Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 12, 2004 - 1:07 a.m.
"dan's big move: part one" or "set in cement"

Hola Journal!

Today I woke up at about 12:45. Uncle Thomas had left by then, and things around the house were returing to normal!

Mother was off from work becuase of Colombus Day, and I didn't have school because I don't have school on Mondays, Dan had class today, however. I took a shower, and got ready to go out, and Dan came over to pick me up at about 2:00.

I took many soda bottles with me, and then we went to Dan's to get his, we then went to Waldbaums in Smithtown to redeem the bottles. I had $3.20.. Dan had more.

After our bottle redemption we went over to Frank's Nursey for some shopping delight... They're going out of business and claim to have "huge savings" although their savings aren't any too good, and they have signs up that say "Now Hiring Seasonal Help" Which tells me that they are not closing any time soon, and I suspect some better sales will follow as they actually near their closing.

Next, we were hungry, so we went to Friendly's for some lunch. They replaced the lettering on the front of the building with these HUGE red letters that look crazy! The old white ones were so much better, but of course they had to replace them after it only said "riendly". The scary balloon man was there, and I did not enjoy seeing him. I had some yummy soup and a Grilled Cheese, and all was well.

We left and went to Dan's house where we inspected his bed (to see what was wrong with the broken bar underneath.) There seem to be lots of broken wooden pieces in the box spring, and also the metal frame of the bed is snapped.

We went to Home Depot to see if we could get a block of wood (the size of a small square tissue box) to hold the metal beam up, becuase it's really the best soultion for the problem. They didn't have anything helpful, so instead we bought 60 pounds of cement mix, to make a block.

We then took a little trip across the street to look at the Storage Facility that Dan's fam has for keeping the stuff that had been in the basement! It was so cool! You enter the codes, and the lights go on automatically, and you unlock the sliding door things, and wow! It's great!

We then departed and went back to his house where we mixed the cement. It was quite the experience. We found a bucket and weighed 20 pounds of cement mix, becuase we certainly didn't need it all! We divided the water necessary for the whole bag, and then added it in to the bucket. We stirred it for a while, and come out with something quite like cement. We took the original tissue box, which was our inspiration for the block, and filled it with cememnt! We needed something to keep it from bulging out as it was filled, so we made a little wooden thing, to hold it in place! As the night went on we kept checking on it, and it seemed to be solidifying nicely!

I know, who makes cement in their backyard for random things like this.. But believe me, it was amazingly fun. You should try it!

So then, we hung out for a while, and Dan's mom ordered Takeout from Outback. Dan and I shared the Outback Special, and it was yummy steak with a baked potato. And man, did I devour the Bloomin' Onion! It was amazing! I ate soooo much of it!

We also set up Dan's old phone that I bought him for his dorm room, in the basement. It's cool...It has a cool ring, and lights up all nice, and also tells you when there are messages waiting! It's spiffy!

After Dinner Dan gave his dad a book taht he got him for his birthday, (today was his Birthday), and Dan's mom and brother got him a hedge trimmer thingy. Quite cool.

We then began moving some of Dan's things, inclusing the Nightstand, and some random items, downstairs to his new room. It was quite hard to convince him that we should start, and I really don't think he wants to leave his old room, and move to a new one. I mean, I totally understand that, because, look at me.. I mean, I always said I wanted the room at the end of the hall, cause it's 2x bigger than mine, but the truth is...I would never want to give up my room, let alone rearrange it! I have such a problem parting with it. It's so great.. especially my plaid wallpaper! I have grown to love it like no other, and I am certainly not looking to change it! I would feel sad If I had to move to a new room, and set it up all over again, and just..move "my room" from where it's been for SOOOOOO long!

Anyway, we got a little stuff set up down there, and then started to organize the things in his room. The rest of the move is to continue at the next available date for such.

After that, I came home because I had to watch a movie for my Film class tomrorow..... Carey Grant's "His Girl Friday." It was presented in Glorious Black and White.

I watched all of it, and I must say it was a pretty good movie, considering. The movie was funny, and had a good story.. Some parts were a little long, but didn't drag. It was cool they way they had some really fast shots and shot changes, I liked it.. and I wish they'd do it more often in movies today. I also enjoyed how they talked over eachother a lot, a lot of confusing conversation going on at the same time, and you really had to grasp what you wanted to pay attention to, and follow it.

Anyway, I am done with the movie now, and tomorrow I have school at 12:50, a test in my Film Class, on God know's what material. We just listen to him babble on and on day after day, and I don't even own the books, but who knows, I think I might actually do well, the stuff he talks about may be testable, and not too hard since I've been to all the classes, and seen all the films!

Now, I must go to bed, but before I do I would like to proclaim my love for CapitalNew9. If only I could get a direct feed of it to my room! I love it, and would move to the Capital region just to watch it every single day. News 12 can go die in a corner somewhere, CapitalNews9 is the best thing since sliced bread and pompous admiral's uniforms!

And now, I bid you all a happy evening, and dreams of this weekend when Kristen brings the joy and excitement home as she journeys back from Siena to bask in the glow of the Bull.

Time for bed...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com