Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 05, 2007 - 10:06 a.m.
"black forest" or "fire sprinkler fun"

Hey Journal!

I apologize for not writing last night, but by the time I was ready to get ready for bed, it was almost 11:30 and I just couldn't sit down at the computer!

I got up at 7:52, got ready for work, and departed. The traffic on the way to work was HORRENDOUS! I have no idea why, but there was a huge line of cars on 111 waiting to get to 347 backed ALL THE WAY up to the exit of our place. So, that took forever, and then 247 was kinda slow too. However, once I got on the Northern, it was smooth sailing, and I made up most of the time, however I arrived at work about 5 minutes late. C'est la vie.

So, work was slow yesterday in the sense that I didn't have a TON of work to do, however at about 10:00 some guys came from the fire sprinkler company to install new sprinklers in Debbie and Jackie's offices in the basement. I had to take them around and show them where to put the sprinklers and then where the sprinkler valve is located.

After that I came upstairs and did some random stuff. They finished up and ran some tests, and then I went out to lunch because I had planned to meet my cousin, Dan, at the pizza place. We got our pizza and had some time to eat it, but then I got a phone call from the golf course, because there was a leak in the ceiling in the locker room. I hurried back, and sure enough, there was a stream of water coming out of the ceiling, and you could hear the sound of water up there. I called Dan's dad and he said to call the sprinkler people back, so I did. They wouldn't answer their phones for the longest time, but finally when they did, they said they would send the guys right back.

It took about a half hour, but they guy came back, and he stuck his head up into the ceiling, and sure enough, it was something loose in the sprinkler pipe. He tightened it up, and all was well. What craziness.

After that Lauren and I played Scrabulous online for a while, and I completed what may be my best ever game of scrabble. I had SO many 30 point words, and they just kept coming. I forget my exact score, but it was definitely one of my personal bests!!

I departed work a few minutes before 5. I said, I had to cut my lunch short to make sure there wasn't a flood, so I figured that entitled me to leave a little bit early. Anyway, I got home and Dan and I had planned to go out to dinner with Lauren. So, when Dan got home we watched some TV and then got ready to go. We visited Dziadzi at his place, and he was good, but he always complains about the food. We talked to Daisy today, who as you might know, is one of the really nice ladies who lives there. She is 86 years old, totally with it, and just SUCH a nice person. I love her. She speaks Spanish, Latin, Italian, French, and Portuguese. Oh, and English. That BLOWS MY MIND. We told her we wanted to learn French, and she went off speaking all in French, we didn't understand a thing. She asked us why we wanted to learn French, and she said she recommends learning Spanish, because you can use it so much more. I agreed, and told her that I already knew some Spanish, but would like to be better at it. She said any time we need help, she's be more than happy to assist! She asked us to say something in French, so I said, "Quel �ge as-tu?" to which she replied, "J'ai quatre-vingts six ans." Which is how we found out she's 86. It's weird in French, to say 86, you say, "Four-Twentys Six."

Anyway, after we departed there, we came to the golf course and Lauren was just finishing up. We put Lauren in charge of picking our restaurant, so we went to the Black Forest Brew House, which is very close to here, and I always pass it on my way to the gas station. It always intrigued me, but it looks very odd from the outside. So, it's a German-themed restaurant. It's wild inside, all German like. I liked it!! I got the Turkey sandwich, but really I mostly ate the turkey and not so much the bread.

It was a really nice place though, and the food was good, and I had a most enjoyable time. We talked for a while after eating, and departed there around 10ish. We got home and I HAD to watch Ugly Betty before bed. I had to because I had been waiting all weeeek for it, I couldn't bear not to. It was good, at least this episode didn't end with me about to cry. lol However, the suspense of Ignacio being held at gunpoint is quite unsettling. Favorite moment from the show this week: When Betty goes on the roof to meet with Wilhelmina, and Mark is standing in the back by the vent shaking that metal sheet to make thunder noises. It was incredible. I also liked how the whole roof was inexplicably littered with old mannequins. I am happy that Hilda is seemingly over her depression. I hate when shows drag that sort of thing out.

So, after that it was about 11:30 and I hurried up and got ready for bed... and off to sleep I went! A full day of excitement and craziness!

Now, I must get to work!

I'll be back later with another update, and tonight Kristen is coming homeeeeee! Weee!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com