then, we came home and installed them. I put the pool lube on the o-rings and then screwed the caps on. Problem solved! No more leakage!

Then, Dan took a sample of the pool water and we went BACK to Leslie's to get it tested. Turns out we needed to get the alkalinity up, so we bought a large pail of "Alkalinity Up."

We put that into the pool when we got back and then Dan started weeding along the fence. There's a lot to be done but he got about 1/4 of it finished. He started to feel overwhelmed from the heat so he stopped after that.

Today was a pretty productive day because next, we patched the holes in the concrete around the pool. There were two big holes and one little one. We bought the filler mix last year and never got around the ding it. It was pretty easy -- we must mixed it up and then spread it into the hole. It looks pretty good -- I mean, it's not perfect but it looks much better than it did before.

We came inside after that, watched some Parenthood and then we went out to Target, Home Depot, and the Outlets!

On the way home we decided to go to Carrabba's for dinner. I got the pork chop this time... it was pretty good. I may be the best alternative to the dearly departed Red Lobster pork chop!

We had a $5 reward and also bought some certificates online, saving us an additional 15+%!

When we got home, we watched more Parenthood and then I took a shower. Now it's just about time to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"physical therapy" or "vacation starts now" - June 14, 2017
"neurologist" or "gabapentin" - June 14, 2017
"burning the evening oil" or "perfect weather" - June 13, 2017
"kicked out of the club" or "another doctor visit" - Juen 12, 2017
"packing" or "finally summer" - June 11, 2017

http://diaryland.com