Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 23, 2004 - 12:17 a.m.
"two years of journal - happy birthday" or "spooky walk"

Hey Journal!

First off, I have to start by saying HAPPY SECOND BIRTHDAY TO MY JOURNAL! Two years old today, and still alive and kicking! More to come..following today's details!

Today was an extremely fun and eventful day, so I am so glad to have so much to write about on my Second Anniversary entry!

Here we go.... I woke up this morning at about 1:00, got up, ate breakfast, and sat around a bit. I had a haircut appointment for 2:30, so I got dressed and off I went. It was over quickly, and I returned to take a shower and get ready for the day.

I went outside to the Phone box, which is attached to the side of the house, because we were having a problem with strange clicking on the line. I tested the phone with the little test port thing, and it seemed to be okay. I tightened some things up, and then the phones in the house were all better! WOO HOO!

Anyway, after that, Dan came and collected me.. we went back to his house because he had just gotten his new TV delivered! We went down, and set up his new Carbon Monoxide/Smoke Detector! It's pretty cool, and it TALKS, too! "Warning...Carbon Monoxide!" or "Fire! Fire!" So Crazy!!!

The TV is amazing! It's huge and FLAT! To help you with the visual, I have included a picture:

We played with it, and got it all set up, and it's so amazingly cool! I love it, and I can't wait till the couch arrives so we can watch movies there! Woo Hoo!

We also assembled the table for the room. It wasn't very hard.. just a few screws. The basement is really coming together!

BIG NEWS
Remember that whole IHOP Saga from when we were visiting Kristen at school? Well, I wrote the letter to both IHOP and the Albany Board of Health concerning the smell of sewage at the table we were seated at. I still have not heard back from IHOP concerning the matter, but today I got a letter from The ALBANY COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH!!!! :)

The letter, shown below, states that "pursuant to [my] letter and photo" they opened a complaint regarding the matter. They performed an inspection of the restaurant!! "Based upon the results of this inspection, it was determined that the source of these odors was from an improperly capped sanitary sewer cleanout which is located in the dining area of the facility." They required that the problem be fixed, and I certainly hope that IHOP received some sort of violation for this.

I have two things to say about that situation. FIRST is that when I told the Manager that I wanted the contact information for the Board of Health, She told me, "The Board of Health inspects this restaurant every month, we do not have any violation." Well...
Ms. I-wear-too-much-makeup Lois, APPARENTLY they didn't notice the SEWAGE Flowing under the table in the corner!! SO NEXT TIME YOU THINK IT'S OKAY TO SEAT CUSTOMERS AT A TABLE WITH THE STENCH OF DECAYING FILTH, AND NOT EVEN BOTHER TO APOLOGIZE, THINK AGAIN!!! FREAK!!!

SECOND, another thought for my dear friend Lois... JUST BECAUSE I'M 20-SOMETHING, AND I HAVE A COMPLAINT ABOUT YOUR RESTAURANT DOESN'T MEAN I SHOULDN'T BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY. I ASKED FOR THAT NUMBER AND YOU TREATED US LIKE SHIT. IF YOU THINK THAT'S OKAY TO DO TO ANY CUSTOMER, YOU ARE SADLY MISTAKEN. AND IF YOU HAD HANDLED THE SITUATION WITH COURTESY LIKE A GOOD MANAGER WOULD HAVE, YOU WOULDN'T HAVE HAD AN ALBANY COUNTY BOARD OF HEALTH INSPECTOR UP YOUR ASS! So the moral of the story is, don't think that I'm just gonna forget about something because I'm a college kid. You have a responsibility to do they right thing for ALL of your customers, and I WILL make sure that it happens, whenever I have the chance!

Now that I've vented and got that out of the way...here's a smaller version of the letter I received.

Man, do I feel good. Now all I'm waiting for is the letter from IHOP. You have some apologizing to do. HAHAAH!

-----------------------

So, back to my day.....

Dan and I left his house, and headed over towards Liz. She was not answering her phone, but we arrived at the Pinto Homestead to collect her anyway! She got ready and we chatted it up with Mama Pinto! Good times!

