Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 11, 2007 - 10:49 a.m.
"board meeting" or "debbie's last day"

Hey Journal!

What a crazy day yesterday was!  I didn't get home till late, so I couldn't do my Journal then... but let me tell you, it was worth waiting for..

This morning I got up at 7:52, and pressed snooze TWO times.  I was EXHAUSTED.  For some reason, I had a horrible night's sleep.  It was awful.  I woke up at like 3am and couldn't fall back to sleep.  Then I kept waking up sporadically and had all of these weird weird dreams.  Then at about 5:00 I woke up with UNBELIEVABLE back pain.  It hurt sooo much across my entire shoulder area.  I have no idea what happened that would have made it hurt so bad!

I tried to fall back to sleep, but it didn't work.. so I got up and tried to stretch a little and maybe make it feel better, but it wasn't working, so I went on the computer for a little while.  Dan woke up at 6:00 to get ready to go to the gym, and after he departed, I tried to get back to sleep.  I did, but it when it was time to wake up for real, I was soo soo not ready to get up.  I planned on taking a nice nap when I got home from work.. but as you will soon learn, that didn't happen!  In fact, I don't think I did anything relaxing all day.

I left for work, and there was horrendous traffic on the Northern.  It was backed up all the way to the entrance and moving about 1mph.  Great.  So, I got to work about 10 minutes late.  Also today, they unveiled their new "time" signs, which tell you how long it will take to get from one road to another.  Very interesting.  I like the use of EZPass to tell how long it's taking other cars to get from here to there.  Very innovative.  I like that, in the newspaper, there was an article about how it said 7 minutes to go 8 miles, and since that's an average, that means most people are speeding! :)

So... Work was good today, nothing out of the ordinary to report.  Today was Debbie's last day for the season.  I know, already!  It files by so fast, I don't even know!  Dan's brother came to work today, and he did some postcards, and then we brought some boxes of old envelopes and brochures out to the dumpster.  Remember when they delivered TENS OF THOUSANDS of brochures, back in the first year I worked here... well now they're obsolete and we still have thousands left.  So, off to the dumpster they go!

On my lunch break I went out to the car to read the newspaper, and then I came in just shortly before 3:00.  Debbie called me and said she wanted to say goodbye.  She said she wasn't going to come upstairs because she doesn't like long goodbyes!  It was sad.

Oh, and earlier in the day, she was telling us this story about how her sun is being bullied on the bus by a first grader!  He even drew with a marker on Jarred's shirt!  And the mother of the first grader is defending him saying he's only in first grade, and meanwhile he has a brother who's in sixth grade who's kinda nasty too, and he encourages the little kid, and I'll bet the little kid thinks he's all tough because he's got this older brother.

Anyway, at 5:00 I departed work and headed home.  I got home at 5:30, got changed, and ate some leftover chinese food from the other night.

At 7:00 we had a board meeting for the co-op.  It was a shareholders meeting to elect a new board and go over stuff that has been going on.  It was being held at the main branch of the library in the meeting room.  Oh, great.. my favorite place.  So anyway, we got there, looked around at some DVDs and stuff, and then went down to the meeting room.  We sat down, and someone brought over a ballot paper to us, which told us how many votes we got, and how many shares we owned, and who was running, etc.  The meeting started, and El Presidente, as I call him, (the board president), he started out by talking about the improvements that have been made recently.. the sidewalks, the entrance ways, the roofs, etc.  It was very informative.  I enjoyed.  Then they talked about some things they want to do in the future, and then it got REALLY exciting.  This one man asked if everyone on the board could be introduced, and then he wanted to be introduced.  So, the lawyer for the co-op stood up and said that this man could introduce himself, but that the matter which he was there to discuss could be discussed privately afterwards.  However, Mr. K (as i will call him) stood up, introduced himself, and then told his whole life story, and apparently he is asserting that he should be allowed to take a seat on the board.  Because, long story, when the apartments changed from being apartments to a co-op, there were three apartments that were occupied by seniors and they weren't allowed to be kicked out because of some law.  SO, the woman owned the shares of those apartments, and was permitted to continue to rent them out to those old people, with the intention to SELL those shares to other people, when the seniors currently living there, left.  SO there's a rule that if any one person owns three more units, that they can take a seat on the board.  So, this woman decided she didn't want to be owning this anymore, and sold her shares to this man, Mr. K.  And he wants to take his seat.  He says, he isn't planning to sell the units he has, that he wants to keep them as an investment.  Since the man spilled his whole life story, the lawyer said they would discuss it in front of everyone, so he was saying that IF it is his right to take a board seat, they asked that he not, because it is the wish of the consensus of residents that the board only have residents on the board.  So, since this man doesn't live there.. or intend to live there, they urged him to not assert that right, but that the board would certainly take into account his feeling and suggestions, and such.  Now, it gets even hairier, because one of the seniors living in one of his three units has vacated. (Either left or died.. I don't know.)  So... the sticking point is, that there is a line that says the holder of these remaining apartments must have "intent to sell" when they become vacant.  SO...since one of his units is vacant, then he should be selling it, and therefore he doesn't technically own three, he really owns two, so he may not be entitled to it anyway, and people are happy with the current board, so the question was, is it right for him to ask someone to step down so he can have a seat.  It was all very heavy... but very interesting.

Anyway, after that craziness,  people said things, and asked questions, and discussed stuff.  It was fun.

After the meeting was over, we looked at some more stuff in the library, and I decided to check something out.  I didn't have my card with me, cause I left it at home, but I gave my license.  The bitchy woman at the desk took my license and typed it into the computer, and she says, "Do you have your card?"  and I said, "Umm....No.. It's at home..." (DUH, That's the whole reason I used my license.)  So she tells me, "Well, I'm going to have to give you a new card."  Which is ridiculous because in all the time I worked at the library noone EVER did anything like that.  If you lost your card they would give you a new one, but if you just forgot it... then you use your license!  So.. anyway, I was like, "Well, I don't want a new card."  and she gives me this bitchy/nasty look, and tells me, "Well.. you used your license once before, so now I have to make you a new card."   (First off, since WHEN do they keep track of if you use your license?  And HOW do they do keep track of that.  Very odd.  So I said, "Well, then I don't want this, then (the dvd)"  and left.  She was still giving me the nasty bitch look the whole time.  It was very weird.

So, after that craziness, we went over to Dan's house for dinner.  We had yummy meat and mashed potatoes and it was good times.

We didn't get home till about 10:30.  I took a shower, and quickly got ready for bed, and went to sleep!!!

So that way my Wednesday.  Mercredi.  It was very interesting, indeed.  I hope you made it though all of that craziness.  I know, it's like a novel!!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com