Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 29, 2017 - 10:30 p.m.
"smoke detector replacement call" or "good cookies"

Hey Journal!

Today was a really rainy and stormy day!

This morning Dan and I got up around 10:00 and our plan was to relax and stay around the house as much as possible today. We figured we had been pretty busy since we got home from our trip and today would be a good day to get back our energy before another work week!

We caught up on a bunch of TV shows we had to watch and then I got a call from my Grandma. She said that her smoke detector kept beeping and she wanted to know if I could come over and replace the battery. I said I would be over in about an hour or so, and Dan and I finished watching our show and then got ready to head out.

We wanted to go to Price Club as well, so we factored that into our plans. When we arrived, I took the old smoke detector off of the ceiling and replaced the batteries. It kept beeping, so I looked at the little sticker on the back. The beep pattern indicated that the Carbon Monoxide sensor was no longer working and that the whole thing needed to be replaced. It was installed in 2010, so it lasted about 7 years.

Since we wanted to go to Price Club anyway, we figured we'd go there to get the replacement. My grandma offered to make us spaghetti for lunch so we headed out and she asked us to pick up a loaf of bread, and AA batteries for her, too.

We got to Price Club and we were really surprised to find out that they only sell smoke detectors and separate Carbon Monoxide detectors. We asked at customer service and she confirmed they do not sell the combination ones. Weird.

We got a big pack of AA batteries, french bread, and some cookies for dessert. For ourselves, we got some shampoo and a few other necessities.

After that, we headed over to Lowe's to get the smoke detector. I wanted to go to Home Depot but it was too far and we were in a hurry because my Grandma said she was making spaghetti and it would be ready soon.

When we got back, my mom had arrived home from her weekend getaway. I took down the old detector and replaced it with the new one. The good thing about these new ones is that they are supposed to last for ten years and they have no battery replacement! Of course, that means that after ten years you have to buy a completely new detector but I suppose you're supposed to be doing that anyway!

The spaghetti was ready shortly after we got back and we ate. After we finished, my Uncle and Ryan came by. Then shortly after, Eric showed up, and then my Aunt. We had dessert -- the cookies Dan and I bought at Price Club, and everyone loved them! They were so good! They were those little cookies with colored sprinkles on top and they were amazing.

We hung around for a while after we ate and then we left around 2:45.

We came home and watched some programs and relaxed for the rest of the day!

Now it's time for bed and I am not prepared for a full week of work! On the positive side, it's going to be a pretty quiet week because, for the most part, I'll be all alone in the office!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"stranger golf course things" or "kristens birthday (observed)" - November 04, 2017
big leak: kitchen edition - November 02, 2017
"follow up appointment" or "40mg" - November 01, 2017
happy halloween 2017 - October 31, 2017
all by myself: a day to catch up - October 30, 2017

http://diaryland.com