Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 04, 2007 - 11:00 p.m.
Super Bowl XLI

Hey Journal!

Happy post Super Bowl!

Let's see, where last we left off, Dan and I had returned to his house and were preparing to watch the "big game." We watched the game downstairs, of course, in HD, with Dan's parents and Steve and Marilyn.

The game was good, Dan and I decided to root for the Bears, who started off well with a touchdown in the first 14 seconds of the game, however they didn't really come through later. It was crazy rainy. And now, let's move on to the most important part of the Super Bowl...the Commercials.

I think my favorites of the night had to be the FedEx commercial, "What's in a Name"
What's in a Name?

I really like FedEx ads, especially their Cinco De Mayo commercial, which wasn't a Super Bowl ad, but really was good.

Okay, another good one last night was, "Crabs Like Bud Too," where these crabs on a beach steal a cooler which somehow resembles a crab, and they make it their leader! lol
Crabs Like Bud Too

I wasn't AS impressed this year with the commercials as much I had been in previous years, but my WORSTS were a Garmin GPS commercial, which I will link too.. (Cause bad commercials don't deserve play space on my journal! lol) Evil Mapasaurus
Now, this one started off promising, when the map unfolds and takes over the car and turns into a monster, but it just got way out of hand, and boring.

One that I wasn't really a fan of, but clearly is a buzz-type commercial, is the Federline one. I've decided that he did the commercial because he knows he's desperate and he needs money now that he's broken up with Britney. So, that makes me like it just a little more that I would normally (considering I hate him.)

Weird commercial of the night, "Nutty Goulet" just because Robert Goulet is strange, and running around the office knocking things over was random.
Nutty Goulet

And there is one more than I did like... one of the home-made, or viewer submitted commercials for Doritos. While I liked the first one, I thought the second one was better! "Doritos Cashier"
Doritos Cashier

So, there were some good ones, some ones that I STILL have no idea what product they were selling, or I can't remember at all. So it was a full spectrum. But I figure if you've got that much money to make a commercial and then put it on during the SuperBowl, you should be able to find a way to make the product memorable as well as tell a funny story or make a witty commercial. I think you need both. lol

Now, here's something that annoys me....the NFL, they take things WAY too far. They are really anal and overprotective. They make it quite clear at several points during the game that the television production of the Super Bowl is protected by their copyright, which, while it is and I understand that, they point out that "any accounts or descriptions of the game without consent are prohibited." That means that if I were to describe to you that the Bears scored the first touchdown of the game in the first 14 seconds of the game, I would be breaking that law. Hmmm. I think that's a bit silly. I mean, logistically they can't enforce that, but there's no reason to be crazy.

Bringing this to a whole new level, "NFL guidelines prohibit venues from charging admission to watch the Super Bowl, displaying the game on a screen larger than 55 inches or using the copyrighted name "Super Bowl" on a Web site to promote a gathering." The key word there is OR. None of those things are permitted. An article in Newsday says that many churches in the area were planning to have parties for the superbowl, but have since cancelled them because a 55" screen would be too small. Clearly. Well that's crap. That's the NFL trying to boost their on ratings... as Newsday says.."The NFL rules are intended to protect the Super Bowl trademark and prevent large groups from watching in public venues, where their viewing habits can't be measured by Nielsen ratings." F That. If large groups want to watch in large groups because it's more fun...then let them. They're still watching, and just cause you can't measure it on your "ruler" doesn't mean it should be stopped. Perhaps that means you need a better "ruler" to measure with.

Then, there are those who defy the NFL. A member at the golf course was quoted in the paper. In Newsday, "Freeport's Zion Cathedral Church of God was planning an annual gathering for dinner, religious teaching and the Super Bowl projected on two 10-foot-by-10-foot screens. Told yesterday by Newsday that the event could be illegal, the church's pastor said it would continue as planned." That's right. I like that he's bucking the system, the only thing I'm not too sure about is having it published in the paper, cause if the NFL wants to go after him, now he's an easy target. It's hard to find out about the church down the block's Super Bowl Party and weather or not it was on a screen larger than 55 inches, but when it's published in the paper, it's a little easier to spot. Hopefully they won't. Or maybe the industry will just get that better "ruler" and no one will care anymore.

You know, I really really really like when my journal entries have a topic. It makes them so much more focused and really gives the opportunity to expand on things. I wish it was like this more often, perhaps I can find more specific things to write about in the future!

Anyway, that's all for now! Tomorrow it's back to work!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com