Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 19, 2007 - 11:10 p.m.
"sirius and xm: noooooooo" or "cheesecake factory" or "24: hour 10"

Hey Journal!

Well... Don't I have a lot to talk about tonight!! In case you didn't hear the insane and huge news... SIRIUS and XM have announced plans to merge!

I can't even begin to tell you what a horrible idea I think this is. What do I know, I know.. but think about it.. it just doesn't seem to work. First off, Sirius and XM are two vastly different companies with completely different models of programming! (That article is about more than just that.) But what really sticks out is the obvious.. First off, Competition. With two Satellite companies, they are both competing against eachother to make the best radio hardware, the best content, and the best PRICES. They each want to stay one step ahead of the other! From the initial talk, they would be offering something like a combined service, where you PICK AND CHOOSE the channels you want, instead of getting everything. What's annoying about that... well Satellite Radio, Sirius in particular, is amazing because you pay one fee and get EVERYTHING. Even things you think you'd never want to listen to. I mean, I wouldn't have picked some of the channels I find myself listening to now, but having them there has made me try them out, and now I enjoy them. I also enjoy having channels that I don't like.. just knowing they're there. I dunno.. It's a nice concept.

As the plan says, XM shares of stock would be converted to Sirius Stock at 4.6x so I assume that they would be keeping the name Sirius, which make me happy.. cause first off, Sirius is a much better name, and they have a great logo. LOL

Another problem, perhaps a little deeper, the NAB has been trying to get legislation passed in congress to limit the ability of satellite services to provide local traffic and weather services (In the name of preserving these services on AM/FM radio.) WEIRD, I know, but some fools are pushing it. My theory, isn't it better to have two companies, two competing companies, fighting this common cause rather than just one?

Oh, and back to the simple... This looks like it's gonna cost us more money as subscribers. Not a good thing. Not a good thing at all.

Most of the reaction I've read on message boards, especially Sirius Backstage has been negative. People have been slamming it, saying they hope it doesn't actually happen.

I agree, I totally don't want it to go through. Thankfully there's a HUGE hurdle that they may not make it over. The FCC has to approve the merger, and the current rules associated with the satellite licenses forbid the merger. There are monopoly and Trade issues too, and many people are referencing the failed DirecTV/Dish Network merger as a sign that this too could fail. One can only hope.

Anyway, I have to move on.. but there's a conference call scheduled for tomorrow about all of this, so I wanna listen!

So this morning I woke up around 11:30.. got to sleep nice and late in celebration of Lincoln's belated and Washington's birthdays! I got up and ate some cereal, and watched some TV, then took a shower.

I listened to lots of music this afternoon cause I didn't leave the house till 2, and I had time to kill, so I was making good use of iTunes while getting ready.

At 2:00 Dan picked me up and we went to the mall. We walked around and browsed. We were supposed to meet Joey and others for lunch at the Cheesecake Factory at 3, but they were running a little late.

So, we walked around the mall, and I bought the thing i needed for my keyboard at Radio Shack. Which, I have to say..when I got home, I installed it.. and it works AMAZINGLY. I am writing this entry on my old keyboard, and I am having NO problems typing! That other piece of crap kept making me hit the wrong keys and was sooo hard to use!

Anyway, we put our names down ahead of time, and Joey, his friend Jill who we met at Ruby Tuesday, and two other of their friends came. We had a fun time, and I got the Chicken and Biscuits. It was enjoyable. We were there for like 2 hours. After dinner we went back to the mall in search of shoes for Jill. We went to Penny's to find the ones she wanted, but they didn't have them in her size. It was quite an ordeal, but very funny! We went to several other stores, but none had shoes that could compare to the ones she wanted from Penny's.

Dan and I departed at 7:30 to get back in time to watch Prison Break and 24!

We got back to his house and I heated up my leftovers from Cheesecake Factory and consumed them while we watched Prison Break!� It was great tonight...definitely my favorite show to watch this season... in that I am most excited to see what happens next in it.� Tonight was great, lots of stuff with Sarah, and I love Sarah.� I was happy that Pope was back, he's cool too.. but a little crazy, thought I can see why he's upset. lol� I was happy that what's his name tipped off the police and gave up his capture of the woman and her kids!� I can't believe that the other one is help find Michael!! AHHH.� It's awful that I love this show so much, but i just cant place some of the names.� I know who everyone is, and I know who they are when they talk about them on the show, but I can't remember some of their names afterwards!

Then it was time for 24!� Good stuff tonight, I can't believe that they caught on to Tom trying to tip off the secret service.� He should have left that room before making that call.� Not a good move.� I also don't understand why Jack's father left that phone number for Jack to call.� And why would he have Logan's phone number anyway?� Weird.

Anyway, after the show I came home, and now I must get ready for bed!!!

Tomorrow is gonna be a strange day cause noone will really be in, so it should be relaxing, and not so hectic.� Sounds cool...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com