Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 18, 2007 - 8:41 p.m.
"the rains came. and came. and came." or "no phones. no internet."

Hey Journal!!

What a wild and crazy wet day!! I woke up at 7:52, and got up... I was tired mostly because it was DARK outside. I couldn't believe it was time to get up!

Oh oh.. and prior to that... we were woken at about 3:00am because the fire alarm started beeping and saying "LOW BATTERY"! It's so annoying, and I had to get up and pull the batteries out!!

Anyway, I got up and ready for work, and departed. I was shocked at how hard it was raining as I left this morning, and I started on my journey to work.

It was slow going down the Northern, but I got to Commack Road after a while... I began heading down, and I couldn't really see very far in front of me! Long Island Avenue had a gigantic puddle, so I had to turn back around. I cut down Nicolls Road, but it had some pretty bad puddles also. I waded though them, and made it to Deer Park Ave.

I made a left, and tried to cut over to where Long Island Avenue continues... but alas, there was an even BIGGER puddle, and a car stuck in it!! I had to maneuver and turn around... and continued a different way. There were massive puddles on this road, but I had no other choice!

When I finally got to Straight Path, I couldn't cross the tracks there because there was another huge pool! I had to go all around, and cross at another area.

I FINALLY got to work, at about 9:35, and Diane and Debbie had just arrived also. Everyone was talking about how bad it was... and several people said they had never seen anything so bad! Debbie was afraid there was going to be a tornado, because of a warning on channel 7's website. There actually ended up being one in Islip!!

So..the phones were shot.. we had about 6 totally dead lines, and five with loud buzzing. Then as the day progressed, the loud buzzing went away on two of the lines, but then randomly the internet went out!!

So, from about 11:00 on, there was no internet and limited phones! We couldn't even dial up to AOL because the data phone lines were also dead. Very inconvenient.

I called Verizon and they said they would be able to schedule us for an appointment in three days. I told the man that was unacceptable, and that I needed to speak to a supervisor. He said she would have to call me back.

Anyway, the day went by slowly, as I didn't have much to do without the internet working.

For lunch, I watched Password with Debbie, and then Match Game with Dan's mom, did the Sudoku, and then returned to my desk.

I spoke to the Verizon supervisor who bumped our appointment up to tomorrow...

Then at about 4:45, just as we were getting ready to go home, the Verizon truck pulls up. So, I took him downstairs, and he worked on the stuff... but Dan's dad had to leave at 5 to get his truck.. so I stayed there alone with the Verizon man until about 5:20. He said that the problem is down the street (SURPRISE!!!) and that he would send a cable crew tomorrow.

So, as of right now we still have no phones or internet. Tomorrow should be fun.

Anyway, when I got home, Dan and I watched some TV, and hung around.... We ate dinner... Chinese Food!!! :) Then we were going to watch World News and Jeopardy, but there was a wild pipe explosion in the city, and as Bill Ritter said, "There will be no Jeopardy tonight!" He made that very clear.

It was wild, and I love watching live news, because they always do the weirdest things!! This broadcast was full of gems.

Anyway, after that I started extracting some George Takei clips from the past few shows... There may be another Takei Soundboard in the works!! Takei Soundboards.

I did that for a while, but I started to get crazy and needed a break.. so I took a shower, and will resume that another day. I don't have any more energy in me for that today!

So... that's really my day's story. It was a crazy day, and rather wild. Tomorrow, hopefully will be more productive, and it's Thursday, which means that Friday is just around the corner. I really need the weekend!!! Arrrr.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com