Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 16, 2005 - 10:45 p.m.
"liz wins j&r's 76 ounce steak challenge"

Hey Journal!

Today was such a crazy day... I can't wait to get to the part about Liz and the 76 ounce steak...but you know, you must wait.. everything goes in order...

Today I got up and went to work, work was fun...Debbie and I had a good time, we figured out our schedules for the next three months of work.. and other than that..there were a bunch of weirdos on the phone today... all trying to get over on the system! Sheesh! But fear not, we held them back!

For lunch, I went to Burger King and got some Chicken Tenders and a Hershey's Sundae Pie!! It was quite good.. Except the chicken fingers were soggy.. so in retrospect.. it wasn't that good.. only the pie was. But that was enough for me. :)

So after work, I came right home..and my Aunt Maureen was over.. I assume she came over because of my cousin Alexandra.. She had surgery today to remove her Adenoids...Something about congestion.. and also to put tubes in her ears. Not sure exactly what her symptoms were that required these things, but it had something to do with earaches, or ear infections..and having stuffy nose / congestion a lot.

Anyway, I assume she's here to help with all that, so she was here when I got home.

I set my DVD thing to record Golden Palace, and then headed out for J&R's SteakHouse in Stony Brook, because Liz was going to attempt their 76 Ounce Steak Challenge. What it is, is they give you a 4.75 Pound Steak, and you have one hour in which to eat it, in order to win!

Dan and I arrived and we waited for the rest of them to arrive.. all of the Pinto clan! lol They got there and we sat down.. The waiter was REALLY intimidating, and had a very strong accent. I think it's best compared to the father in My Big Fat Greek Wedding. When we sat down and ordered drinks, he asked Liz what she wanted. She said "water" and he mumbled something about "water for the alcoholic!" then he said something else later when he brought it.. it was strange.

When we ordered our food, Liz ordered the $60 76 ounce steak, and the man looked at her like she was NUTS!! He was like, "Are you sure? Is four pounds and three quarters. Almost FIVE!"

Finally he brought the steak, and we all took pictures. It was HUMONGOUS. On of my favorite parts of that was when a RANDOM Chinese lady from a few tables over came and asked if she could take a picture of Liz and her steak! SO WEIRD!

Then Liz set to work with just 60 minutes to down a 76 ounce hunk of cow! It was insane! The time flew by, but we were rooting her on all the way. I was very emotionally involved...and at the end I couldn't even watch anymore, I was so nervous! Amanda said she was nervous too, and Danielle and Katie rooted her on as well! Also included were friends from school. We cheered every time she found a piece of fat! It was great!

Well, to cut to the chase...Liz WON the challenge with just seconds the spare! Her inspiration was an old old old lady on the photo board named Charlene. Charlene won the challenge in 2003, and if she could do it, Liz was determined to as well!

On her picture for the wall, she wrote "I did it for Charlene" and the man at the restaurant told her she was the first woman to complete the challenge.. but he clearly had never heard of Charlene before! lol Anyway, it was great, and I was quite happy that Liz succeeded in her challenge.

You must check out the pictures which are now posted on Fojin!! :) Also Included are all of the great quotes which really added to the whole experience!

After that Dan and I took a walk around the block, and now It's time for me to get to bed. It's getting late and I neeeeeed sleep before work tomorrow. I am sooo exhausted!

But alas, I had a great fun night at J&Rs! Congratulations again to Liz!! :) So great!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com