Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 21, 2005 - 11:43 p.m.
"the life and times of judy" or "credit card fraud"

Hey Journal!

Today was a work day. I got up at 8:00 and got myself ready. There was an intense amount of traffic on the way to work.. but I arrived five minutes early despite that. I took the service road half the way, then got on the expressway for the other half. When I got off the expressway at exit 51, the SAME truck that had been in front of me earlier, was once again in front of me. So I decided that my little stint on the expressway was unnecessary.

Debbie and I went down to the office, and she gave me a shirt that she bought me in St. Thomas on her cruise, and I looked at the pictures she took! Her pictures were so fun! I want to go on a cruise, now!

So...the day was pretty busy. We had a lot of work to do. We got two of the LP "Marketing Lists" back today, and they had to be put into the computer and such. The phones were busy as well at some points.

At lunch, Dan and I went to 7-11, and all I got was a lollipop. We returned, and then it was time for Credit Card Fraud. Get ready for this one...

I get a phone call, the man says, "Hello, Who is this?" "Brian" "Ah, Brian..I've been trying to get in touch with you!!"
[Now, this is not unusual..because people are like this all day on the phones for Golf related weirdness.]
So he continues... "I am WHOEVER from Visa Securities, and I am calling because there seem to be some unauthorized access on your credit card." Thinking: -umm..How did you get my work number?- He continues, "Did you authorize your card to be used for five calls to China about one hour ago?" "Umm.. No" "And did your wife or children authorize this?" "Umm.. I don't have a wife or children!" "Well, we'll need to cancel the card and re-issue a new one.. When was the last charge to your account made?" [Now, I was thinking...and of course you never give out personal information like that unless YOU initiate the call, and know for sure you are speaking to someone legit..] So I said, "I'll have to call you back, can I get you number?" And he rattled off some wild number, and then hung up so fast! Now, Immediately I had the feeling that this was all a bunch of crap, but I called the number on my credit card, and asked them to see if there had been any unauthorized purchases, and they told me the last charges, and that was all correct.. So obviously this guy was probably gonna get me to give out all my info!

I assume that's why he said, "Who am I speaking to?" If Debbie had answered, he probably would have gone after her just the same! So beastly! I'm just glad I'm didn't fall for that crap! And WHO WOULD THINK...That they would call the golf course and try to get people at WORK!!!

I called my mom and told her.. She was like "Oh Wow That's crazy!"

So anyway, then Debbie left for the day, and I did some more random work... Fixed some coding issues on the website, and now everything seems to be running smoothly!

After work, I came home, ate dinner, and talked to my mom for a bit, then Dan came and picked me up..and we went to the mall. We walked around, and they MOVED American Eagle to the far ex-Stern's/A&S wing! So weird. It's in this random store, which is much bigger, and it's nice that it's more spacious..BUT it has this crappy old carpet from the previous store... It has none of the American Eagle Decor that their stores would normally have. It was very odd.

Anyway, after the mall, we went back to Dan's for a while..hung out there, and then picked up Kristen to go to Friendly's for some ice cream. I got a GAC and then ice cream. It was good. We had JUDY tonight, because Cathy was on her way out for the night. Judy was nice as usual, she overheard us talking about Kristen's job, and she started talking to us about it, and then bearing her life's story to us. I love her.. she's a nice lady.

So after that we brought Kristen home and talked a little more, then I went home. Now, I am just doing random stuff in my room and preparing for bed.

Apparently, while we were out, there was some wild emergency plane landing in California due to faulty landing gear! I watched it later on the news.. quite the interesting sight! But thankfully they landed safely.

Tomorrow I have school (DRAT) at 3:50. I will have lots of time in the AM to do whatever... but I'm jsut a little sad that I will have to miss TSC because of school. If only my classes could be cancelled tomorrow!

Anyway, I need gas in my car. So i have to stop to get that on the way to school tomorrow!

That's all for now.. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com