Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 21, 2006 - 6:08 p.m.
"six flags" or "great adventure"

Hey Journal!

I am writing today for yesterday, which was our exciting trip to Six Flags!! :) I was exhausted when we got home last night, but you'll understand all about it after reading..so, please, continue...

I got up at 6:00 and prepared to depart. Robby arrived around 6:25 and Jen B and Lau shortly after. We got in the car, and off we went!

We had a good time on the way, listening to Sirius, some music, some Stern, the wheezing laugh/whisper guy, and then the CD I made for the trip. I wanted to take the Verrazano to the NJ Turnpike, but I wasn't sure of the route that way, so we stuck with what I knew, which was the Throgs Neck to the George Washington, to the NJ Turnpike.

We got to the exit for Six Flags at about 9:20 and stopped for breakfast at McDonald's! I love that McDonald's...it's so weird, and it has a definite feel of Six Flags, cause I always have stopped there beforehand! How convenient.

So, we consumed, and then headed on over to the park! Woo! We parked, and got ourselves ready, I applied my sunscreen, and off we went!

Our first stop was Superman! We rode that, and it was pretty good, much better than I remember it having been the last time we rode it. We absolutely hated it that time! It's a little short, but overall enjoyable.

After that we went to the Spongebob thing, which probably wasn't the wisest thing to do so early in the day, but it was fun. Chasing the rogue pickle. LOL

Unfortunately a few rides were closed yesterday... the new one Kinga Ka, which I have never been on! Also The Chiller was closed too. Unfortunately those two being closed made it a lot busier at the new El Toro. We never did get to go on El Toro. You see, the lines we waited on for Medusa, and Nitro were so short, that it was absolutely ridiculous to wait two hours for that one. We just couldn't bring ourselves to do it! lol

Okay, back to our itinerary... After seeing the long line at El Toro, we went on Medusa, and then did the log flume. Then took a break for some, and ate at the restaurant over there. Robby and I decided to split the chicken fingers, and while we were standing on line with our plate, this random chicken finger hits my hand... and apparently the lady behind the counter had lost control of it, and flung it at me. But Robby and I were hysterically laughing, and he like whispered to take it and put it on our plate.. It was so weird. So anyway, we got an extra... but it was kinda small.. so it was an extra half.

We then went to Houdini! Wooo! I just love Houdini! It was fun. After that, Jen B had this weird spot in her eye, and she took out her contact, and she had to wash it off, and luckily I had some solution in my pocket! So random!

After that we went to Nitro, then Jen B and I went on Skull Mountain. Although the lines were very much shorter than I have ever seen them, we didn't really do as much as I would have expected us to do.. considering that the times I went when there WERE long lines I did more roller coasters.. . And I think that's even taking into account if I had been able to do more, having not felt dizzy later.. Which you have to read on to find out about...

So...we wanted to go on Batman the Ride, but the line turned out to be much longer than It looked. In retrospect, we probably shouldn't have waited, but we did...and we had fun in line playing the movie game. One of the weird things about yesterday was the weather. It was a nice day, but every time we came out of a ride, it changed from being like...hot, to cool, but generally it was humid. And I think the temperature tricked us, and the humidity got to us, and being in the stuffy waiting line for Batman really wiped us all out, I think we got dehydrated, and just exhausted. On Batman, just as it was about to leave, I felt like really weird.. and I knew I shouldn't have been on it.. and as we were going I started to feel dizzy and disoriented, and I had to close my eyes! I still enjoyed the coaster, but it I felt awful! We all agreed to get some refreshments and sit down for a break, but I was still feeling weird, so they troops went to go on the Congo Rapids, and I didn't wanna get wet... and I went to the car to eat some pretzels and drink some Gatorade, and just get back to normal!

I sat in the car for about 45 minutes, and I felt sooo dizzy walking there, but after a while, after the water, the Gatorade, and the pretzels, I started to feel much better! It was great. I went back in, and they were still on the line for the rapids, We talked from over the gate, and they wanted me to jump over! LOL I did not. I took some pics.

After that we went for Jen B, Lau, and Robby to do their Bungee Jumping that they had singed up for. They had to wait a little while while they were getting set up and all, so I went to the bathroom and got something from one of the stores.

I got back just before they went, and I got some video of them going! It was craaazy! The whole time you could hear Lau screaming! LOL So great.

After that, we went to Nitro, and the line was so short! We went on it once, and I dunno, the day had worm me down, and I felt dizzy after it. Again, I have to stress that I have never felt dizzy/sick from a roller coaster! I was so sad! The line was so short we could have gone on it like 5 more times! That woulda been so great. But, since I was feeling weird I got a drink of water and went to the bathroom, again. They went on one more time, and waited for the front row.

At the beginning of the day, or the middle, even...none of us thought we would make it all the way to 10:00! But we did! We didn't leave till the very end of the day! It was great.. I had a very fun time!

We departed and stopped for gas... gas was 2.95 in NJ, as opposed to 3.20-something here. We made great time on the way home until we ran into a little problem. We wanted to take the Verrazzano Bridge home, and we got off the exit of the NJ Turnpike to go there, but when we did, we found out that the road leading to the bridge was closed!!! How ridiculous. We did a little investigating, to see if we could find a way around, but we could not. We then headed back onto the Turnpike to take the George Washington Bridge. All was fine until we approached the bridge and hit dead stopped traffic!! It was horrible! At that point, Lau said something that was soo crazy, she said, "Can you believe we were on the log flume 12 hours ago!" LOL I was exhausted, but somehow got my 3rd wind, and was pretty good the whole way home!

We turned on the Sirius Traffic station, and the lady said it was a "complete nightmare" heading up to the Geo. Washington Bridge.. the reason... They closed down the lower level for construction, and then closed down THREE out of the four upper lanes? WHY? So weird. She said it was a 40 minute delay to the toll booths, but then after a while she changed it to an HOUR delay to the tolls. We cut across into another road, through the divider thing, and that brought us up much further in the line, and definitely cut about 20 to 30 mins out of our stand-still traffic time. We made it onto the bridge, and then once over it was smooth sailing.

At one point we contemplated staying in a hotel in NJ just to avoid that crazy traffic. Anyway, we got home around 1:45 and I went to beeeeed!!

It was a great day at Six Flags, and I hope to have all the pictures put up soon, and perhaps some of the videos...so be sure to check for that!

Anyway, that's our story!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com