Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 14, 2007 - 10:11 p.m.
"snowy mess" or "valentine's day" or "mortgage madness"

Hey Journal!

Well today was a snowy mess! Also, it was Valentine's Day!!!

HAPPY VALENTINE'S DAY!!

Today was a wild and crazy day! I got up at the usual time, and took my time getting to work. I arrived ten minutes late, but no big deal. There was lots of ice outside when I left...but the roads weren't really bad and there was no real traffic, so that was nice.

Work was going well until about 11:20. At that time, the power went out for about 10 seconds, but that's not what was bad... when it came back on, the Fire alarm was going on, and then the burglar alarm. We turned that off, and the fire department called and we told them not to come. So that was that. Or so we thought. Next, we noticed that the lights and some other stuff weren't working right.. and later found out that we were only getting about 1/2 the power we were supposed to. SO, the computers were Half on. The keyboards were lit up, and the computer was running, but nothing was happening on the screen... very weird. Also a problem, the big vents in the kitchen over the stoves and all weren't working either! So the food they had been cooking was making smoke, and it had nowhere to go, so the kitchen filled with smoke, and Jackie opened the doors to let fresh air in, but the fire alarm went off again! Piercing! lol

Anyway, it was craziness not having full power, so I just shut down the server, and completely turned off all the computers, and we left at 11:20! lol Nice! Too bad we had to come in at all!

Okay, so I came home and hung around for a while, then met Dan for lunch. We went to Pomodorino in Hauppauge, and I got the Spaghetti and Meatballs. It was yummy, but I had a lot to take home with me!

Dan's work got out early too, at 3:00, so we decided to make an appointment with the Mortgage broker today, instead of Friday. I came home and got my papers and stuff that I needed, and we met at Dan's house, and then left for the place.

Oh oh.. yeah.. Dan's parents were supposed to go to Vegas today, their flight was for 10:30am, and sadly it was cancelled because of the ice... so they weren't able to go. They're gonna go on Saturday instead... that's the first flight they could get!

So, we got to the place, and sat down with the man and went over everything...the prices, the monthly payments, and our credit history and credit scores! Apparently we both have above average credit scores. Way to be! :)

So, moving right along, we got everything set up for that, and then called the Real Estate dude, whom I call "Douglas MacArthur" simply because his name is Doug, to set up a time for an inspector to come look at the place. So, the inspector is going to do his work tomorrow during Dan's lunch break, and we shall then have invested our first bit of money into this place paying for the inspection! Very exciting, but also very scary.

You know me, set it my ways... I can't wait, and I'm super excited.. but I always get nervous before and after big purchases, and this being the biggest purchase in my life so far.. well.. I think that's magnified. But at the same time, like I said, Excitement. I feel like Elvin from The Cosby Show when he goes over to their house to have Clair and Cliff co-sign the mortgage and he has a breakdown. LOL

Anyway, after that we went back to Dan's house and discussed that whole thing with his mom and dad, and then it was time for Jeopardy! Woo. Teen Tournament means I get lots of answers right.. but I have to say these Teens who make it onto the show are really freaky. They're all super-nerdy and all of them have something strange about them. I know I was nerdy/dorky.. but these people take the cake. Like the one with the MONOGRAMMED HANDKERCHIEF in his POCKET!!? Or the one who shoves his tongue into the side of his cheek every time he answers a question. Strange, I tell you.

I was THIS CLOSE to winning at Jeopardy, I got the final answer, "What is the Red Cross" but Dan bet a little more and took the win.

Okay, so after that I headed home. I know Wednesday is my usual day to watch Idol at Dan's, BUT being that it was icy and only getting colder, I thought it wise to get home safely and early.

I got home, took a shower, and then it was Idol time!! Woo. Tonight was good, I loved when that one kid says, "So, you're probably all wondering why I call this meeting." That gave me a good laugh for half the commercial break that followed it. I dunno why, but it struck me very funny.

So now it's down to our final 24! Time for the voting to begin! Let's rev up those fingers.. 1-866-IDOLS-?? AHHHHHH! Who to vote for! Oh, and that reminds me... my IDOL POOL. I have 80 boxes to sell, and they have to be sold by next Wednesday when the first people get voted off... SO This weekend I want everyone to buy at least 3 Idol boxes from me.. maybe even more. You know you want to.. and come on, it's only $1 a box, you can win $100!

So now I just went downstairs and re-heated my Spaghetti from this afternoon, because I was a bit hungry, and last night I had a hard time falling asleep because my stomach was growling!! LOL I was quite hungry, and I didn't really realize it, or it didn't come on until I was already in bed, and I was not in the mood to get up to get food. Grrr.

Anyway, that's all for tonight.. time to get ready for bed... Hopefully it'll be better weather for driving to work tomorrow!

Until tomorrow... Happy Valentine's Day, again!!

Goodnight. :)

PS- Oh, I found these Valentines in a box of all old valentines from Elementary school! So cool.


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com