Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 04, 2007 - 5:49 p.m.
"ithaca weekend recap"

Hey Journal!!

Allow me to give you the update for the past few days!

Friday, February 02, 2007

On Friday morning I got up at about 8:10 to get ready for work. (I was at Dan's house, so I got to sleep an extra 20 mins! woo.) I stopped to get a bagel on the way, and arrived at 9:00.

The day went by fast, I can't really remember now what I did, but I just know nothing crazy happened. I didn't take a lunch break and left work at 3:30. I got to Dan's house, changed, and then we departed for Ithaca, and visiting Dave!

We made great time into the city and really there wasn't much traffic at all. We ran into a bit of trouble upstate because there was some major snow....about 20 minutes, then it cleared up, but then once we got off the main roads and started heading into the less traveled roads, we had to go 20Mph on 55 Mph roads, so that cost us about 2 hours. It took a total of six hour to get there, and we arrived at about 10:45. We unloaded the car, and brought our stuff in.

We got the "grand tour" of Dave's apartment and then talked for a bit, made a schedule for the next day, and then went to bed at about 12:30ish, I think.

Next day...

Saturday, February 03, 2007

We got up at 8:30, and planned to leave at 9, but showering and such took a while, so we got out at 9:30. We went for breakfast at a diner called Manos. It was crazzzy inside. It was very very 70s-ish, it had not been updated once bit! lol The waitress was wild, and Dan and I ordered chocolate milk, and then asked her what kind of milk they had. She said they had 2%, so I asked for that, but she was like "WHAT DO YOU WANT? CHOCOLATE MILK, OR MILK?" I was like.. Ummm.. (Cause lots of diners MAKE their own chocolate milk. Sheesh) So we realized that the chocolate milk was premade, and went with it. LOL

Breakfast was good, and after that we quickly had to stop at the store to get something for my camera, and then we went to the Sciencenter!! It was a really cool place with lots of Sciency things to do! They had this floating ball thingy, and musical stairs, and the "giant camera" (with a British voice), a paper airplane launcher thing, a paper rocket launcher, and tons of other fun stuff to do. It's geared to the young, but it was great.

We spent about 2 hours there, then went to Wegmans to get some stuff, Dan and I got a little lunch there, and then we travelled to Corning to experience the Corning Museum of Glass!

(By the way, I had never been to Wegmans before... it was amazing. I loved it.)

We got there at about 3:15, and we looked around at some of the glass exhibits, and then at 3:45, we went to the "Hot Glass Show" where we watched a man make a vase! He heated the glass and shaped it, and blew it into a vase. It was really cool.

After that we continued with the exhibits, one of the coolest things was one of the last areas we went to, which explained how they mass produce the bottles, and had some cool mirror which I can't explain, as well as a "whisper egg"!

The museum closed at 5, and we headed back to Ithaca. I was exhausted, and fell asleep in the car. My stomach was feeling well, so I got some Rolaids at Wegmans, and then we were going to go out to dinner at Za Za's but decided to get pizza instead. We ordered from Papa John's for delivery and then stopped to get a movie. We rented "Lucky Number Sleven" but when we got back we played Jeopardy! on N64 and then Yahtzee! Dan and Dave were drinking wine, and we had a fun time just talking, so we never got to the movie. lol We went to bed at about 12:30.

Sunday, February 04, 2007

We got up this morning and got ready fairly quickly! We went for breakfast at Ithaca Bakery. It was very enjoyable. I got a bagel and scrambled eggs. After breakfast we went to Dave's school... to see his classroom. It was about a 15 minute ride to the school in Groton.

We saw the school and the classroom, and Dave fed the fish! lol. Then we headed back to his apartment, and packed up Dan's car, and made sure we didn't forget anything...Oh yeah, and watched giant turkeys run around outside the back of his apartment!

So, we said our goodbyes and we were on the road at 11:30. We made great time... we stopped twice. We decided to take Rt. 17 home., and stopped for 30 minutes at the Roscoe Diner for lunch. I got a grilled cheese, but it was really small. I also ordered a Sprite, but there was none left so I got seltzer water, and then chocolate milk to replace that. Got gas, deposited my check at the Bank of America there, and then back on the road.

We passed the place "Memories" that Jen B, Dan, and I had passed a few years ago on the way home from Cortland. We were so enticed to stop there last time, and they had some cool things I had wanted to buy then, but didn't.. so this time I really really wanted to get something there. I felt ...incomplete... not being there with Jen B, cause that was such a fun time, and I associate her with that place! lol Anyway, they didn't have all the cool framed Ads that they had last time, so Dan and I decided to buy three old Life Magazines, one from 1940, another from 1945, and one from 1954, I think. We figured we can take the ads we like out of them, and frame them ourselves, in frames that we like.

We were at memories for 30 mins, and then hit the road again! So, with a total of 1 hour of stops, we made it to Dan's at 5:00 on the dot. Do the math, that's 5.5 hours after we left, minus the stop = 4.5 driving hours. Great time! :)

So anyway, I am at Dan's now and we're getting ready to watch the SuperBowl! It's SuperBowl Sunday!! WOO!

Well, I'm gonna get going.. We had a GREAT weekend upstate! Be back later with my Post-SuperBowl entry!!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com