Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 19, 2007 - 9:49 p.m.
"low-tech day" or "the persistent letter"

Hey Journal!

Today I got up at about 8:15 and went in to work a little later than usual because I stayed a little longer at work last night for the Verizon guy.

I got to work at about 9:25ish, and of course the internet and phones were still all messed up. Over the course of the day, 1/2 of the phones were fixed, but the other half were still dead. The internet was completely down all day, which caused much annoyance.

In the absence of technology...I cleaned out two of my desk drawers and then did the Sudoku and read the paper. I didn't actually complete the Sudoku.. I got to a part where it was really annoying... so I gave up!

When the mail came, I did that. Oh, so we have a temporary mailman... our regular guy is on vacation for two weeks, and our new guy is a little strange. He looks like a mole, and he refuses to put our incoming mail in the bin labeled "Incoming Mail." He puts it directly NEXT to the bin. Odd.

Anyway, I was going through the mail, and I got to a letter, and I was shocked. lol See, on Monday there was an envelope in the mail to "Almeida Cleaners" in Carle Place. For some unknown reason, it came to the golf course... So we put it back in the mail. So, TODAY as I'm going through the mail...IT'S IN THE PILE AGAIN!! So, outraged at the incompetence of the US postal service... I wrote on the front of the letter, in big letters, "DEAR US MAIL, THIS LETTER HAS BEEN DELIVERED TO FARMINGDALE TWICE. IT IS CLEARLY NOT ADDRESSED TO FARMINGDALE. PLEASE DO NOT BRING IT HERE AGAIN. THANKS." It's funny.. I scanned it, and was going it put it on my journal, but since the internet was down all day, I had no way of doing that.

Anyway, for lunch I ate some soup and watched Match Game. There was a little drama today with one of our fine members. You know, one of the great upstanding ones. He did something...out of line, and is going to be "disciplined" tomorrow.

We wrote a letter to go out with the Dues for next year, one to explain the changes, and one for the children info.

I departed work at 5:00 and just before that there was another Member issue to take care of. The classic case of "the world revolves around me" and "Let's Make a Deal."

Anyway, I got home around 5:30 and then Dan and I went to his house for dinner! We cleaned the pool, vacuumed the whole thing in preparation for some fun times tomorrow night! :)

We then had a yummy meatloaf dinner, and then took the picture off the camera for Dan's dad. He was very proud of his shots of the flowers!

So, after that we came home, I just took a shower, and must get ready for bed! I have to go in early tomorrow!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com