Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

October 31, 2007 - 9:52 p.m.
"happy halloween 2007" or "zero trick-or-treaters"

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!

Well this was maybe my first Halloween with not ONE tick-or-treater, and while that's not particularly surprising given where we live and where it is in relation to other neighborhoods, I consulted my mother, and she too received ZERO trick-or-treaters. So, you see, the trend on my old street is finally complete. it's been declining for years, and now it's over.

Anyway, I got up this morning and went to work. I got there a few minutes before 9. I did a lot of preparing of things that I needed to talk to Dan's dad about when he got in, and shortly after he got in we went over the stuff, like the price change for tomorrow, a report of which new members have paid, and several other little random things.

Once we went over all that stuff, I had lots of work to do on it.

Steve wanted me to take my lunch a little earlier today so we could have a Sudoku competition at 2. So, I ate my soup and then came upstairs. Unfortunately I couldn't win again... Lauren beat us all!

I departed work at five and on the way home stopped off at Walgreen's to get a bag of candy, just in case anyone were to come by here... although you already know that didn't happen!

So, after that I came home, and I got changed, and put some leftover food I had into the microwave. I sat down to watch the news, and the first actual story they went into on the 6:00 news was in Smithtown.

Now, earlier in the day, Dan's mom was taking his brother to work at Stop and Shop, and they called work and told Dan's dad that they had just passed a really bad accident on Jericho near Caleb Smith. They said it JUST happened about a minute before they passed by, and that there were no police or ambulances there yet, but they saw a body in the road!

So, the story on the news was that three kids from Smithtown High School had gone out for lunch, and the kid who was driving didn't actually have a full license, and wasn't supposed to be driving. Anyway, crossed over the quadruple yellow line, and vibrating bumpy things, and collided head-on with a white mini-van. Two of the kids in the car died, and the driver is in the hospital and charged with some sort of offense, I think the license thing.

It's so scary... they say that strip of road is so deadly... but I'm not quite sure why it is. I mean, what's so bad and dangerous about it? Maybe because it's long, relatively straight, and people can go pretty fast? I dunno, but they say statistics show that more accidents and deadly accidents happen there.

It's just so sad, I mean, you never know when something like that could happen to you, and you have to be thankful for every day you make it home safe! It's crazy out there... and who knows how many near misses you have, or what you're saved from! It's scary!

I ate my dinner, and then when Dan got home we watched some TV. I watched the French news at 7, we watched Jeopardy at 7:15, and the Pushing Daisies at 8:00!

I then took a shower, and am now going to do a few quick lessons before bed, and then call it a night!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com