Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 19, 2009 - 10:46 p.m.
"say goodbye to cablevision"

Hey Journal!

So I'll start our with the interesting item of the day... Dan and I have no more Cable or Internet. Yeah.. keep reading.

I got up this morning at the usual time and headed off to work. The day went by fast, there was a lot to do. For lunch, my mom called and said she wanted to go out somewhere... so we went to Panera. She suggested Chipotle, but since I had JUST had it on Sunday, I didn't feel like going there again. Chipotle is weird for me... I love it, and every few weeks a get a major craving for it, but then I'm set for a while. I don't even want to think about it for a few weeks after I have it!

So, after that we went to Target because Linda had a sore throat, and she asked if I could get some cough drops for her when I went out. I wanted to get her the super good ones, but all the ones had had more of certain ingredients all said to consult a doctor if you are pregnant, so I had to get her the mild ones!

So anyway, I got home from work.. and.. Apparently I never told the original part of this story in my journal.. so we have to take a little trip back in time..

About two weeks ago, I got a letter in the mail from Cablevision saying that our promotional rate of $118 dollars a month was expiring, and would be going to the "regular" rate of approx $175/month. So I called and spoke to a regular representative who said they had no new promotions to offer. So, I spoke to the disconnection department, and explained to her that I was not going to keep the service at the price they were going to be charging. I was on the phone with her for 45 minutes, but she offered to give me a rate of $108/moth if we would reconsider and stay. So, because this was $10 CHEAPER than I had been paying all this past year, I accepted. She told me that my next bill would be coming shortly, and she confirmed with me that the price on that bill was going to be 108.-- (and some cents.)

So far, so good.

Fast-forward to today..

I get home from work and check the mail, and inside is a Cablevision bill for $165.--. SO I call up, and explain the problem to the lady who answers. She TOTALLY doesn't get it. So I ask to speak to the disconnection department because they were the ones I dealt with last time, and perhaps they would have a better understanding of what they had offered me.

So, the man starts explaining to me why the billing is correct. Basically, what he is saying is that because I called on the date that I called, I was already mid-cycle, and so therefore half the bill is for the 175 rate, and half the bill is for the new rate. And I KEPT explaining to him that I see, and understand the way they are calculating the bill, but I felt that it was unfair to penalize me at this higher rate because I hadn't called 1 week earlier to get the new promotion. He confirmed that if I HAD called earlier, then I would have made the cycle, and had a 108 bill. So I kept saying that was not acceptable to me. He finally offered to give me a reduction of 1/2 difference between the 165 and 108, but still, I was not going for anything less than what the woman had promised my next bill would be.

SO-- He keeps arguing with me. I told him to disconnect my service, and he KEEPS trying to explain why it was billed this way. (WHICH I ALREADY UNDERSTAND.) I was just saying I think it's not right to do that, and I was not paying the higher rate.

SO-- This whole time he's talking to me like I'm 5 years old, and he even (I can't remember 100% which one...) said that I was making a stupid decision, or said I was stupid for making this decision to disconnect. Then I was getting really pissed, and I was like yelling at him to disconnect my account and stop arguing with me.

So over an hour later, he disconnected the account.

About an hour later, the TV went out, and two hours later, the internet went out.

Now here are our options:
Switch to Fios. Fios is offering 89.99/month for the first two years, plus 150 back.

Now, if we don't like Fios...Dan's parents switched to fios and a little over a month later, Cablevision called and said they would pay the fios disconnection fee of $200 and give them a $200 Visa gift card to come back.

OR-- And Dan and I came up with this brilliant idea afterward... GO WITHOUT CABLE FOR A FEW MONTHS! And here's why. It's summer.. All of our shows are off for the summer. We have a chance to force ourselves to go out and do things. We don't have to be tied to the TV! (or computer) We can have LIFE! So we can do this for a while, and see how it works out. We can play scrabble and do puzzles. Okay, I know that sounds weird.. but what would I be doing online?? I would be on my Facebook refreshing the home screen waiting for my "friends" to do something new so I can see it. Will I really miss that? I think I can do without!

So... That's where we are now. Gonna give it a try without. And if it doesn't work out.. there's always the Fios option(s) I described before.

Now, I am writing this on my laptop, to be uploaded tomorrow when I am in reach of an internet connection! haha

We are Amish.

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com