Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 08, 2005 - 10:42 p.m.
"harvgold guest appearance" or "gettysburg role play day"

Hey Journal!

Today I woke up at 8:15 and watched some Good Morning America.. got ready for school, watched the first 10 minutes of Regis, and then off I went. On GMA this morning they tested out some products with Good Housekeeping, and they had this cool bread saver dispenser thing. It was quite cool looking! It was one of the two products that they recommended out of the ones they tested!

I got to school, and my gas tank was sooooooo close to empty! I was gonna stop on the way, but I was running a bit late, so I didn't have time!

I went to Amy's class, it was alright.. nothing too special happened, but it went by pretty fast, which I'm quite happy about. This semester I'm surprised because I was really not expecting my classes to be so quick-feeling. I mean, I was dreading the four classes in one day thing, but it really moves my day along, and it's over before I know it! I also have some good classes.. especially War and the Military.. so that breaks it up a lot!

Anyway, on my break, I went online for a bit in the Union, then took a walk over to the SAC for pizza before my next class. I consumed, and there's a funny story to go along with it!

I sat down at a table, and I looked over.. and who was sitting at the table next to me, with about 7 or 8 9th grade-looking children around him, none other than HARV!! Yes, Harv Gold from DNA in 12th grade! I was surprised because he retired and all.. I didn't expect to see him with HS students. Anyway, I was staring at him for a little while.. and he made eye contact with me for a while....

Now, I knew that he didn't remember me, of course. I knew that because HE BARELY REMEMBERED ME when I was in his class for a year!! He always called me Bernard! And let's not forget Kristen's story.. how he had to write her name on a BRICK above the chalk board, and look at it to remember her name before calling on her!!! So insane!

Anyway, When our eyes met... I thought there MIGHT be an inkling that he knew me.. so I said.. "Mr. Goldstein?..." And of course, he didn't hear a word I said, and turned back.. so I gave up! lol He then spent the next few minutes telling the kids to get ready to leave, and that they were going to take a walk through some of the buildings, "But you have to be quiet because classes are going on, and you can't disturb them." Clearly he wasn't trying to blend IN with the college students, or he would have told them the exact opposite.

Anyway, they left, and so did I. I went to my next class, gave Mike back his ID/License that he left in Dan's car the other night, and then Tomes's class. I took copious notes again, as I usually do. I find that taking notes is better for me, because even though she puts the entire power point up on Blackboard, I think writing it down serves two purposes for me. #1, It makes the time go by faster. I find that when I spend time copying the notes down, I get less bored and time seems to go by a lot quicker.. and #2, Since I rely heavily on what I hear in class... I find that writing those things down makes it more prominent in my memory, as opposed to just printing out the slides, and never looking at them! lol

So anyway, after that class, it was time for War and the Military. The class is extremely interesting, but the one complaint I have is that he never really explained a lot of the start of the Battle of Gettysburg, or some of the terminology he uses. I think the reason that happened was that he kinda jumped RIGHT into talking bout the battle on the fist day of class, and then never realized in the subsequent classes that we didn't really KNOW all the stuff he just assumed we did. Perhaps.

Anyway, Today was our "Gettysburg Role Play" which was actually very cool. After getting halfway though it today, I have a lot better understanding for what was going on there. What he did was assign a character at the battle to each student. (Actually 2 or 3 students had the same person.) Anyway, he then gave us a few questions to find the answers to, and he then called on us to give the answers as we ran through exactly what was happening all over the battlefield from beginning to end. I was the second person up, and he just asked me basically what my character's strategy was, and what he was TRYING to accomplish at the onset before the first day of battle. It was very easy and I had such anxiety beforehand! It was really more simple than I even had thought, although I was so prepared.. I ahd typed up a bunch of stuff I could say, and all the possible things I thought were important!

Anyway, class went by quickly, and he actually let us out a little early.. I don't think he realized. I think he was confused about the end time of the class! lol Oh well!

My last class, of course, History of Science and Technology! It was rather crazy, the old woman talked for a long time, about the SAME things she talked about last time. The COAST SURVEY! ahh

Finally, school was over and I was headed home! I went RIGHT to the gas station, my light had been on for a while, and the needle was REALLLY Low! I think it was probably the lowest my gas had ever been, and I was afraid that I was going to run out before I made it there! Well, I made it, and all was well!

I got home and ate dinner, sat around, did some things online, worked more on my Nicole Project, and now here I am!

I watched Jeopardy and Wheel, very interesting tonight. The crazy Jackpot sounds on Wheel were really weird! After that I watched some random stuff... including a crazy show on MTV about this boy's "Sweet 16" party.. which cost $250,000! RIDIC! They had crazy dancers and a tennis court in the middle... so weird. I also caught some of the WB11 news, which had a crazy story about low pants!

One thing I must mention is my obsession with Facebook. I think it may be a problem that I check it so often to see if anyone has added me as a friend.. meanwhile I haven't even requested anyone new, and I still want to see if by some miracle someone has added me! AHHH! I need more friends, I need them to come out of the woodwork, wherever they're hiding.. and add me!!

Alrighty... I'm quite exhausted tonight, and I'm gonna head to bed and watch some TV! Tomorrow should be a fun day.. I plan to get some of my paper written for my HistofScience class, and then doing something fun, then the lecture at the library!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com