Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 16, 2003 - 12:45 a.m.
meeting with the director.

Hey Journal...

Quite the things went down today.. let me clue you in...

be prepared, this is a long one.. I think....

First off, I woke up at around 11:30 and took a shower and got ready for my History final. I thought it was going to be horrible and gross, but it turned out that I was able to write a lof of stuff. It was all essays, no multiple choice, and the words just kept flowing out of me! LOL I don't know where they all came from. I can't wait to get my grade back!

Anyway, I got home from my final at about 3:45, and I saw that my grandma had taken a phone message.

It said "Brian. Main Branch, 5:00, meeting with Peter Ward." I was like "OH MY GOD!!" Ipicked up the phone and called Taryn, Debbie, Jen, Kristen, Erin, Kim, everyone.. I was dying! I had no idea what was gonna go down. Debbie told me.. It'll all be good, he just wants to talk it over, go tell him exactly what you think!" Then she called her friend Kim from the Main branch and told her all the news. LOL (I love how we have a whole chain of library gossip.)

Anyway, I went to Smithtown.. I was worried.. I got there and went to the Circ desk. I talked to Vivien and Kim, and told them all about it, and how I was nervous! They said, "This is gooooood!" I talked to Julie too. I finally got myself up there, and they told me to wait in the staff room until PW was ready. Then Mrs. Wiskoff came in and sat down with me. She was like "I hope they call us in soon!" I was so surprised that she was going to be in this meeting. (She didn't say anything in there... but I'm kinda glad she was there because she's someone I can trust, and someone I feel comfortable with...so it helped ease the tension of being in there alone.)

They called us in, and Peter Ward sat behind his desk, Bob Goykin was on the right of me, Mrs. Wiskoff on the left, and Linda Taurassi sat off on the side and took minutes of the meeting. (It was intense.)

He said "We recieved your letter, and I'd like to go over it line by line, and you can explain it as we go.." That sounded good.. not too bad. So we get to the first line.. "this raises questions about my application and its value to the Smithtown Library" He said, "Could you explain that?" I said, "Yes.. I've had my applications in for this position for just about a year now, and I've seen people come and go from outside of the library, and never once has my application been considered."

We went on... the major points were..."It is inconcievable that the staffing needs would have changed so drastically over this period of time." He asked me, "have you ever been part of an upper level staffing meeting in which these matters were discussed." I had to say "no." He then asked "As a page..what makes you think that you would have the knowledge of the information necessary to make this decision."

Anyway, one of my favorite parts was when he got to the part of the letter about how he never returned my phone calls. First he started by saying how busy they were in the Administration office. Then he asked me, Who is your boss? Mrs. Blackburn; Who is her supervisor? Mrs. Moser; Who is her Supervisor? Mrs. Wiskoff; and if Mrs. Wiskoff isn't available...who does she answer to? Mrs. Fisher? He said...FAVORITE LINE.... "The librarian in charge of your building if Mrs. Wiskoff is unavailable is Mrs. D'Esposito." He said, "Do you take directives from Mrs. D'Epsosito? I said, "MRS. DISPIRITO? Yes." I CAN NOT BELIEVE HE MIS-PRONOUNCED HER NAME!! HE WENT ON TO DO THAT THE NEXT THREE TIMES HE MENTIONED HER!! HOW'S THAT FOR LOOKING LIKE AN ASS!!! HAHAHA

Anyway, he was like "You bypassed all of those people in the chain of command, and what makes you think that I should have been handling this matter?" I said, "Well, on the Position Vacancy posting sheet, it says that applications should be submitted to the director's office. So, I figured if I was submitting the application to you, I should direct questions about it to you as well." I love the way I make perfect sense. :)

One more thing that Julie pointed out to me, that I should have realized when he asked me that is that... THOSE are the people, AND the chain of command for MY CURRENT JOB. I'm applying for a new job, and anyone else from outside the library who was applying and had a question would have to go through him.. Not Blackburn, Wiskoff, Moser..anyone else. He's so dumb.

Anyway, there was more, but the basic gist of the story was that he was so taken by the fact that I wrote this letter to him. He looked at me with the NASTIEST "I HATE YOU, I DESPISE YOU, HOW DARE YOU SEND THIS LETTER" looks that I have ever seen. He was so absolutely mad....irate.