We then departed. We stopped at Best Buy in Patchogue to get a surge protector for Dan's new TV, and then went to McDonald's! Next it was off to SpookyWalk!

We got there, and it was PACKED! So many cars! We had to park rather far away and walk in! We got in, waited in line, and proceeded through!

It was really fun. It wasn't all TOO scary, but I had an absolutely great time. Spooky walk is so much fun, and I've loved it ever since the first time my cousins and I went so many years ago! It's just so great, and so fun to walk through the woods and all, and those bunk things! So cool!

The best part was the "Psycho Circus"!! I loved the clown things, and this big clown that was all cute on one side and then beasty on the other! It was soooo great! (We went through that one TWICE!!)

All-in-all, it took 1 hour and 15 mins to walk through once, and then counting the second time we went to that one thing, it was an hour and a half adventure! I love Spooky Walk! :)

After we were done, I got some sweet corn at the little food stand, and then we went on our way. We stopped at a Bank of America in Shirley to deposit our monies. This BOA was amazing. It wasn't a Fleet converted to BOA, it was a brand new Bank..build just to be a Bank of America! It had a crazy glass enclosed ATM vestibule, which apparently folds up during the day to be part of the lobby! While we were using the ATMs, the BOA jingle music started to play, and it was such an amazing experience. I took many pictures to document this exciting place, but the one below is a general outside overview of the experience!

Some might think this would be the end of the night.. but indeed it was not! We drove back toward home, and went to the McDonald's in St. James to see Liz's sister. We went to the drive-up and spoke with her for a bit, and then drove off. We parked it at the St. James train station for a few mins, when we saw a little school bus drive up, stop, wait, and drive away. We decided to follow. It went down to 25A and off to the Stony Brook station, where a bunch of strange people got off! It was crazy.. as Liz called it.. the "Bus of Minorities"! It was so funny. Next it went to the Port Jeff station, and each time the driver pulled over and looked at a map for a long time! It was so strange. We beat it to the PJ station, BTW, by using side streets! The man must have realized we were following him after a while. Oh yeah, it's also interesting to mention that there was a white Jeep following the bus for a little while, and it had Official license plates. Who knows! It also MUST be mentioned that there was a skeleton with streamers attached to it hanging above the back door of the bus! It was so weird!!

After we gave up on the bus, we sat at the St. James station a little while longer, and then called it a night. We dropped off Liz, went to Dan's to get a Netflix DVD to return, and then watched just a little Star Wars documentary thing on VH1, and then I came home. I got home around 2.. it's now 3, and I AM SO TIRED, but I wanna get up relatively early tomorrow to make the most of my Sunday!

Anyway now it's time to reflect on two years of Journaling!!

On October 23, 2002.. I was inspired by Kristen's diary on Diaryland to create one of my very own. I thought it was a good idea because I already had kept a little log of my day, but this would be a cool way to keep track of events and get the chance to write a reflection on it, PLUS share it with other people! It also was fun to include pictures and sounds with it!

Over these two years, I can't believe I've been able to keep up such an almost Daily posting! It's been hard, and I know this summer I missed a few days, but I worked my hardest to get back on track and cover all the days I had missed! I think things are falling back into place, and I'm keeping up with it. It all takes just a little adjusting every time something new happens in life, I just need to remember to make some time to Journ! :)

It's been so fun keeping this whole thing, and I'm so glad I have stuck with Diaryland, even when almost everyone I know has had it at one point and switched to something else. I find that it's the perfect thing for me, and even with the minor problems with posting, it's not too bad, nothing I can't handle.

So yes, It's been two full years of journaling, all kinds of amazing entries which you should check out, and relive, on the Older Entries page!

So, Journal, after 675 entries... HAPPY SECOND BIRTHDAY! Here's to another fun year of Journaling, and many many more!!

Alrighty, it's now 3:18am and time for some much needed sleep!

Hope you all appreciate the Journaling, I love to write it for myself, and it makes me happy to be able to keep a Journal of my days, but it also makes me happy when people read it! So enjoy the fun, and keep on reading Journal-Esque!

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com