Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 08, 2005 - 10:26 p.m.
"snow-stuck at stony brook" or "blizzard by surprise"

Hey there, Journal!

Well today was quite the ordeal! I woke up at 8:30 and got myself ready for school... watched some Regis this morning, of course, too! It was a funny one, again.. I love the part where they talk.. so funny!

I went off to school, and got there a little later than usual. I still, however, made it to class on time! Amy talked about Angel Island and then handed out our Midterm assignment. We get the questions a week in advance, then on Tuesday we had to come in and write our answers. The questions are good, I think.. I should be able to do them fairly well! :)

On my break, I went to the SINC site and went online for a bit.. then went to the SAC to get my pizza. I was rung-up by Mary, who CORRECTLY charged me for my pizza today, unlike the lady last week who made me sad!

After I was done eating, I went over to the Seawolves Marketplace... because I got an email the other day about how Stony Brook had struck some crazy deal with Microsoft and had obtained copies of Office 2003 and other programs for Stony Brook students. Anyway, I got a free copy of MS Office 2003, and then opted to buy a copy of FrontPage2003 for only $5.44! WOO! A great deal, if I do say so myself... Since office sells for $499.99 and FrontPage for $199.99! A steal at only $5.44! LOL!

Anyway, I then went off to Tomes's class, and she devoted the entire lecture to having a little class discussion on some of the things that the guest speaker, Ric, had talked about last week. She had other things planned to talk about, apparently, but she decided to just go with the discussion instead, since it ran the whole class time.

Let me backtrack just a little... As I left the Union, on my way to the SAC earlier, it was raining a little... drizzling really. Then I walked through the library, and as I came out.. it was hailing! I went into the SAC for about 20 minutes, and when I came out, it was snowing!!

Anyway, it was blizzarding like crazy before and after Tomes's class, it was insane! Snow coming down hard, blowing everywhere... crazy! I trudged over to War&Military, and I had my umbrella opened up in front of me. The snow was coming directly horizontally at me, and i had to hold the umbrella right in front of me. As I was walking down the path, some girl walked into my umbrella... since I couldn't see where I was going! LOL Though, you'd think she would have seen ME, since she was coming right at me.

Anyway, I got to my class, and it seemed kinda empty... I turned in my paper which was due today, and then he took a vote. Everyone in the class, with the exception of two people wanted to cancel class.. so he did.

I found out that classes were being cancelled after 3:45, so I set out to go home. Mind you, it was 2:40 at this time! I got to my car and warmed it up..spent a lot of time melting the ice on the windshield, and scraping the snow off. Finally I was ready to go. I headed out of the stadium lot, and down toward the exit. To my surprise, there was a long long line of cars waiting to leave. I went around, to exit out of the North Nichols Road exit, but it was closed for some reason... they had the gates closed. I then continued around the road.. but there was dead stopped traffic everywhere. Every road I went to, every exit..it was closed off, and I couldn't go anywhere! UGH! I didn't think I had enough gas to waste my time sitting still, so I just happened to be passing the Chemistry parking lot at the time, so I turned in and parked it. Now, it was 3:30! I called Mike, and he was back in his room, so I came over to wait out the traffic. I hung out there for a while, then we went to Jasmine in the Wang Center to get food. I got yummy FRIED RICE! AHHH, How I love Fried Rice. It was very good.. and I think I need to go there more often, because I could use something other than pizza every day! On our way to Jasmine, it had COMPLETELY stopped snowing... it was bright and nice out.. and it was really weird!

Anyway, after we left there, it was about 5:00, and the traffic still looked bad, cars were lined up all over the place, so we went back to Mike's room, and we waited out the storm. On the way there, there were huge gusts of wind, and snow was beating us in the face.. and we ran to escape the biting cold! lol We got back, and my face was sooooo red! So was Mike's.. it was soo cold out!

At 5:30, I finally decided to make the attempt to get out of Stony Brook! I went back to my car, and got all the snow off AGAIN. I got in, only to realize that I had left my passenger side window cracked open, and there was a small mountain of SNOW on the seat! UGH! I brushed most of it out.. and then put napkins down, so that when it melted as the car heated up, It would hopefully get absorbed... Luckily that worked! At about 5:50 I finally got out of that parking lot, and into a line of traffic. I got to the EXIT at about 6:10, and it took another 20 minutes to make it to the South Entrance on Nichols Road. I decided to make a quick decision.. Nichols road looked really bad, so I went BACK INTO STONY BROOK, and across to Stony Brook Road. It was the best move! I got to SB Road within 5 mins, and then there was NOONE on it the WHOLE WAY DOWN to 347! Then once I reached 347, it was smooth sailing again! No cars to speak of... it went very fast from there. I got home at 7:00! FINALLY! I love how school was FINALLY cancelled, two hours before I would have normally gone home.. but SOMEHOW I DIDN'T GET BACK TILL 7:00!! An hour and a half LATE!!! Just my luck!

But in all honesty...it wasn't that bad.. and being stuck in the frozen tundra has some aspect of adventure and excitement. Not to mention Mike and I had a fun time waiting it out and getting china-type food.

When I finally got home, I watched some Jeopardy, Wheel of Fortune (Got the Bonus Puzzle!), and then it was IDOL time!

I watched Idol, and am now an even firmer believer that there are no good girls in this whole competition. The guys are so much better.. they are so much more entertaining than the girls, they have better voices.. the girls just mess everything up. Even the judges have many more positive things to say about the boys than the girls!

Anyway, after that, I did some online stuff and watched the show House. It was interesting.

Now, It's a little early...I know.. But I need to get some sleep and rest up for working tomorrow! Gotta get out another 600 brochures, and I want to make some headway with the website too...Dan's gonna come for lunch, so that should be exciting and fun! :)

But alas, that's all for now...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com