Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 02, 2017 - 11:09 p.m.
"hangin' with gilbert and preston" or "birthday breakfast and birthday dinner"

Hey Journal!

Today was a fully packed day! We had something going on from the minute we got up until just a few minutes ago went we got home!

So, today is my mom's 61st birthday! The day started off with a trip to IHOP to celebrate. Dan and I picked my Grandma and Grandpa up just before 9am and then headed to the restaurant. My mom and Jerry were already there and my Aunt Karen met us.

We first sat in a booth but my Grandma told the waitress "this is terrible" and we moved to a table. The table had a little more room but it was also really hot because we were right under the vents! I took a photo of my mom for Snapchat and my mom told me that she was turning 62 today! Shortly after, she told someone else that she was 61 and so I questioned this. Turns out she's really 61 and just me the wrong thing...so my Snapchat was incorrect!

I got the Build Your Own Breakfast and because i was really craving the cupcake pancakes. I had never had them before but they looked good. AND THEY WERE. I was so happy with my decision. I think I may be straying from the 2x2x2 from now on.

Anyway, we all had a nice breakfast although my Grandma didn't like the waitress very much. She was a little cold but that may have had to do with us moving tables, asking a million questions, and just generally being an annoying table.

We finished up and headed back after that. Our next activity for the day was watching JC's kids while she went to a shower. We had to be there at 11:15 and we had a little time to kill so my Grandma asked me to help her set up her mini Christmas tree. I took up some other decorations from the basement and my Grandma gave me the Santa head with yarn beard that always hung on the stairs AND Santa Legs!

We looked at the clock and realized it was 11:09 and that we had only 6 minutes to get to JC's! We hurried out and I forgot the items I was supposed to take with me but we arrived at JCs at 11:16! Phew!

JC and Gil were going to a shower in Northport and they asked us to watch the kids from 11:15 - 6pm! When we arrived, Gilbert and Preston were excited. JC said they had been counting down the time until we got there! As soon as JC left we went into the playroom and they showed us their Nerf guns and some Beyblades. Then we went to Preston's room to see his rock collection and whoopie cushions. He also has a collection of metal and a collection of cardboard!

They're both such good kids but it's funny how different Gilbert and Preston are. Gilbert is a little more serious and Preston is quirky and knows he's funny. He has a metal plate and he loves it. He also says he loves watching people die in movies.

We came back downstairs after that and Gilbert wanted to play Minecraft and a race car game on XBOX. We played the race car game first and we each took turns to see who did the bst. I won! Wahoo. Then, when we played Minecraft, Gilbert and Preston played for a little while and then Gilbert said he didn't like the game. Which was interesting because he was the one who wanted to play it in the first place!

Then he put in a shooter game and he didn't want to shoot any of the people because he said he was scared!

Around 1:00, we decided to take a walk. We walked all the way to Lake Avenue and went to 7-11. Gilbert wanted to get hot chocolate and Preston got a Gatorade. As we walked down the street, there was a metal S hook on the road and Preston was so excited. He said he was going to bring it home for his metal collection! And he did.

We got back to the house around 2:00 and we watched a few videos on YouTube, Gilbert showed us his YouTube channel, and we watched some Carbonaro Effect. He had never seen it and really liked it.

We played with Play Doh and then we ordered a pizza from Patio and Dan went to pick it up. When he got back, we ate and then we played some more Play Doh, watched some more Carbonaro, and then it was magic trick time!

Gilbert wanted to make Preston disappear under a blanket and it was hysterical. They kept doing it over and over and over and Preston either wouldn't do what Gilbert told him to do in order to disappear OR after it was over, Preston would reveal the trick by telling us exactly what he had done! It was great.

It's wild because the seven hours went by SOOO quickly! At first I was worried that we weren't going to know what to do to keep occupied that whole time but it was super quick! Gilbert was sad when we only had an hour left!

JC and Gil got home around 6:00 and we talked to them for a little while. They had a good time at the party and Gilbert and Preston did a magic trick for them! JC was impressed -- she said they've never done that before! Dan says we inspire creativity!

When we left, we headed home and we arrived around 6:30. We had only a very short time at home because we had plans to go for dinner for my mom's birthday to Pumpernickel's! There's a lot of confusion about the apostrophe. One some signs it has one, some signs it doesn't. The one thing that drove me crazy was that the sign said "Closed Monday's" UGH!

Anyway, my mom picked us up in her loaner car because she's getting her car fixed and then we went to dinner. Tonight I got the beef goulash and I think I liked the Weinerschnitzel better but this was still really good!

We had a nice time and then afterwards we came back, made a tray of cookies, and I put a candle in them to sing Happy Birthday!

So, it's been a fun-filled day and now we're off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
#spreadjoy - December 09, 2017
annual dom day - December 07, 2017
tossing and turning - December 05, 2017
"one-time bump" or "christmas card faker" - December 05, 2017
soup on the back burner - December 04, 2017

http://diaryland.com