Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 03, 2017 - 11:45 p.m.
extra vaganza

Hey Journal!

Wow! It's hard to believe that another year's Extravaganza has come and gone! It's actually incredible how good of a turnout we had this year! The weather was absolutely terrible this morning and I was not expecting much of an event at all!

So, Dan and I got up around 10:00 and we got ready to go. We planned to leave here at 11. It was overcast and not very nice outside, but it wasn't really raining all that much. Dan and I said that we thought most people would look outside and decide not to come!

We left home and made a few stops at some Pokemon Gyms along the way! I needed to get some coins today... I had nothing pending!

Originally we had planned to get something to eat on the way in but we couldn't decide what we wanted and then just gave up. We got to work at about 12:00 and parked all the way down in the maintenance area. We walked back and then headed down to the office to get things going.

Re had come in early to get the closes done and pay some bills. Dan and I got a few things prepared and then we looked up into the camera and saw that it was teeming outside!

It was CRAZY! At this point, I was really starting to get worried that nobody was going to want to come!

The event started at 3:00 and the rain cleared out at 2. It was unreal. We got everything set up so quickly... and even then I was expecting a reduced crowd because of the weather!

It turned out to be a great day! The ground dried out and the skies turned blue and people started to arrive. It was wild. We had a busy day at the check-in table. Re and Dan took control of the table and I was available to help when it got crazy.

Around 3:00, Megan arrived with her boyfriend Billy/Kevin and their friend Jeff to set up the fireworks! I took a ride with them in the big U-Haul truck out to the site where we light off the fireworks!

I spent the day coordinating the front table and later on in the afternoon, Dan and I brought some food out to Meghan and her cohorts to keep them happy and well-fed! In retrospect, we definitely brought them too much food! They didn't even eat half of what we delivered!

In the 20 minutes we were away from the table, one of the assistants from the Golf Shop came to the table with his family. Re said that they would need to speak to me because she didn't have the authority to give them wristbands.

They refused to wait and left in a huff. Re was upset because she didn't want to get in trouble for having done something wrong but I told her that she did the right thing. She didn't tell them no, she told them to come see me and they chose not to. I also don't think it's right that employees try to bring their families for free but that's a different story. If I had been there and I had spoken to them, I would have let them in. But it was a matter of waiting less than 20 minutes. Also, he had been there all day working... he knew where Dan's dad was out in the back and he knew where his boss was. He could have gone to ask either of them and he chose not to. Re did the right thing and even though he got all pissy about it, I am backing up her decision.

We started the grand fireworks show at 8:05. It was really good this year and they threw in some extra BANG for our buck! The perks of knowing the fireworks techs!

After it was over, we went out to thank them and we were there when they set off the remaining two fireworks that hadn't gone off. I was only a couple hundred feet away when it went off and it is some loud bang... you can feel it! It's wild.

Afterwards we hung out inside with my mom and had some drinks. We were there until about 10:30 and we got home around 11:30.

It totally doesn't feel like it's this early... it feels like it should be 3am! I took a shower as soon as we got home and now we're about to head off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"houlihan's and halloween costumes" - September 08, 2017
dust bowl - September 07, 2017
neck itch - September 06, 2017
all that's necessary... - September 05, 2017
labor day 2017 - September 04, 2017

http://diaryland.com