Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

December 20, 2004 - 1:27 a.m.
"the glory of christmas" or "first snow of the season"

Hey there Journal!

Let's see.. today I left off with my arise. I woke up at 3pm. So insane! I went home and took a shower, ate some stew that my grandma made, and then got ready to go to Church for "The Glory of Christmas"!

Re and Dan came with us. My mom only had 4 tickets, so I got one for the three of us. Re came over my house, and when Dan arrived we departed!

We got there, and Dan was able to get tickets for tonight's show.. So we didn't have to wait till 20 mins before to get in!

We sat down, shortly after my mom and Grandma and Grandpa arrived. My Grandparents didn't want to sit as far up as we were (2 rows up) and so they sat away from us. My mom, amazingly, sat with us.

The show itself was a little long. The songs were good, but I would have liked them to be more Christmas-ish. (And I don't mean like the radio Christmas songs, but the ones I remember from when I was little at church.)

It was really disappointing for me, because I came there tonight with high expectations of the Christmas presentations I once remembered. I know that two years ago I was completely disappointed, but this year I was hoping for something more. Something like I had remembered. There were so many things that were sad about tonight's/this year's performance. The biggest one that upsets me is the absence of the manger. No manger, no animals, and most importantly no BABY JESUS. I just don't understand how they can do a Christmas show, and not have Mary and Joseph, and Baby Jesus. The three Wise men.. all the things they USED to have.

The other main thing that annoyed me this year was that the "drama" portion of the show was soooo negative. It was like.. they talked about all the problems in the people's lives, and all that was wrong, in an effort to say that we all have problems in our lives, but Jesus was born and is the answer to our problems. BUT the problem was, it was so depressing, and just made you feel so dull.. INSTEAD of lifting you up, and making you feel the Joy of Christmas, and the Celebration of the birth of Jesus. It just lacked. Really it did.

Meanwhile... There wasn't even a Christmas tree in the place. Every year they have a huge Christmas tree, and it looks amazing. This year it was pathetic.. Nothing at all! Just about 80,000 poinsettias!

Anyway, being in Church again made me relive all of my most favorite memories of being little. Going to church with my mom, (always wanting to leave early lol), wandering around the building, VBS, helping out and feeling so great about it, being there for the kids, teaching them sign language. Aunt Armeni! All the fun stuff. LOL I even remember back to DAY CARE when I was soo little. Aunt Angela, all those fun times. AHHH! I miss that. I miss that I don't go every week, I miss that I don't participate in anything there, but at the same time I don't have the time anymore, or do I, but I just don't MAKE the time. Ugh. I wish I could do VBS again, wish I could help out in the summer. I miss the fun times.

Anyway, I can't keep rambling about that.. After the show, Dan, Re, and I went to the Hauppauge Palace Diner for some food. I got a scrambled egg, it was good.

We then returned to Dan's house, and it started to snow a bit. We watched an episode of Saved By The Bell, and then were going to go to Jen B's, but when we saw how much it had snowed, and how crazy the roads and cars were, we decided to call it a night.

Anyway, I am home now, tired, and really need to get some much needed rest.

2-2 is coming so soon, and we are all so excited! :)

Until tomorrow.. (and much needed Christmas Shopping to come)...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com