Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 19, 2006 - 9:00 p.m.
"pat on card sharks" or "recap: the old man"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up at 7:50, and prepared myself for work. I actually woke up about an hour earlier, and realized I had more time to sleep (which is just what I wished had happened yesterday!!) Woo!

I got up and departed for work. Howard was funny this morning, I feel. I really like the Looney Tunes song thing they played! Hysterical!

I got to work and went upstairs to Fax something for Dan, and then headed down to the office. Debbie and I had a good day, nothing too exciting happened.. but I forgot to tell you a story from yesterday, so let me explain...

-----------------------------------
Last week, a guy called and Debbie was giving him directions for about 20 minutes. She put him on speaker phone towa4rds the end, and it was hysterical.. First he was asking for a landmark of when to turn onto Pinelawn Road, then THEN, once we told him Dunkin Donuts, he asked us for a landmark BEFORE the Dunkin Donuts, so he would know when to get in the left lane to get ready for the left-hand turn because he "likes to drive in the right lane." Okayy! He sounded very old, and he just didn't get it! So yesterday, in the morning, he calls back and asks me for directions again, and I told him quickly.. THEN..at about 12:00, he calls again... He's at the hardware store down the street, and didn't see us! Debbie tells him he's gone to far, and needs to come back down the street. He says, "Do you have a sign outside, because I didn't see it?" We tell him Yes, there are a few big signs... and then my favorite reply, "Oh, I must have been driving too fast!" Debbie and I cracked up... as if THIS man was capable of driving too fast! Riiiight! So I want to go outside and see what this man looked like, so Debbie told him to look for me standing outside. I went up, and stood at the entrance for a while... noone came... then I called Debbie on my cell and talked to her and told her I didn't see him. Then a few mins later, just as I was about to go inside again.. I see this little sports car coming down the street, going about 15 MPH... One by one, three cars pass him and zoom by. Immediately, I knew this was him.

He pulled in, and as he got ready to turn, a car behind him beeped it's horn at him! I waved, and he came into the driveway... He rolled down his window and asked if I wanted a ride back inside. I said, "No thank you, I'm just gonna run back in!" (Like I was gonna get into a car with this guy!) He looked like he was about 90 years old.. little skinny old man.. He was nice though, just oooold. I said I was glad that he finally found it, and he said thank you for me coming outside. I told him to go park in the parking lot over to the right, but as he went in and stopped for the guard booth, they told him the same thing.. He was confused, and thought he had to back up to get into the parking lot. Oh my!

Anyway, I went upstairs a little while later and saw him on the Buffet line for a luncheon thing that was gong on. It was really funny because it was actually a woman selling homes in retirement villages. She had all pictures up of the different homes, and my favorite part is that she's showing the layout and all, and saying, "Now, if you look here...." and ALL of the old people are looking down at their food, shoveling it into there mouths, and noone is paying any attention to her! LOL
-----------------------------------

Anyway... back to today....Today went by pretty fast, at lunch I watched Card Sharks, the older version, and there was this crazy Australian guy named Pat on the show.. and he's been on the last couple of days, too! He's sooo wild.. First of all.. he beats ALL of the opposing contestants in like two minutes! They barely have a chance to play any of the game, and before you know it.. he has them going home with "lovely parting gifts" and he's off to the bonus round! And my favorite part is his hand motions when he says, "HIGHER" and "LOWER" in his Australian accent! amazing!

Also today, Debbie's daughter Shamica had her baby, Paris.

I departed work at 5:00 and came home.. I got here around 5:40! I ate dinner...Chicken and mixed veggies, and then came upstairs to watch TV and stuff. Watched Jeopardy, and that was that.

We got ready and went to Debbie's husband's wake, and Dan met us there. It was so sad, I just still can't believe it. It's always so awkward at a wake.. I didn't know what to say, and even more than that, I never know what to say and/or how to act around other people I know.. Like for example I saw Kim and Mrs. Wiskoff, and I said hello.. but then my mom and Dan walked away and I got kinda..'I dunno what to say' So I just said I had to go cause they were going to the other side... And I walked away. I saw lots of people there from the Library.. but they were milling around while we were on line waiting to go up. By the time we finished the line, they were all gone, so I didn't get to talk to any of them. Kim came over to me and and said Hi...we said we definitely have to hang out soon, and she was departing cause she had gotten there at 7. We went up and saw Debbie... I felt so bad, and again didn't know what to say.. I just feel so bad! So crazy.. Unbelievable. There were so many people there... It's just so scary how something like that can happy at any time. So so scary.

We signed in and sat for a while, and then departed.

I stopped for gas, and tomorrow is Six Flags! It was supposed to be Me, Jen B, Robby, Lau, and JC...but JC dropped out on us today because she said she wants to be home for when her mother gets home from the hospital tomorrow, because she had knee surgery. So, since she was supposed to drive, I volunteered myself to drive. My mom is not happy with that because my car has been making some strange squeaking noise when it starts up. I think it should be okay, because the noise goes away very quickly.. I think it's just a belt or something that's squeaky.

So now I am getting ready early for bed, I wanna get to bed by 10:30 so we can leave at 6:30 for Six Flags. I, of course, and not going to work tomorrow... Dan finally spoke to his Dad and let him know...since he was away these past few days in Block Island, and I couldn't tell him I wasn't going to be there on Thursday!

So...that's that...now I am just getting ready for bed, and about to eat a frozen pretzel.

Hope the lines aren't too long at Six Flags, and I think the weather is supposed to be nice! WooHoo...Fun times! Can't wait!

Until tomorrow....

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com