Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 12, 2004 - 11:13 p.m.
"vanderbilt planetarium" or "nesconset day"

Hey there Journal-

How art thou? Today I did many fun things, so be prepared for a description of fun and excitement below!

I woke up around 10, and took a shower, ate breakfast, did all of those wonderful things!

I went to pick up Dan to go to the Vanderbilt Museum. We went on our way. Beforehand, we had been assured that the show we were going to see would be the one where the rain came down.. So I was quite excited about that!

We went in, and what a ghetto operation! We bought our tickets, and then were about to get a map, but the girl said, "We've been out of those...for the past year." Woops! Then the fire alarm started to go off, so the kid working there said, "That's the fire alarm," (In a very tour-guide-ish tone) "We have to evacuate the building now." So weird.

So we left, walked around..went down and looked at the pitiful museums, which consist mainly of animals and fish in glass jars! It's kinda gross actually! The place is nice, and the Grounds could be a lot nicer. It has a great view of the Sound, and lots of property. I took some pics, but I don't have my camera right now, so I can't post them yet.

My favorite thing was a sign posted next to the giant rotating moon structure. It read,
"PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH THE MOON"
SOOO random!! I loved it! I want a sign in my room that says that!

So we walked around a while, and waited for the show to start. There was this lady there who was so excited while buying her tickers, "We're gonna have a great time today!" Aww, it was touching. Then we saw her again later at the "Hall of Fish" (Another one of my favorite signs, which I do have a picture of.) She said she wasn't going to walk up the stairs....in fact, she said it about 5 or 6 times! Then, one of the kids she was with yells down, "Are you gonna come up?" and she says, "Yep, Just a second!"
Okayyyyy, you JUST told us you weren't because of your bad knees!

Anyway, we saw the show in the Planetarium, and it was cool, it was all about stars in the galaxy and the Hubble Telescope.. BUT there was no RAIN!! Which is the whole reason I wanted to go there! So beast! They completely messed with my mind there!

So let's see....we left there and went back toward home..

One thing from earlier that I must menion is that we passed a Fleet bank that had ALL of its signs changed to BANK OF AMERICA already, BUT they had the BOA signs COVERED with plastic banners that said FLEET. I guess they're not ready to unveil it yet!

So anyway we went to the wonderful NESCONSET DAY, held in Nesconset Plaza. It was completely dull, and didn't have enough free things, but for some reason, I loved it anyway. There's something about community functions that just make me so happy. I dunno, maybe it's seeing all of these people out at once, on a nice warm day, enjoying themselves in a very 'community-like' atmosphere, or maybe it's that it's the only day that you can walk in the middle of Smithtown Blvd. and not get plowed by oncoming traffic!

One or the other, Nesconset Day brings joy to my heart. And if you ask me, there should be a parade or something, to commemorate and acknowledge the schools and organizations in our town. I mean, It is the Big N afterall!

After we had finished with Nesconset Day, we went to the Italian Ice Place. We told the man that we had seen ices at the festival thing, but had to come to his store. He said "Thank you" and told us that he appreciates loyal customers by saying, "I appreciates loyal customers." He genuinely seemed happy that we chose his store over the easier and more convenient one, that was already set up at the plaza. But they do have the best ice, and they are the nicest people. (The one thing I have to say though, is that man should not be wearing Tommy jean shorts that go past the knee. He's just a little too old for that.)

Anyway, we went back to Dan's and watched some SportsNight! It was grand. I then came home for a bit, did some things around the house, and then went back for dinner. We all went out to Gasho, and we sat with a strange man and woman who talked about boats and football, and the man kept telling us that he's a Diesel Mechanic. Wow, I'm impressed. Then, when I put the customary ice cube onto the Hibatchi to melt, the lady (who looked like one tough cookie) started hitting it with her chop sticks, and told me we were going to play Ice Hockey! LOL So random.. they were nice, but quite strange. But hey, they were no Barry, Nancy, Nancy, and Dennis.

So as it were, we returned to Dan's...watched the end of the "Pepsi Play for a Billion" game show, and then I departed for home.

Tomorrow is work at 9, and probably all day. I think I have Mondays off from school from now on! How exciting is that!

My final thought before I leave you tonight is that my AIM will probably not be on for the next few days becuase I'm working on upgrading/changing some router issues, so I'll go online to update the journal, and do some things, but then turn it back off after I'm done, so that I can work on hooking this up a different way! It should be interesting! *Sidenote.. I can't wait to network Dan's house!!! AHHH Routers and Network cable... I'll be in heaven!

WE ALL KNOW I LOVE NETWORK CABLE!!

At with that, I bid you all a pleasant evening, and a wonderous day tomorrow...

Goodnight.:)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com