Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 10, 2006 - 10:33 p.m.
"nesconset day" or "the big duck"

Hey Journal!

Happy Nesconset Day!

Yes, today was Nesconset Day, and we had a blast.. of course..that had very little to do with the actual Nesconset Day, but you know how it is..

I got up around 10:30 and talked to Kristen online for a bit, and we decided that we would enjoy a little stroll around Nesconset Day! I called Dan and he got up and got ready, and we all met at the CVS parking lot at 12:40.

We then walked down to the Nesconset Day area and perused the little booths and peddlers. There was really nothing of interest to buy, but over on the side section we got a few free pens and a Commerce Bank key chain and press-on tattoos. What fun! I got some roasted corn, but it wasn't nearly as enjoyable as the ones from out East around Halloween time! I CAN'T WAIT FOR THAT, btw!

We then walked over by the Gazebo, and the random car show that was on the Armory lawn. Then we headed back down the street to continue our fun elsewhere! Dan and I gave Kristen the Canadian Beaver pillow that we got for her on out trip to Niagara, and she thoroughly enjoyed it! Woo!

We went to the bank, and to the Circuit City so that Kristen could buy a gift card for her brother for his Graduation this past June from HS. Then we went over to the mall to see how the construction was going. The floors are all in place over by the Sears wing, and down by the food court they have the ceilings all painted nicely! I think it's gonna be really nice when it's finished.. I'm really impressed with it. I didn't think it would be that nice. You know I hate change, and I love the weird 80s look it had, so I was apprehensive, but I like it.

Dan and Kristen got Starbuck's and I got a Pretzel from Auntie Annes. They have new uniforms there, and seemingly a new logo. I don't like it.

Anyway, after the mall, we decided to go out to the Friendly's where my cousin works and have some dinner. She wasn't starting till 5:00, so we had some time to kill! We started heading out, and we passed the Village Green mini-golf, and decided to stop! We played one of the courses...the one near the fence by the funeral home... and they recently "upgraded" it, but the only thing they did was put random jungle animals in the middle of all of the courses. We did so badly... The "grass" mats were not good at all.. they were all worn and the balls just kept rolling around! We did manage to get some good pictures of us with the animals, and that was quite exciting. We had fun, too.

Our next stop was the cemetery. Yeah, I know.. crazy.. We were passing by, and I said we should stop at my Great Grandma's cemetery in Farmingville. We stopped for a bit, and visited. She had nice flowers there, but they were fake flowers, so that took away from them a little.

After that we continued the journey, and went to the Bank so I could deposit my check. Then we headed out on the sunrise toward where she works. We saw a sign for "Shrine of Our Lady of the Island" and I remembered that that was the place where my grandma took my cousins and I once! So I insisted that we stop!

We walked the stations of the cross, and then went up to the top of the hill to the overlook area, and saw some people hang gliding. It was kinda weird... but it was fun, overall.

Then it was time to go to Christen for dinner. We got there and were seated in her section, and such. She forgot to give us silverware. LOL She said she was very busy, so she didn't get to talk to us very much. One thing that I LOVE about that Friendly's is the pictures on the wall! EVERY picture was a normal place, like a lighthouse, or a covered bridge..but there was random food stuck in all the pictures! Like an Ice cream cone behind a house, or my personal favorite was the cheeseburger inside the covered wooden bridge! Amazing.

After that, we headed down a random road...24 North. None of us knew where it led.. but we were pleasantly surprised when we passed "the Big Duck"! YEAH! It was great. We turned around and stopped to enjoy it. There was a lady there with her kids having a picnic next to it, and she offered to take our picture in front of it!

We accepted her over-eager invitation, and she took the picture. Even took a second to ensure that it turned out well! We then conversed with her, and she was telling us how "we are trying to have it moved back to it's original home down the street!" She was a duck-moving activist, so to speak. LOL

When we looked at the pictures she had taken for us, we noticed one distinct thing.. SHE CUT OFF THE HEAD OF THE DUCK!! So all you see is us standing in front of a big white oval-shaped thing. She did, however, manage to get plenty of the gravel in the parking lot. BOTH PICTRURES, by the way!

We later decided that she sits here all day and pretends to picnic with her little children, and offers to take photos for everyone.. but she purposely cuts off the head of the duck to symbolize her fight... The duck is not complete until he is moved back to his original home!

Wild.

So, we headed back the scenic way on 25A and through Port Jeff and all. Then we went for Italian Ices at Ralph's around the corner from my house.. and then called it a night.

It was a very fun-filled and exciting day! We all had a blast, and it was so random! Great times!

Since I got home I've just taken the pics off of my camera and now I'm getting ready for bed! I have work tomorrow, and that should be fun, nothing too special though.

Alrighty.. time to get some sleep! If you missed yesterday's entry about Diane's wedding be sure to check it out!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com