Then he moved on to my second letter, which asked Mrs. Taurassi to send me a copy of the Terms of Employment as a page. He asked me, "You mean to tell me, you've worked here three years and don't know these things?" I said, "No, I understand them, I just wanted them to be typed up in writing for my records, because I've never recieved anything like it." He, again, didn't have anything to say to that. He handed me these two OUTDATED papers (Dated December 1990) Describing the duties of pages, and the pretty much NOTHING that I asked for. Anyway, He thanked me for coming, I was nice and thanked them all for their time, and left.

He asked Mrs. Wiskoff to stay, along with Bob Goykin, so they could "discuss where to go from here."

Anyway, I got outta the meeting, and just kinda leaned against the wall in the stairway to the business office. I was soooo upset over the whole thing.. But I held up so well! I really did a good job in that office!

I talked to Julie for about 30 mins, and then I decided to go back to Nesconset. I waved to Kim S. (Debbie's friend) as I left, and later she went to ask Julie how I was. (again, the library chain of gossip! LOL, Then she called Debbie to let her know!) So great. Anyway, I called Taryn and told her all the details.. It was bad.

Peter Ward could have handled this situation in a few different ways. The way he SHOULD have handled it was by saying, "I got your letter, I understand how you feel, I'm sorry but these were our decisions, We'll keep your application on file.." You know, the nice...blow you off tactfully speach. INSTEAD, he picked the.. 'I'm gonna put you in your place...how dare you write me a letter, and then send it to the board!' attitude.

I realized today, more than ever what an absolute fucking asshole bastard that man is. He is not Director material. He is afraid of the board, and that's the only reason we had that meeting today. He's afraid of the shit that's gonna hit the fan when they see what a loser he really is. And maybe I got a good yelling at today through that meeting, but I'm so glad it happened, in retrospect becuse, whatever I decide to do, Stay at the library, not stay at the library, he needs to be questioned. His actions need to be examined, and his deplorable and impersonable behavior has to be brought to the attention of the Library Board. He's in for some surprise. Cause what can they do to me? Deny me the job that they weren't giving me anyway? HAHA! See? I have nothing to lose, because can they fire me for writing a letter? I think not? And if they tried it...They'd be sued so fast they wouldn't know what hit them!

I told Debbie, and Mrs. Blackburn the entire story when I got back to Nesconset. They agreed with me, and both said it was good that I let him know exactly what I thought. They thought it was horrible the way he treated me.

Later, at Nesconset..I found out that Ward had called Mrs. Wiskoff early in the day, and said we have to have a meeting. She called my house and left a message with my Grandma. Mrs. Wiskoff asked Peter Ward, "Is this good or bad?" He said, "VERY BAD" HAHAHAHA. Anyway, all of the people at Nesconset were worried for me, and hoping that everything was ok. They had no idea what this was about, they had no idea about the letter. ANd I just want to say how much I appreciate them. They are all so caring and wonderful, and basically they are NOTHING like the administration. :)

Where am I going from here? Tomorrow I am going to ask Mrs. Wiskoff to get me a copy of the Minutes that the secretary had taken of the meeting. I want it 'for my records.' :) Then I'm going to ask her about that ridiculous 1990 paper that Ward gave me.

It has been told to me, although I'm not supposed to know... That Peter Ward wants to meet with Mrs. Blackburn, Mrs. Moser, and Mrs. Wiskoff next week, regarding this whole issue. That's absolutely absurd becuase they have nothing to do with this! What is he going to tell them? Tell them that they should have controlled me? Tell them they shouln't have let me write the letter? What the heck do they have to do with that? None of this has anything to do with them.. It was ME..and HIM..and THE BOARD!

ANYWAY... I'll be sure to keep ya posted on that front.. But for now let's talk about the rest of the night...

I went to watch the Eclipse, but the clouds blocked the sun. Jen, JC, Re, Matt, Lau, and I, said in the cars for a while and then we were joined by Kristen, Liz, and Alyssa! Matt, Re, JC, and Lau went to Wendy's and me and Jen waited with Kristen Liz and Lyz.

They called us later, and told us they werent coming back...so we left and went to the diner. It was quite the fun event. I got my usual GAC and we had a party in the place.

On the way out, some random guys won a Rugrats stuffed thing out of the claw machine and gave it to Liz. It was so amazing! LOL

Anyway, we partied it up in the parking lot, and then called it a night!

Wow.

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com