Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 15, 2005 - 1:36 a.m.
"belleayre mountain" or "happy days pizza"

"belleayre mountain" or "happy days pizza"
January 15, 2005 1:36am

Hey Journal!!!!

Today was Skiiiiii Day!! So fun!!!

We woke up at 8:40 this morning. We were supposed to wakeup at 8, but Ilan woke up and took a shower, but didn't wake anyone else up until later. lol

We watched some TV as everyone took showers and started to make breakfast. We made bacon, and eggs, and toast.. and other breakfast wonders. Mike burnt the first batch of toast.. and smoke filled the whole place.. it was so funny! Breakfast was very yummy! After that we got ready for skiing...put on our warm clothes and such, and off we went.

We left here around 11:00 and got there about 12, I believe. While up on the mountain I got excellent cell phone service, so I was able to text the peeps, and call my mom, all the essentials! We went to Belleayre Mountain! It was very fun. We got there and filled out this form thing to rent skis and boots. We paid.... it was only $15 for lift tickets because it was Skier Appreciation Day! We then went into the next room and got out boots and skis and put them on. Next we went outside to the little bunny slope thing.

At first, I had a hard time getting up the little hills and moving around with the skis on. Actually, at that point, I was just trying to WALK while wearing the ski boots! We got to the little hill, and there was a Ski Instructor man at the little hill. He saw that I was having a hard time making it up the little slope, so he said he was going to take me to the training area and show me some stuff. Dan, Mike, and Ilan went down the hill, and then Dan and Mike decided to try the regular slope.. Me and Ilan went with the cool man...David Singer! He showed us some cool things about walking up hills sideways, and how to turn, and the proper way to stand while skiing. He was really really nice, and really really helpful! He showed us stuff for about 30 minutes and he was such a nice guy! I loved him!

I went down then little slope thing, where you have to hold onto the stick thing to get up, then went down the hill, practicing my stopping and turning while the man watched and critiqued me.

Shortly after that, Dan and Mike got back and we all went down the little slope a few more times. Now.. It was time for the BIG STUFF. LOL The Green Circles!!!! Oh my. We went to the Chairlift.. and let me tell you..the scariest thing about the green circle slopes was the path to the Chair Lift!!! It was soooo steep!! But, we made it down, and I was scared of my first ride on the lift, but it wasn't bad at all! I got on, and it took about 8 minutes to ride to the top. I was afraid of getting off because I didn't quite know how.. but as it turned out.. it was very easy.. Just waited until you were on the ground and then slid down the hill! Very easy.. but also nerve racking!

We went down the Iroquois Slope, it was great.. I did very well.. Dan said I did very very well for my first time. In fact.. for the first few times we went down, I didn't even fall once!! The only time I seemed to fall was when I was just standing around doing nothing, then all of a sudden I'd just fall spontaneously! So random!

We went down Iroquois and H-(Something) [[HURON]] (Thanks, Mike!) a few times, and then Mike wanted to go on a harder one... a Blue Square. I was a little intimidated by it, but we went up there, and sadly it was closed for the day. We went into the little lodge place and got something to drink, took a quick rest, and then skied back down the "Moheican" and "Easy In" Slopes. The were very fun! The second time up on the Easy In slope, I did a crazy fall, and my knee hurt, and my ski popped off! I like slid into the snow.. and it all went into my face and it was actually kinda fun! LOL!!!

I had a really great time! We did a bunch of cool things, and my only regret is that we didn't get to do more! I wish we had more time! I got a little afraid when I started going too fast, but It wasn't that hard to get control and slow things down. But I am glad we didn't do the harder slope.. I thing I need a little more time on the Green Circles! But they were sooo much fun! The times I fell, Ilan was usually around, and he always came over to make sure I didn't die!

We left the place at about 5:00 and headed on down to Mike's other Aunt's house. We were supposed to have dinner there, but Dan and I wanted to come back here.. so Mike and Ilan went there for Dinner and Dan and I were going to come back here. We drove to Grand Union and got some TV Dinners for ourselves, but as we drove through town we saw the Happy Days Pizza place! We decided that we wanted to go there instead, so we parked it, and went in.

It was such a cool cool place! Such a small-town little pizza place. We came in, and the nice woman gave us a Menu, she told us to take a seat, and "make yourselves comfortable." We did. lol Everyone in the place (who seemed to all work there) were watching the TV.. it was so weird. The lady came over with our pizza, and sodas, and she kept calling us "dear", and I loved it! She was such a nice woman! Ahhh I loved it. The place was really nice too, with all crazy Happy Day's Memorabilia on the walls!

We then left and came back here. but getting up the driveway wasn't so easy. We got all the way up to the top, but when I tired to turn into the spot where we had parked, the wheels started to spin, and then as I backed up a little, the car started to slide back and stopped when we backed into the little dirt lump behind us. LOL "Beautiful Karen" called on the phone and heard we were stuck, and told us just to back the car out of the driveway. We did, and when we were done, Mike called and said they were ready for us to come get them!

We drove back there, and spent a little time inside watching Jeopardy. After that, we left and came back here. Dan took a shower first, and then Me.. Ilan watched a storm show on the Weather Channel. After we were al showered and such, we ate some random snacks, sat around and talked and Mike and Dan drank a bit.

We played some card games, Crazy 8's and other stuff, and then it was time for bed around 2am. We plan on getting up at 9 tomorrow to GO SKIING AGAIN!! :) YAY! That's so exciting! Ilan and I wanted to go again, so we talked Dan and Mike into it. :)

Alrighty.. bed time now... Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com